$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ting
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 22, 2011

Nice old hotel

It is a nicely cared for old Hotel, the rooms are clean and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dyck15
Business
Winnipeg, MB
Oct 21, 2011

Nice boutique hotel

Very nice hotel. Room was clean, had all the amenities you'd expect, plus a few more (playing cards, umbrella). Very old building, they did a good job renovating it but keeping the classic style. Room service always did a great job on my long stay. Location was perfect. Tons of restaurants, great coffee shop (Gregory's) right down the road. Close to most subway lines, 3 blocks from Grand Central, Bryant station even closer. About 3 blocks to Times Square. The room was small, but it's expected in a location like this. Just enough room for the bed, one side table (only one), a small desk and chair, and the bathroom (felt like entering a closet). One of my complaints is that there is only one side table for a queen-size bed. The room was a little cold, but the window air conditioner was still in as I was there in the fall. I'd imagine that'll change soon. The complementary espresso is done by a machine in a room just off the lobby (also very classy, seems like a library but under a different name which I cannot recall). About as good as machine espresso can get, but I expected someone to actually be making the coffee. Worked well enough to forego a trip out at night though. TV was quite small, but did the trick for the few times your actually watching it while in New York. Gets all the main stations and of course the standard overpriced video on demand. Internet was spotty the first couple days, but seemed to have been an issue that was fixed as it got much better before I left. I wouldn't expect it to be the norm. It's a great hotel, but it's always hard to spend that much on a place you shouldn't be spending much time at. I wouldn't have taken a different location, but I could certainly do a less classy hotel for less money. That said, it's New York and sometimes you just want something fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Dopo Teatro is a bit west down 44th. A small, slightly hidden but amazing restaurant. Certainly higher than average prices but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C clodfelter
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Mansfield

Staff was so helpful and amazing!!!! We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Glena
Business
California, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Senior Getaway

Great location, could walk to almost everything. Poor lighting in the room so it was hard to do makeup and see for a clean shave. Our room seemed small but the biggest problem was our room did not have a good Wi-Fi connection no matter how many times the router was reset. Staff did offer to change our room. We needed to remind house keeping to leave wash clothes and bath mat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Excellent location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul1987
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great stay!

Close to times square; friendly staff. Great food and drinks at the m bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anau
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Very good location

it has been a nice experience, clean rooms, small but enough for the sleeping. i did not like the breakfast at the hotel, too expensive and did not taste good. it is better eat outside. the hotel is small, but enough for the manhattan area. excellent location, only three blocks to times square and 5th avenue. Very easy for transportation. Employees, are soso, not to kind, but what? is not the employess, the beds are excellent, i sleep very well, delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

save money to go to broadway, it is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

Don't do it.

The photos on the website must be rooms that they only use for photos. Because the room we had (for 1 hour because we left) was nothing like that photos. You can do much better for the same $$$. Keep looking. So two great stories. The guy that brought our luggage up dumped us in this room and I looked at him and I said "this is the upgrade" - his reply was "there are work rooms in this hotel" - GREAT. Then as we were leaving in a huff to another hotel (which was 10 times better and same money) the manager was standing right outside with two door men. We over heard her say "what's that all about?" and we kept walking. They didn't even try to move us to one of the "featured room" - but good old Orbitz came to the rescue and got them to agree to let us out without paying and Oribitz refunded our money for that part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rodney from Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2011

RUN RUN RUN

So, just so you understand the photos on this website are some "magic" room that I sure didn't see. The "upgrade" we got was a dirty rug on an old wood floor with a window bench that was falling out of the wall and a window air that sounded like it was maybe 20 years old. They seemed to have made a few photo opps in each room like a glass sink but a nasty bathroom. Trust me for the money you can do A LOT better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book a room someplace else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vixx
Business
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Sep 22, 2011

NY Great - Hotel Great - Hotel Staff not so great

This hotel is ideally placed in the centre of mid-town Manhattan. It is in walking distance to Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central Station, the Port Authority (Bus Station), Central Park, Broadway and lots of Restaurants and Bars. The hotel itself is very clean and modern in design, the housekeeping staff are very discreet and the room was made immaculate each day. My only disappointment is with the front desk staff, whilst they were polite they were not in any way helpful unless you asked for information. We had to ask for a map of the area, we were not advised of the complimentary continental breakfast available. We were also staying at the hotel when Hurricane Irene came (Aug 2011), they did not offer any information or advice or post any notices in the hotel regarding the hurricane or of what precautions we should take, and again we had to ask for this. We also had to stay an extra 2 nights because our flight home was cancelled, the hotel insisted we pay full room rates, plus USD100 for incidentals that day and not at the time of check out. Without the hurricane none of this would have been relevant but I think it does highlight their lack of customer service by the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dreguan
Business
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Sep 6, 2011

Good Times at the Mansfield

We liked the Mansfield as soon as we approached it. It was very clean and elegant looking. The desk staff was helpful and the room was clean, adequately-sized (we were mostly walking around the city so we didnt need a suite) and tastefully furnished. The complimentary espresso bar in the lounge was nice as were the computers in the lobby because I didnt bring a laptop to take advantage of the complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. Location was good too; 2 blocks from Times square and right on 5th where my girlfriend did most of her shopping. Would definitely go back there. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the street vendor carts. They are all regulated by the city and the food quality is great. Though prices can vary depending on the location in Manhattan, you can essentially get a meal for around $4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top