$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Room For The Price

This was our first stay at the Mansfield hotel, and I'd say we'd come back again. The hotel staff... See full review

  • Orlando Travelers
  • Sep 9, 2014
awesome family vacation

My experience at this hotel was great, the staff is friendly and very generious. The best part... See full review

  • neka
  • Aug 4, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program Centrally located on the island of Manhattans famed Club Row on the block between Fifth and sixth Avenues on 44th Street - the Mansfield offers an authentic historical hotel experience in New York City. Authentic in its rich appointments - the hotel stands as a testament to an era long past and maintains a commitment to each of our guests that is equally genuine. Although constructed in 1904 - the 126-room hotel offers modern conveniences expected by todays travelers - iHome for your iPod/ plush cotton bathrobes/ bottled water/ in-room safes/ state-of-the-art fitness center/ 24-hour business center. Located off the lobby level - the Club Room recreates turn of the century craftsmanship in a comfortable library setting. Additionally - the M Bar the quintessential New York venue for classic cocktails and live music is rated by Zagats Guide and Time Out New York heralds it as being One of the Top 100 Lounges in NYC.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mansfield Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Mansfield Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds
The Two Bedroom Apartment is accented by ebony stained hardwood floors
Penthouse - 1 Bed
The Penthouse is a visually stunning and ultra luxurious two-story loft.
GUEST ROOM PETITE - 1 BED
160 SQFT-15MS-ONE DOUBLE BED PILLOW TOP MATTRESS -HARDWOOD FLOORS-
GUEST ROOM - 1 BED
ONE QUEEN BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
180 SQFT-17MS-ONE BED WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
GUEST ROOM DELUXE - 2 BEDS
200 SQFT-19MS-TWO BEDS WITH PILLOW TOP MATTRESS HARDWOOD FLOORS
JUNIOR SUITE 1 BED
260 SQFT - 24MS - ONE BED -SITTING AREA- HARDWOOD FLOORS
ONE BEDROOM DELUXE - 1 BED
260 SQFT- 24MS-1 BED W PILLOW TOP MATTRESS- SITTING AREA-HARDWOOD FLOORS-

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 5, 2011

location, location, location

Great location near Time Square. Smaller room, to be expected in NYC. Very helpful staff. We were ther end of Mar/beg of Apr, quite warm in the room. Its an old building with OLDER temperature control. Over all, lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jan 26, 2011

Mansfield

The hotel is in absolutely the best spot. Right off of 5th Ave. close to Times Square. Friendly staff, great decor in the rooms and lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right off of 5th Avenue. It doesn't get any better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umcane
Business
Plantation, Florida
Jan 3, 2011

Great Location!

Everything that I expected. Great service, location, accomodations. Thanks to the accurate description of the hotel....there were no negative surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, what else can one ask for?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Hotel - Bad Service

We visited New York to enjoy the Holiday sites and spend time with our daughter who came into New York from Boston for the day. The hotel was nice, small bathroom - no place for personal items, but the service was horrible. Our phone did not work, reported it several times, but it was never fixed. Could not call down to the front desk to get wake up calls, or report issues. I used my cell phone. The room was very hot, could not control the heat, asked to have our heat turned down - never happened, we opened our window. Robes were promised in the advertisement, had to ask for them. Hair dryer broke, called on cell phone to have another brought up - they did at 1:30 am (long after I went to bed with damp hair). The location was very good, could walk to everything. The last time I traveled I stayed closer to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building - call before going. Long lines to go to the top and get back down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 31, 2010

nice and quiet

It is a nice small older hotel, the property is in great shape but it is old so you have small elevators, narrow and dimly lit hallways. The bed was great, room was very nice and the shower was large enough for two. Great place for a weekend with your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many dining options within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 19, 2010

Nice hotel, uncomfortable bed

We were displaced in New York due to the volcano. Was able to book this hotel at the last minute. Its charming. There were 2 drawbacks. The bed had a significant dip in the center which made it really uncomfortable. The room was very warm and the only way to cool it down was with a window unit A/C that blasts directly onto your face while you're trying to sleep. On the uncomfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teafairy27
Business
Cambridge, UK
Feb 25, 2010

Small beds misleading

The main problem we had is that the 'double double' room was sold to us as though we could fit 3 of us in (sharing beds), however the double beds are a lot smaller than UK beds - it was a twin room effectively with 3 adults in it! As it was a busy week (valentines and winter break) the hotel was booked up so we asked for a camp bed which they did give us. Just a shame we couldn't all have a nice bed. The bathroom was tiny - not a lot of room for manouver! The hotel was in a fab location and very clean. We didn't eat there so can't comment on that. However the coffee facilities were a machine in the lounge with no fresh milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Knicks game

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historyman
Business
Norfolk, UK
Feb 18, 2010

Like the Parson's egg, good in parts.

The location is excellent and, in general the hotel is very good. But be aware that the rooms are small, bordering on very small, as is the bathroom. Nevertheless, the rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean on arrival and were maintained like that throughout the stay. The inside of the hotel was well decorated and very pleasant. Unfortunately there is most definitely a "however"! The guests' lounge for a hotel that, if full, would amount to around 220 guests, has only seating for 10. There is complimentary coffee for guests and it comes from a machine in the guests' lounge. Our experience was that the machine regularly ran out of coffee and staff had to be asked to replenish it. There is a bin beside the machine for used cardboard cups. The bin was clearly far too small for the task and, other than once when I saw the staff empty it, was always full and overflowing. Lastly, the staff. I am aware that a Receptionist must find it difficult to keep a smiling, upbeat aura all shift. But for a hotel that has the ratings this one did, I found that on arrival the Receptionist made eye contact only twice and rattled off her "welcoming speech" as if by rote. No change of expression and certainly no smile. It is trite to say that there is no second chance to make a first impression, but it is true nonetheless. And what an awful first impression we had. The good points do outweigh the bad in number, but the bad points are the ones I actually consider to be important and so, for those reasons, I would not use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat in the hotel unless you have a high limit on your credit card. There is a superb diner about 150 yards from the hotel (out of the hotel door and turn left and it is on the right hand side of the road).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Theo'degens
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Sep 19, 2009

Started off great, ended really ugly

When we arrived for our long weekend, everything seemed in order. We did not have much interaction with the staff (our choice). Our problems occurred at the end of our stay. After checking out and arriving at the airport for our flight home, we reallized that we had left some things in the safe in our room. We immediately called the hotel to let them know. We talked with the person at the front desk who assured us that they would be returned to us. After giving this staff member our mailing info, we waited for our personal belongings to be returned. They never arrived. Basically the hotel staff stole the items out of our safe. Yes, I realize it was our fault for leaving without them, but it is still stealing. We love New York, will never return to The Mansfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Sep 7, 2009

Ok, not great

I thought this was a 4 star hotel so I expected more. It was just ok. Ordinary, nothing special. The room was small even when I upgraded to what was supposed to be a bigger room. The room did not include the special robes and linen as promised with the upgrade. There was virtually no counter space to place toiletries on, except on top of the toilet. The room decor was nice, except the lighting was poor. The staff was friendly even though it did not feel genuine. There was noise from a fan that I could not stop. I shut off the air conditioner only to find that the noise was coming from some industrial type fans/motors outside my window. It was just ok. I was shocked that there was no iron/board in the room. The location was good. I don't plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top