$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff... See full review

  • Orlando Travelers
  • Sep 9, 2014
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat from New Jersey
Howell, NJ, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Staff and location are excellent

Once again my wife and I are pleased with the Mansfield Hotel and its staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike20005
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2012

This has been the worst hotel experience I have had

Title says it all. Arrived for check in at 2:45. Waited in a long line to be told that room is not ready. Sat in lobby for 20 minutes. Given key told to go upstairs to my room on 10th floor. Upon arrival at room door found room trashed and maid working on it. Apparently sent me to wrong room. Maid tells me to go back downstairs to get another room. Given another room. Go up to 11th floor. Room is tiny, literally big enough for the mattress and nothing else. This is NO 4 STAR hotel. Need to take shower so I can get to my meeting. Looking in bathroom, NOT A SINGLE TOWEL ANYWHERE Call front desk , told towels would be right up. Wait 15 minutes, no towels. Get in shower , wash, lather, rinse repeat. Get out dripping wet. No towel delivered anywhere. Running late for meeting now. Call desk again, told towels would be there. Ten minutes later towels show up. Service is a disaster, either they do not care on bit about anything or ???? Room was tiny with LOUD window unit. Window faced some sort of ventilation shaft, No natural light anywhere. Definitely not a four star and not even a good deal. Could have stayed at much better hotels for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tlsss
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

Don't Expect to Get Any Sleep

This hotel has old-fashioned radiator heat, so the room was ridiculously hot and the only way to compensate for the heat was to open a window. The wood floors look nice, but you'll hear every footstep, chair scrape and bag drop -- all night long. The rooms are arranged around a large marble staircase, so you'll also have the pleasure of listening to hotel guests and workers hoof it up and down the stairs. The only positives: the rooms are dark (very little light pollution) and the toiletries are luxurious. I have begged, pleaded and cajoled my travel department to NEVER book me at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out Bukhara Grille, between 2nd and 3rd avenue. The lamb chops -- and the lentils -- are worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

Don't do it.

The photos on the website must be rooms that they only use for photos. Because the room we had (for 1 hour because we left) was nothing like that photos. You can do much better for the same $$$. Keep looking. So two great stories. The guy that brought our luggage up dumped us in this room and I looked at him and I said "this is the upgrade" - his reply was "there are work rooms in this hotel" - GREAT. Then as we were leaving in a huff to another hotel (which was 10 times better and same money) the manager was standing right outside with two door men. We over heard her say "what's that all about?" and we kept walking. They didn't even try to move us to one of the "featured room" - but good old Orbitz came to the rescue and got them to agree to let us out without paying and Oribitz refunded our money for that part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

So, just so you understand the photos on this website are some "magic" room that I sure didn't see. The "upgrade" we got was a dirty rug on an old wood floor with a window bench that was falling out of the wall and a window air that sounded like it was maybe 20 years old. They seemed to have made a few photo opps in each room like a glass sink but a nasty bathroom. Trust me for the money you can do A LOT better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book a room someplace else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Aug 10, 2009

Reserved but Room not Available

When we arrived at the Mansfield, we were told that the room was not available. We were handed an envelope and asked to show it to a nearby hotel, PrincetonClub, which was contacted to give us a room. When we got to PrincetonClub, we were given a room but the lady said it would be charged to my credit card. I said we already paid to an internet side and Mansfield will have my payment. She said that nothing was mentioned by Mansfield about payment and the two hotels are not associated in any way. Finally, she called Mansfield and confirmed that Mansfield would pay PrinctonClub. By the way, when she said she would charge us in the beginning she could reduce $30 of the room rate at Mansfield. However, when Princeton got paid from Mansfield, we were not able to have the reduction. This also means that we have probably paid more for a less expensive room. I am not happy about being transferred to another hotel but I understood things happen. The problem is that Mansfield should have some one accompanying us to PrincetonClub until everything settled, not just handing out an envelope and you are on your own! It is not a pleasant experience! By the way, people at PrincetonClub are very kind and helpful. Our stay there was good. Next time, I would like to stay at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retta
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2011

Go somewhere else

The toilet was broken, the a/c didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. There are far better hotels out there for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Theo'degens
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Sep 19, 2009

