$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff... See full review

  • Orlando Travelers
  • Sep 9, 2014
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixx
Business
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Sep 22, 2011

NY Great - Hotel Great - Hotel Staff not so great

This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of mid-town Manhattan. It is in walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, the Port Authority (Bus Station), Central Park, Broadway and lots of Restaurants and Bars. The hotel itself is very clean and modern in design, the housekeeping staff are very discreet and the room was made immaculate each day. My only disappointment is with the front desk staff, whilst they were polite they were not in any way helpful unless you asked for information. We had to ask for a map of the area, we were not advised of the complimentary continental breakfast available. We were also staying at the hotel when Hurricane Irene came (Aug 2011), they did not offer any information or advice or post any notices in the hotel regarding the hurricane or of what precautions we should take, and again we had to ask for this. We also had to stay an extra 2 nights because our flight home was cancelled, the hotel insisted we pay full room rates, plus USD100 for incidentals that day and not at the time of check out. Without the hurricane none of this would have been relevant but I think it does highlight their lack of customer service by the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lollipop
Business
Clayton, GA 30525, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great location

The room was small as I had already read prior to my booking the room but no words could describe the tiny bathroom. The place was so tiny there was no place to put your clothes while showering. I went with three friends from work so I didn't feel comfortable coming out of the bathroom to get dressed. Anyway, the place was clean and the front desk very helpful with directions and getting a private car to take us back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Gray Line Tour Bus. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and you can get off an on with very little wait. Saves lots of time and MONEY!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crispy001
Business
CA
Apr 11, 2012

Good location, average hotel

The room is clean- has hardwood floors. AC/Heater did not work- would be a bad place to stay if it were mid-summer or winter. Location is good- few blocks from 5th ave. shopping and theaters. One girl who works there w/brown hair on 4/8/12 in the morning needs to turn that frown upside down. It's evident that she hates her job and people in general. Other than that, nice little hotel in a good area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brauli
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Apr 19, 2012

Great location, good service

The staff from the hotel is really good and they provide great service, they helped with everything that we requested. Walking distance from times square The room which we got was a little small, no real closet and little space to place our suitcases. Very nice bed, sheets and conforter. A roach came out of the sink... nasty! but staff was helpfull and we got complementary breackfast and drinks. If you are thinking of staying out all day and just sleep there, I recomend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are thinking of having a fancy dinner go to BOULEY in tribeca... very nice food and service. Very preatty place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ohiotravelingprof
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 4, 2012

OK hotel, but check your credit card statement!

Our stay here was fine. The hotel is in a central location and the rooms are clean. Our particular room was very dark. It had a small window facing an alley and the lighting was totally inadequate (one tiny desk lamp and a couple of reading lights above the bed). The beds were super bouncy, so not very comfortable if you're sharing with someone. These things aside, it was fine--we were in New York and new the amenities would be pricey and not super-great, but we were happy with the location. What people should beware of (and I don't know how common this is at this hotel, as I only stayed here once) is to check your credit card statement after your stay. I prepaid my room, but they added additional charges to my card of over $900 on top of the $600+ I already paid. I had to call them to get these charges removed, so I think it is up to the customer to be proactive about it and make sure they're not being overcharged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessaBell
Business
Hartsdale, NY
Mar 19, 2014

Great Location

The location is excellent. The room was clean but very small. Also no sunlight can penetrate the room as the neighboring building wall is right up against the windows. There is no iron or ironing board in the room, but they can be requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fifth Avenue shopping is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelAdam
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jun 3, 2014

Excellent value/vacation

Don't think Ive ever stayed in a darker room than I did here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chopper
Business
Charlotte
Aug 15, 2011

Greedy

Never stay book with this hotel, if you have a death in the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 19, 2010

Nice hotel, uncomfortable bed

We were displaced in New York due to the volcano. Was able to book this hotel at the last minute. Its charming. There were 2 drawbacks. The bed had a significant dip in the center which made it really uncomfortable. The room was very warm and the only way to cool it down was with a window unit A/C that blasts directly onto your face while you're trying to sleep. On the uncomfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Sep 7, 2009

Ok, not great

I thought this was a 4 star hotel so I expected more. It was just ok. Ordinary, nothing special. The room was small even when I upgraded to what was supposed to be a bigger room. The room did not include the special robes and linen as promised with the upgrade. There was virtually no counter space to place toiletries on, except on top of the toilet. The room decor was nice, except the lighting was poor. The staff was friendly even though it did not feel genuine. There was noise from a fan that I could not stop. I shut off the air conditioner only to find that the noise was coming from some industrial type fans/motors outside my window. It was just ok. I was shocked that there was no iron/board in the room. The location was good. I don't plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top