$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LIBBY LOU
Friends
NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA
Feb 29, 2012

great price, great location, friendly staff, nice bar

I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY STAY AT THE MANSFIELD. THE LOCATION WAS THE BEST. GREAT GREEK RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET. WATCH THE MINI BAR IN ROOM. THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE THAT I DID NOT DRINK. THEY KINDLY TOOK IT OFF MY BILL WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS. THE STAFF IS GREAT. STAY THERE FOR THE PRICE, LOCATION, AND STAFF. ROOMS ARE SMALL, BUT I FOUND IT QUITE ADEQUATE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeCY
Family
Cyprus
Jan 9, 2012

Unbeatable location

It was our 3rd time in NY so we had had plenty of experience with hotels. The hotel is small but you don't need anything bigger or fancier in NY since you don't spend much time in the hotel. The staff working there were very polite and took the time to answer some questions we had. They took care of our transport reservations and made us feel welcomed. Even though our room was small, it was very, very clean and tidy. The shower was great and quite big which is what mattered the most. However, the bed was not comfortable at all. The location was unbeatable (between 5th and 6th Avenue), all sights, restaurants, Central Park and the shops were within short distance. However, if you want to walk to Chelsea, Soho or the Meatpacking District, it is a 45-minute walk. But that's ok since NY is enjoyable. Our experience was pleasant and we would like to return to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston
Jan 3, 2012

Average 3* hotel

For a 4 star hotel as Mansfield claims to be I cannot give it more than 2 stars. For a 2 star hotel, in this location I would've given it a 5 star rating. My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in a Chambre Queen (during Christmas and New Year). The location is great - on 5th Av., 5 minutes from TImes Square. The room size is average - about the same size as other boutique hotels or even larger than 3 star boutique hotels in Paris. However, the bathroom sink is way to small. If you try to wash your face you'll find yourself in a big puddle. The bathroom wasn't very small so I don't know why they chose such a small basin. They have dark brown hardwood floors that absorb all the light so that's why people found this a bit dark. The lighting however is sufficient. The TV in the room is actually a DELL display with a TV tuner attached. I've seen reviews mentioning the fact that they offer free coffee and tea in the lobby. Yes, this is true - however most 3+ star hotels would have a coffee/tea machine in the room. This one doesn't so every morning you need to go downstairs to get the coffee. It's probbly ok in the winter but in the summer I'd rather walk to one of the many coffee shops in the area if I can't get a coffee in my room. The staff is friendly when you arrive but afterwards they NEVER said hello (at least in the 11 days I've been there) when passing by. I don't usually ask for directions or interact with the staff however I do expect to be greeted. If you do have an issue they are very responsive so no complain there (I actually had to call them a couple of times). The biggest problem however and this is something that I want to emphasize is the fact that there is NO way to control the temperature in the room during winter. All 3+ stars hotels have some sort of temperature control. The heat comes from a very small radiator that's controlled centrally. And while our room was very cold (we had to ask for 3 blankets) the next door guests had to keep their windows open because it was too hot. For the summer all rooms have a window AC unit - however that's useless in the winter as it only provides cooled air. Overall I would recommend this hotel for short stays but only if you get a very good deal. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel but if you can get it cheaper than a 3 star hotel in the area go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DB Bistro Moderne is right across the street.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickky
Couples
LA, California
Dec 27, 2011

AWESOME PLACE TO STAY

I visited NYC to spent xmas with my girl friend. It was one of the most awesome time I've ever had in my life. The Mansfield Hotel assisted in NYC giving me such experience with its great service. To bullet point some of the things I really loved about the place are: 1. Great renovated rooms 2. Apparently there were mosquitos in my room and I woke up in the middle of the night on the first day, they immediately gave me a new and bigger room. Great services there. 3. Free coffee & tea were actually great 4. Quiet rooms 5. 5 min walk to the Time Square, great location 6. Great value staying Definitely recommend this place for your next NYC trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you follow the W44th st, towards the Time Square, there's that awesomestic Shake Shack.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dfss
Single
Florida
Dec 2, 2011

Does Not get any better then this

Fantastic in the heart of mid town great food fun !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within arms reach from street vendors to 5 star shopping and dining

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hetfield
Couples
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

good little hotel

Great location especially for Times Square and and Broadway. We had a Queen room which was good but a little on the small side and quite dark but altogether not bad. Free coffee and tea where great as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittBert
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Location

The location of the hotel is perfect. Only 2 blocks from Times Square which was very convenient for sight seeing and catching the subway down or up town. The bathrooms in the rooms were VERY small. If you shut the door to the bathroom and sat on the toilet, your knees will be touching the door. VERY tight space but the location and the value was very worth that bit od discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lollipop
Friends
Clayton, GA 30525, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great location

The room was small as I had already read prior to my booking the room but no words could describe the tiny bathroom. The place was so tiny there was no place to put your clothes while showering. I went with three friends from work so I didn't feel comfortable coming out of the bathroom to get dressed. Anyway, the place was clean and the front desk very helpful with directions and getting a private car to take us back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Gray Line Tour Bus. The tour guides are very knowledgeable and you can get off an on with very little wait. Saves lots of time and MONEY!!

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
punktuate
Friends
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 14, 2011

The perfect choice

Everything about the Mansfield was exactly as I expected. This hotel oozes character from the tiny elevators to the dark wood adorned floors to the etched glass dividing doors in the Club Room Suite. The service staff were amazing, very respondent and helpful. This was a cozy hotel, where my patronage was clearly appreciated. Definitely NOT the Holiday Inn and precisely what I was looking for in my first trip to NYC. Would recommend to singles or couples, not really family friendly due to size of elevators and hallways, but this makes it even more ideal for a true getaway. Location was terrific. Walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Grand Central. Truly enjoyed every moment. Would stay here again in a New York minute...in fact, I would be disappointed if I didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris18
Couples
Pennsylvania, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Great stay for two

We had a great one-night stay here. The room was comfortable, but very small. We had a number of things to do in the city, so the size of the room didn't matter since we were not there often. I thought the hotel staff was so nice and helpful. They answered every question, and were very accommodating with every request. The M Bar was a nice place to hang out at the end of the evening. The location was perfect for walking everywhere we needed to go. We would book with The Mansfield again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top