Started off great, ended really ugly

When we arrived for our long weekend, everything seemed in order. We did not have much interaction with the staff (our choice). Our problems occurred at the end of our stay. After checking out and arriving at the airport for our flight home, we reallized that we had left some things in the safe in our room. We immediately called the hotel to let them know. We talked with the person at the front desk who assured us that they would be returned to us. After giving this staff member our mailing info, we waited for our personal belongings to be returned. They never arrived. Basically the hotel staff stole the items out of our safe. Yes, I realize it was our fault for leaving without them, but it is still stealing. We love New York, will never return to The Mansfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teafairy27
Business
Cambridge, UK
Feb 25, 2010

Small beds misleading

The main problem we had is that the 'double double' room was sold to us as though we could fit 3 of us in (sharing beds), however the double beds are a lot smaller than UK beds - it was a twin room effectively with 3 adults in it! As it was a busy week (valentines and winter break) the hotel was booked up so we asked for a camp bed which they did give us. Just a shame we couldn't all have a nice bed. The bathroom was tiny - not a lot of room for manouver! The hotel was in a fab location and very clean. We didn't eat there so can't comment on that. However the coffee facilities were a machine in the lounge with no fresh milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Knicks game

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jan 3, 2012

Average 3* hotel

For a 4 star hotel as Mansfield claims to be I cannot give it more than 2 stars. For a 2 star hotel, in this location I would've given it a 5 star rating. My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in a Chambre Queen (during Christmas and New Year). The location is great - on 5th Av., 5 minutes from TImes Square. The room size is average - about the same size as other boutique hotels or even larger than 3 star boutique hotels in Paris. However, the bathroom sink is way to small. If you try to wash your face you'll find yourself in a big puddle. The bathroom wasn't very small so I don't know why they chose such a small basin. They have dark brown hardwood floors that absorb all the light so that's why people found this a bit dark. The lighting however is sufficient. The TV in the room is actually a DELL display with a TV tuner attached. I've seen reviews mentioning the fact that they offer free coffee and tea in the lobby. Yes, this is true - however most 3+ star hotels would have a coffee/tea machine in the room. This one doesn't so every morning you need to go downstairs to get the coffee. It's probbly ok in the winter but in the summer I'd rather walk to one of the many coffee shops in the area if I can't get a coffee in my room. The staff is friendly when you arrive but afterwards they NEVER said hello (at least in the 11 days I've been there) when passing by. I don't usually ask for directions or interact with the staff however I do expect to be greeted. If you do have an issue they are very responsive so no complain there (I actually had to call them a couple of times). The biggest problem however and this is something that I want to emphasize is the fact that there is NO way to control the temperature in the room during winter. All 3+ stars hotels have some sort of temperature control. The heat comes from a very small radiator that's controlled centrally. And while our room was very cold (we had to ask for 3 blankets) the next door guests had to keep their windows open because it was too hot. For the summer all rooms have a window AC unit - however that's useless in the winter as it only provides cooled air. Overall I would recommend this hotel for short stays but only if you get a very good deal. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel but if you can get it cheaper than a 3 star hotel in the area go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DB Bistro Moderne is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historyman
Business
Norfolk, UK
Feb 18, 2010

Like the Parson's egg, good in parts.

The location is excellent and, in general the hotel is very good. But be aware that the rooms are small, bordering on very small, as is the bathroom. Nevertheless, the rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean on arrival and were maintained like that throughout the stay. The inside of the hotel was well decorated and very pleasant. Unfortunately there is most definitely a "however"! The guests' lounge for a hotel that, if full, would amount to around 220 guests, has only seating for 10. There is complimentary coffee for guests and it comes from a machine in the guests' lounge. Our experience was that the machine regularly ran out of coffee and staff had to be asked to replenish it. There is a bin beside the machine for used cardboard cups. The bin was clearly far too small for the task and, other than once when I saw the staff empty it, was always full and overflowing. Lastly, the staff. I am aware that a Receptionist must find it difficult to keep a smiling, upbeat aura all shift. But for a hotel that has the ratings this one did, I found that on arrival the Receptionist made eye contact only twice and rattled off her "welcoming speech" as if by rote. No change of expression and certainly no smile. It is trite to say that there is no second chance to make a first impression, but it is true nonetheless. And what an awful first impression we had. The good points do outweigh the bad in number, but the bad points are the ones I actually consider to be important and so, for those reasons, I would not use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat in the hotel unless you have a high limit on your credit card. There is a superb diner about 150 yards from the hotel (out of the hotel door and turn left and it is on the right hand side of the road).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top