$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

The MAve NYC

3 stars
62 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
37 reviews
Great location, great value

The hotel had an extremely friendly and helpful staff, was in a great location in NYC, and although... See full review

  • Hip Corporate Traveler D
  • Apr 9, 2013
The MAve experience

I was in NYC on business and took advantage of the proximity of the subway on Lextington to commute... See full review

  • biketom5
  • Oct 30, 2009
The MAve, a Modern Boutique Hotel in Manhattan. Stay at the newest boutique hotel in the Flatiron District of Midtown Manhattan. Taking its name from Madison Avenue, The MAve Hotel puts you in the heart of iconic New York. An urban retreat created with a distinctly modern design of simple and clean lines, The MAve is refreshingly relaxed and not hard edged. Our location, just shy of the point where Broadway, 23rd Street and Madison Ave converge, means our guests have easy access to all New York has to offer. From one of NYC's most famous landmarks, the Flatiron building, to Madison Square Park, from the local favorite Shake Shack to the market at Union Square, while staying at The MAve Hotel you will see and experience what makes the city tick from the perspective of a real New Yorker. We invite you to explore the sites and attractions near our Midtown Manhattan hotel. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our guest rooms and services provide a level of comfort that you'll appreciate from a New York boutique hotel. The MAve Hotel offers special amenities and a sincerely warm welcome to make your stay at one that will bring together your complete New York experience. What you need to know: The MAve Hotel is located in the Flatiron District of Midtown Manhattan NYC, featuring the nightlife of real New York. Our Madison Avenue location and easy access to the subway makes getting around for business breeze. Madison Square Park, Union Square, the Shake Shack, the Empire State Building and shops on Fifth Avenue are just blocks away. Within a five block radius of The MAve Hotel, New York City's melting pot of cuisine offers guests anything their palette desires. H20 bath products, free HSIA and WiFi access, IP phones and HDTVs are only some of the amenities you'll find at The MAve Hotel. At The MAve Hotel, our mission is to provide you with a unique and authentic New York experience. We can't wait to exceed your expectations.

The MAve NYC Rooms

Standard Room
Urban - 1 Full Bed, 165 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.
Superior Room
Madison - 1 Queen Bed, 210 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.
Deluxe Room
Boulevard King - 1 King Bed, 280 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The MAve NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7436 -73.9864
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - New York/LaGuardia. JFK - New York/Kennedy; EWR - Newark/Liberty
Area description
There's no place like New York City, but don't just take our word for it. Join us at The MAve Hotel in the iconic Flatiron District and experience it for yourself. From the non-stop rhythms of our nightlife, to the rich history of our parks and museums, to the iconic landmarks that are instantly recognizable the world over, you'll find yourself experiencing New York City like a local at The MAve Hotel. Our location, just shy of the point where Broadway, 23rd Street and Madison Ave converge, means our guests have easy access to all New York has to offer. From one of NYC's most famous landmarks, the Flatiron building, to Madison Square Park, from the local favorite Shake Shack to the market at Union Square, while staying at The MAve Hotel you will see and experience what makes the city tick from the perspective of a real New Yorker. We invite you to explore the sites and attractions near our Midtown Manhattan hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Regretfully, The MAve nyc does not offer meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The MAve NYC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DBA
Business
New York
Sep 30, 2009

Worth considering if you can get a deal

It was my first time at the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is quite small, but being glassed in, very bright and open. Likewise, the rooms were small, or at least the one that I was given was small, as was the bathroom. Still, for my purposes it was fine. There was no tub, just a shower, but the bathroom was clean and modern, and tastefully done. The sleeping area was also very nicely done in a classic, tailored style. The beds were comfortable, and a wall-mounted flat TV screen lent a bit more space to the room. I was on the 10th floor overlooking 27th Street, which can be busy at times, but at that height, I didn't notice. What was great about the hotel was their ingenious treatment of the stairway connecting the floors. After being subject to dark, dank stairwells even in the "best" hotels, this was a revelation. The stairs and railings were not enclosed but visible on every floor, and they were spiffed up with silver paint and stainless risers, and colorful murals were painted on each level, all different. I used to live in this neighborhood, and given its location midway between the best of what 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue have to offer toward the north and the most interesting neighborhoods in Manhattan to the south (Union Square, the East and West Villages, Chelsea, Soho, the Meatpacking District and Tribeca), you couldn't settle in a more convenient area. Great restaurants and shops abound, and the Lexington Avenue line taking you from the Upper East Side all the way down to Wall Street is just one block away. What made the experience even better was the rate I had on the room. The posted rates are what you would expect for Manhattan--high--but shop around and you might be able to get a decent room rate, which would make the hotel one that you will want to experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice people at the front desk will give you a sheet of paper outlining some of the restaurants in the area, and most of them will in fact be good, although toward the higher end of the scale price wise. What's not on the list is Shake Shack, a Danny Meyer creation just two blocks down Madison, in Madison Square Park at 23rd Street, where you will have the best burger you can find in the city. Lines will be very long during feeding times, but go there in the off-hours and you won't be denied. Be sure to get one of their concretes, amazing cold custard concoctions that only makes their burgers better.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tor Norway
Oslo, Norway
Oct 15, 2012

