$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
92 reviews
bachelorette

When I first got there they gave me a complimentary upgrade. I received a phone call asking me how... See full review

  • Animallover83
  • Jul 15, 2013
Staff and location are excellent

Once again my wife and I are pleased with the Mansfield Hotel and its staff. See full review

  • Pat from New Jersey
  • Mar 27, 2013
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.755 -73.9811
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.59, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.84, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.87, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat from New Jersey
Howell, NJ, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Staff and location are excellent

Once again my wife and I are pleased with the Mansfield Hotel and its staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

Don't do it.

The photos on the website must be rooms that they only use for photos. Because the room we had (for 1 hour because we left) was nothing like that photos. You can do much better for the same $$$. Keep looking. So two great stories. The guy that brought our luggage up dumped us in this room and I looked at him and I said "this is the upgrade" - his reply was "there are work rooms in this hotel" - GREAT. Then as we were leaving in a huff to another hotel (which was 10 times better and same money) the manager was standing right outside with two door men. We over heard her say "what's that all about?" and we kept walking. They didn't even try to move us to one of the "featured room" - but good old Orbitz came to the rescue and got them to agree to let us out without paying and Oribitz refunded our money for that part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

Don't do it.

The photos on the website must be rooms that they only use for photos. Because the room we had (for 1 hour because we left) was nothing like that photos. You can do much better for the same $$$. Keep looking. So two great stories. The guy that brought our luggage up dumped us in this room and I looked at him and I said "this is the upgrade" - his reply was "there are work rooms in this hotel" - GREAT. Then as we were leaving in a huff to another hotel (which was 10 times better and same money) the manager was standing right outside with two door men. We over heard her say "what's that all about?" and we kept walking. They didn't even try to move us to one of the "featured room" - but good old Orbitz came to the rescue and got them to agree to let us out without paying and Oribitz refunded our money for that part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

So, just so you understand the photos on this website are some "magic" room that I sure didn't see. The "upgrade" we got was a dirty rug on an old wood floor with a window bench that was falling out of the wall and a window air that sounded like it was maybe 20 years old. They seemed to have made a few photo opps in each room like a glass sink but a nasty bathroom. Trust me for the money you can do A LOT better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book a room someplace else.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retta
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2011

Go somewhere else

The toilet was broken, the a/c didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. There are far better hotels out there for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tlsss
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2012

Don't Expect to Get Any Sleep

This hotel has old-fashioned radiator heat, so the room was ridiculously hot and the only way to compensate for the heat was to open a window. The wood floors look nice, but you'll hear every footstep, chair scrape and bag drop -- all night long. The rooms are arranged around a large marble staircase, so you'll also have the pleasure of listening to hotel guests and workers hoof it up and down the stairs. The only positives: the rooms are dark (very little light pollution) and the toiletries are luxurious. I have begged, pleaded and cajoled my travel department to NEVER book me at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out Bukhara Grille, between 2nd and 3rd avenue. The lamb chops -- and the lentils -- are worth the walk.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Aug 10, 2009

Reserved but Room not Available

When we arrived at the Mansfield, we were told that the room was not available. We were handed an envelope and asked to show it to a nearby hotel, PrincetonClub, which was contacted to give us a room. When we got to PrincetonClub, we were given a room but the lady said it would be charged to my credit card. I said we already paid to an internet side and Mansfield will have my payment. She said that nothing was mentioned by Mansfield about payment and the two hotels are not associated in any way. Finally, she called Mansfield and confirmed that Mansfield would pay PrinctonClub. By the way, when she said she would charge us in the beginning she could reduce $30 of the room rate at Mansfield. However, when Princeton got paid from Mansfield, we were not able to have the reduction. This also means that we have probably paid more for a less expensive room. I am not happy about being transferred to another hotel but I understood things happen. The problem is that Mansfield should have some one accompanying us to PrincetonClub until everything settled, not just handing out an envelope and you are on your own! It is not a pleasant experience! By the way, people at PrincetonClub are very kind and helpful. Our stay there was good. Next time, I would like to stay at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Aug 10, 2009

Reserved but Room not Available

When we arrived at the Mansfield, we were told that the room was not available. We were handed an envelope and asked to show it to a nearby hotel, PrincetonClub, which was contacted to give us a room. When we got to PrincetonClub, we were given a room but the lady said it would be charged to my credit card. I said we already paid to an internet side and Mansfield will have my payment. She said that nothing was mentioned by Mansfield about payment and the two hotels are not associated in any way. Finally, she called Mansfield and confirmed that Mansfield would pay PrinctonClub. By the way, when she said she would charge us in the beginning she could reduce $30 of the room rate at Mansfield. However, when Princeton got paid from Mansfield, we were not able to have the reduction. This also means that we have probably paid more for a less expensive room. I am not happy about being transferred to another hotel but I understood things happen. The problem is that Mansfield should have some one accompanying us to PrincetonClub until everything settled, not just handing out an envelope and you are on your own! It is not a pleasant experience! By the way, people at PrincetonClub are very kind and helpful. Our stay there was good. Next time, I would like to stay at that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

So, just so you understand the photos on this website are some "magic" room that I sure didn't see. The "upgrade" we got was a dirty rug on an old wood floor with a window bench that was falling out of the wall and a window air that sounded like it was maybe 20 years old. They seemed to have made a few photo opps in each room like a glass sink but a nasty bathroom. Trust me for the money you can do A LOT better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book a room someplace else.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike20005
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2012

This has been the worst hotel experience I have had

Title says it all. Arrived for check in at 2:45. Waited in a long line to be told that room is not ready. Sat in lobby for 20 minutes. Given key told to go upstairs to my room on 10th floor. Upon arrival at room door found room trashed and maid working on it. Apparently sent me to wrong room. Maid tells me to go back downstairs to get another room. Given another room. Go up to 11th floor. Room is tiny, literally big enough for the mattress and nothing else. This is NO 4 STAR hotel. Need to take shower so I can get to my meeting. Looking in bathroom, NOT A SINGLE TOWEL ANYWHERE Call front desk , told towels would be right up. Wait 15 minutes, no towels. Get in shower , wash, lather, rinse repeat. Get out dripping wet. No towel delivered anywhere. Running late for meeting now. Call desk again, told towels would be there. Ten minutes later towels show up. Service is a disaster, either they do not care on bit about anything or ???? Room was tiny with LOUD window unit. Window faced some sort of ventilation shaft, No natural light anywhere. Definitely not a four star and not even a good deal. Could have stayed at much better hotels for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retta
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2011

Go somewhere else

The toilet was broken, the a/c didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. There are far better hotels out there for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top