$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 5, 2011

location, location, location

Great location near Time Square. Smaller room, to be expected in NYC. Very helpful staff. We were ther end of Mar/beg of Apr, quite warm in the room. Its an old building with OLDER temperature control. Over all, lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jan 26, 2011

Mansfield

The hotel is in absolutely the best spot. Right off of 5th Ave. close to Times Square. Friendly staff, great decor in the rooms and lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right off of 5th Avenue. It doesn't get any better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umcane
Business
Plantation, Florida
Jan 3, 2011

Great Location!

Everything that I expected. Great service, location, accomodations. Thanks to the accurate description of the hotel....there were no negative surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square, what else can one ask for?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Nice Hotel - Bad Service

We visited New York to enjoy the Holiday sites and spend time with our daughter who came into New York from Boston for the day. The hotel was nice, small bathroom - no place for personal items, but the service was horrible. Our phone did not work, reported it several times, but it was never fixed. Could not call down to the front desk to get wake up calls, or report issues. I used my cell phone. The room was very hot, could not control the heat, asked to have our heat turned down - never happened, we opened our window. Robes were promised in the advertisement, had to ask for them. Hair dryer broke, called on cell phone to have another brought up - they did at 1:30 am (long after I went to bed with damp hair). The location was very good, could walk to everything. The last time I traveled I stayed closer to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building - call before going. Long lines to go to the top and get back down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 31, 2010

nice and quiet

It is a nice small older hotel, the property is in great shape but it is old so you have small elevators, narrow and dimly lit hallways. The bed was great, room was very nice and the shower was large enough for two. Great place for a weekend with your spouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many dining options within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 19, 2010

Nice hotel, uncomfortable bed

We were displaced in New York due to the volcano. Was able to book this hotel at the last minute. Its charming. There were 2 drawbacks. The bed had a significant dip in the center which made it really uncomfortable. The room was very warm and the only way to cool it down was with a window unit A/C that blasts directly onto your face while you're trying to sleep. On the uncomfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teafairy27
Business
Cambridge, UK
Feb 25, 2010

Small beds misleading

The main problem we had is that the 'double double' room was sold to us as though we could fit 3 of us in (sharing beds), however the double beds are a lot smaller than UK beds - it was a twin room effectively with 3 adults in it! As it was a busy week (valentines and winter break) the hotel was booked up so we asked for a camp bed which they did give us. Just a shame we couldn't all have a nice bed. The bathroom was tiny - not a lot of room for manouver! The hotel was in a fab location and very clean. We didn't eat there so can't comment on that. However the coffee facilities were a machine in the lounge with no fresh milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Knicks game

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historyman
Business
Norfolk, UK
Feb 18, 2010

Like the Parson's egg, good in parts.

The location is excellent and, in general the hotel is very good. But be aware that the rooms are small, bordering on very small, as is the bathroom. Nevertheless, the rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean on arrival and were maintained like that throughout the stay. The inside of the hotel was well decorated and very pleasant. Unfortunately there is most definitely a "however"! The guests' lounge for a hotel that, if full, would amount to around 220 guests, has only seating for 10. There is complimentary coffee for guests and it comes from a machine in the guests' lounge. Our experience was that the machine regularly ran out of coffee and staff had to be asked to replenish it. There is a bin beside the machine for used cardboard cups. The bin was clearly far too small for the task and, other than once when I saw the staff empty it, was always full and overflowing. Lastly, the staff. I am aware that a Receptionist must find it difficult to keep a smiling, upbeat aura all shift. But for a hotel that has the ratings this one did, I found that on arrival the Receptionist made eye contact only twice and rattled off her "welcoming speech" as if by rote. No change of expression and certainly no smile. It is trite to say that there is no second chance to make a first impression, but it is true nonetheless. And what an awful first impression we had. The good points do outweigh the bad in number, but the bad points are the ones I actually consider to be important and so, for those reasons, I would not use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat in the hotel unless you have a high limit on your credit card. There is a superb diner about 150 yards from the hotel (out of the hotel door and turn left and it is on the right hand side of the road).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Theo'degens
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Sep 19, 2009

Started off great, ended really ugly

When we arrived for our long weekend, everything seemed in order. We did not have much interaction with the staff (our choice). Our problems occurred at the end of our stay. After checking out and arriving at the airport for our flight home, we reallized that we had left some things in the safe in our room. We immediately called the hotel to let them know. We talked with the person at the front desk who assured us that they would be returned to us. After giving this staff member our mailing info, we waited for our personal belongings to be returned. They never arrived. Basically the hotel staff stole the items out of our safe. Yes, I realize it was our fault for leaving without them, but it is still stealing. We love New York, will never return to The Mansfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Sep 7, 2009

Ok, not great

I thought this was a 4 star hotel so I expected more. It was just ok. Ordinary, nothing special. The room was small even when I upgraded to what was supposed to be a bigger room. The room did not include the special robes and linen as promised with the upgrade. There was virtually no counter space to place toiletries on, except on top of the toilet. The room decor was nice, except the lighting was poor. The staff was friendly even though it did not feel genuine. There was noise from a fan that I could not stop. I shut off the air conditioner only to find that the noise was coming from some industrial type fans/motors outside my window. It was just ok. I was shocked that there was no iron/board in the room. The location was good. I don't plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top