$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Mansfield Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mansfield Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike20005
Business
Washington DC
Jun 28, 2012

This has been the worst hotel experience I have had

Title says it all. Arrived for check in at 2:45. Waited in a long line to be told that room is not ready. Sat in lobby for 20 minutes. Given key told to go upstairs to my room on 10th floor. Upon arrival at room door found room trashed and maid working on it. Apparently sent me to wrong room. Maid tells me to go back downstairs to get another room. Given another room. Go up to 11th floor. Room is tiny, literally big enough for the mattress and nothing else. This is NO 4 STAR hotel. Need to take shower so I can get to my meeting. Looking in bathroom, NOT A SINGLE TOWEL ANYWHERE Call front desk , told towels would be right up. Wait 15 minutes, no towels. Get in shower , wash, lather, rinse repeat. Get out dripping wet. No towel delivered anywhere. Running late for meeting now. Call desk again, told towels would be there. Ten minutes later towels show up. Service is a disaster, either they do not care on bit about anything or ???? Room was tiny with LOUD window unit. Window faced some sort of ventilation shaft, No natural light anywhere. Definitely not a four star and not even a good deal. Could have stayed at much better hotels for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GmaL
Business
Eaton, CO
Jun 3, 2012

Trip to NYC

The hotel was very comfortable, despite its age. It was the perfect location for us as we wanted to see many attractions in this area. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner was very noisy. For anyone wanting to see central NYC, including Times Square and the Theatre District, and Ground Zero, it is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Investigate each dining opportunity BEFORE you make reservations. Ask about prices. The food was very good - - and very pricey.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Train Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
May 30, 2012

New York Memorial Weekend

Extremely nice staff at check in. Rooms were small but very clean, nicely adorned, and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just marriend and happy
Business
Mexico City
May 14, 2012

Good Hotel

The staff is really frinedly and nice, the room is small but confy, the only issue was that the air conditioning was in the window and when it rained hard it was really noise, so it woke me up. The Location is great its 2 blocks from times square and half a block from 5 ave 4 blocks from the sobway and theres a bus to Newark on 42nd (2 blocks away) I never needed to take a cab the rest is great, I would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really good Italian restaurante (Via Italia Ristorante) with excellent personal service at 45 W 46th St, (Btwn 5th & 6th Ave)

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LpcSlt
Business
Portland, OR
May 1, 2012

Late April long weekend

Had a really good experience staying here. The room was a little small and the bathroom was very small and way too narrow. Other than that the location was excellent, 2 blocks from Times Square and tons of other things, including a few different subway stops. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again if looking for a hotel in midtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of stores on 5th avenue just a block away

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brauli
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Apr 19, 2012

Great location, good service

The staff from the hotel is really good and they provide great service, they helped with everything that we requested. Walking distance from times square The room which we got was a little small, no real closet and little space to place our suitcases. Very nice bed, sheets and conforter. A roach came out of the sink... nasty! but staff was helpfull and we got complementary breackfast and drinks. If you are thinking of staying out all day and just sleep there, I recomend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are thinking of having a fancy dinner go to BOULEY in tribeca... very nice food and service. Very preatty place.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crispy001
Business
CA
Apr 11, 2012

Good location, average hotel

The room is clean- has hardwood floors. AC/Heater did not work- would be a bad place to stay if it were mid-summer or winter. Location is good- few blocks from 5th ave. shopping and theaters. One girl who works there w/brown hair on 4/8/12 in the morning needs to turn that frown upside down. It's evident that she hates her job and people in general. Other than that, nice little hotel in a good area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LG from Herne Bay
Business
Kent, UK
Apr 7, 2012

Great quiet hotel

Small friendly hotel with attentive staff. Rooms super clean and comfortable. Not as small as I was expecting from other reviews. Small lounge with free tea and coffee 24hours a day which was an added bonus. Not showy or glitzy in any way but good down to earth service. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Woobury Common shopping complex. Great savings on designer goods.

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LIBBY LOU
Business
NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA
Feb 29, 2012

great price, great location, friendly staff, nice bar

I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH MY STAY AT THE MANSFIELD. THE LOCATION WAS THE BEST. GREAT GREEK RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET. WATCH THE MINI BAR IN ROOM. THEY TRIED TO CHARGE ME FOR A BOTTLE OF WINE THAT I DID NOT DRINK. THEY KINDLY TOOK IT OFF MY BILL WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS. THE STAFF IS GREAT. STAY THERE FOR THE PRICE, LOCATION, AND STAFF. ROOMS ARE SMALL, BUT I FOUND IT QUITE ADEQUATE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Mansfield Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeCY
Business
Cyprus
Jan 9, 2012

Unbeatable location

It was our 3rd time in NY so we had had plenty of experience with hotels. The hotel is small but you don't need anything bigger or fancier in NY since you don't spend much time in the hotel. The staff working there were very polite and took the time to answer some questions we had. They took care of our transport reservations and made us feel welcomed. Even though our room was small, it was very, very clean and tidy. The shower was great and quite big which is what mattered the most. However, the bed was not comfortable at all. The location was unbeatable (between 5th and 6th Avenue), all sights, restaurants, Central Park and the shops were within short distance. However, if you want to walk to Chelsea, Soho or the Meatpacking District, it is a 45-minute walk. But that's ok since NY is enjoyable. Our experience was pleasant and we would like to return to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top