$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixx
Business
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Sep 22, 2011

NY Great - Hotel Great - Hotel Staff not so great

This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of mid-town Manhattan. It is in walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, the Port Authority (Bus Station), Central Park, Broadway and lots of Restaurants and Bars. The hotel itself is very clean and modern in design, the housekeeping staff are very discreet and the room was made immaculate each day. My only disappointment is with the front desk staff, whilst they were polite they were not in any way helpful unless you asked for information. We had to ask for a map of the area, we were not advised of the complimentary continental breakfast available. We were also staying at the hotel when Hurricane Irene came (Aug 2011), they did not offer any information or advice or post any notices in the hotel regarding the hurricane or of what precautions we should take, and again we had to ask for this. We also had to stay an extra 2 nights because our flight home was cancelled, the hotel insisted we pay full room rates, plus USD100 for incidentals that day and not at the time of check out. Without the hurricane none of this would have been relevant but I think it does highlight their lack of customer service by the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixx
Business
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Sep 22, 2011

NY Great - Hotel Great - Hotel Staff not so great

This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of mid-town Manhattan. It is in walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, the Port Authority (Bus Station), Central Park, Broadway and lots of Restaurants and Bars. The hotel itself is very clean and modern in design, the housekeeping staff are very discreet and the room was made immaculate each day. My only disappointment is with the front desk staff, whilst they were polite they were not in any way helpful unless you asked for information. We had to ask for a map of the area, we were not advised of the complimentary continental breakfast available. We were also staying at the hotel when Hurricane Irene came (Aug 2011), they did not offer any information or advice or post any notices in the hotel regarding the hurricane or of what precautions we should take, and again we had to ask for this. We also had to stay an extra 2 nights because our flight home was cancelled, the hotel insisted we pay full room rates, plus USD100 for incidentals that day and not at the time of check out. Without the hurricane none of this would have been relevant but I think it does highlight their lack of customer service by the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreguan
Business
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Good Times at the Mansfield

We liked the Mansfield as soon as we approached it. It was very clean and elegant looking. The desk staff was helpful and the room was clean, adequately-sized (we were mostly walking around the city so we didnt need a suite) and tastefully furnished. The complimentary espresso bar in the lounge was nice as were the computers in the lobby because I didnt bring a laptop to take advantage of the complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. Location was good too; 2 blocks from Times square and right on 5th where my girlfriend did most of her shopping. Would definitely go back there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the street vendor carts. They are all regulated by the city and the food quality is great. Though prices can vary depending on the location in Manhattan, you can essentially get a meal for around $4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retta
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 2, 2011

Go somewhere else

The toilet was broken, the a/c didn't work and the bathroom was tiny. There are far better hotels out there for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB n Poppy
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sep 1, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to times square which has everything. Room was a little on the small side and not sure if air conditioner was working properly. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to times square. Good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KB n Poppy
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sep 1, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to times square which has everything. Room was a little on the small side and not sure if air conditioner was working properly. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to times square. Good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WindyCity
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2011

great for NYC frequent traveler

Primo central location. Lot's to do/see in the immediate area. Many good restaurants on that street. Free coffee bar in library. Aveda in rooms. Intimate Euro style ambiance. Nice but basic amenity level commensurate with price range for a Manhattan hotel. Beware of interior rooms, that are small and dark with windows to nowhere, however they are more quiet than the street side with brighter views but noisey in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Newspaper and premium coffees/teas in library are free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kady
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Classic feel in the heart of midtown

great location near trains and tourist attractions. Small NYC style room. Very clean with minimal amenities. Liked the character a lot. Nice bar and resturant connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chopper
Business
Charlotte
Aug 15, 2011

Greedy

Never stay book with this hotel, if you have a death in the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLH of Knoxville
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Summer in the City!

The rooms are small, but clean and well planned. Staff was attentive, location is incredible... price was spectacular! Will always be at the top of my list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally less than a block to Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top