Great location and good value for money

The hotel feels very compact, (we had a super small room, 165 feet^2 = 15 m^2), but is also newly renovated and feels very clean. Nice bathroom. Nice with free coffee for breakfast, also includes sweet baked things if that's your thing for breakfast. We were very satisfied staying here for an extended weekend doing touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Nov 10, 2009

Boutique hotel with outstanding service

The outstanding staff was very helpful with lists of personally recommended restaurants, help with navigating the city, things to see and suggestions that made the trip more fun. Best idea was to take the subway to Brooklyn and walk back to Manhattan across the Brooklyn Bridge. With only 72 rooms, they knew each of the guests and it seemed like they just couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2009

Happy with new hotel

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were not aware it was there second day of being open. The rooms are small but very cute. My husband and I will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abell255
Iowa
Jan 9, 2010

Great hotel for a couple's getaway

The hotel was in a great location. The staff were friendly day and in and day out. The rooms were fairly small but they were decorated nicely and kept the mood up. My only real complaint with the rooms were the showers. For some odd reason (assuming style)the stand up showers don't have a shower door/curtain. They only have a piece of glass that covers half of the shower length....therefore you end up with a soaked bathroom floor. The floor does have a drain, however this became very annoying throughout the week. The hotel only serves rolls/coffee for their "grab and go" breakfast. The beds were fairly comfortable, but I did not sleep that well throughout the week. This may have been due to the noise. If I visited NY again I would not stay in The Mave again as I feel there are better options for the price. Don't get me wrong, the place was an experience and overall we were satisfied, however for the price we believe you should look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Dec 9, 2009

location good!

clean rooms with very comfortable beds and only a block away from the subway! lovely friendly staff and hip young vibe. slightly on the pricier side for what they offer, but a wonderful place to stay for a first time trip to nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, DE
Apr 14, 2010

The MAve Hotel

The staff was tremendous and helped us to get tickets to shows, and to make reservations for meals. Their recommendations were on target and they were unfailingly polite and always friendly. We would definitely stay at the MAve again. The only shortcoming at the hotel was that the bathroom needed a vanity or shelf so that there is room for cosmetics and toiletries when you are getting ready to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville
Aug 3, 2010

MAve was MArvelous

The MAve was a great boutique style hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have read some reviews that the staff was rude. My experience was just the opposite. I asked for a bucket of ice every evening, and I never waited for it to be delivered, and the staff was happy to deliver it. We were always greeted at the door, even at 2AM. The hotel is small, so are the rooms, but they were spotless. NO BED BUGS, NONE. The more expensive uptown hotels or hotel chains cannot say that. The location was great for a real New York experience, just blocks away from Flat Iron and countless great restaurants and bars. If you are a tourist, and you have to spend your trip in Time Square, stay somewhere else, please. If you want to visit New York, stay at the MAve, and stay away from the tourists on line for the Empire State Building. If you stay at the MAve, and you are compelled to take on a tourist trip, you are a short walk to Bobby Flay's restaurant, Mesa Grill. On the way there, you will pass many bars and taverns, where you can dine like a king for half the price. If you complain about the noise in NYC, maybe you should travel somewhere else. The largest U.S. city is going to be loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be respectful of the hotel staff. Treat them like you are their guest, and they will treat you like family.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Migwish
Lincoln, England
Sep 30, 2012

NEW YORK SEPTEMBER TRIP

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS GREAT AND SMACK BANG IN THE MIDDLE OF MID TOWN, 5TH AVENUE IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER AND THE EMPIRE STATE IS ABOUT 20 MINUTES WALK AWAY. ON OUR FIRST MORNING WE CAME DOWN FOR FOOD AT 8 AM AND THERE WAS ONLY ONE MUFFIN LEFT, WE WERE TOLD THAT THERE PROBABLY WOULD NOT BE ANYMORE THAT DAY WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BIT RUBBISH, SO WE DIDN'T BOTHER AGAIN WITH BREAKFAST THERE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK, SAYING THAT THERE IS A DELI ON 5TH A FEW MINUTES AWAY THAT DOES EVERY TYPE OF FOOD YOU CAN THINK OF, SO WE HAD BREAKFAST THERE EVERY MORNING. THE STAFF WERE OK AND HELPED WHEN WE SAID THE SAFE WOULD NOT LOCK BUT GOT BORED OF SAYING MORNING AS WE WENT BY THE FRONT DESK AND NOT GETTING A RESPONSE, BUT THIS IS QUITE COMMON AMONGST NEW YORKERS. WHEN WE DID LEAVE THOUGH THE GUY ON THE DOOR DID A GREAT JOB OF HAILING US A TAXI BY STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD SO THAT MADE UP FOR THE DESK STAFF. JUST FOR INFO, WE LEFT AT 3PM TO GET TO JFK AND IT TOOK NEARLY 2 HOURS IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC TO GET THERE AND ABOUT 5PM IS THE TAXI STAFF CHANGE OVER SO BE WARNED IF YOU HAVE A PLANE TO CATCH EARLY EVENING, LEAVE PLENTY OF TIME. I WOULD STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN, FORGOT TO MENTION, THE PILLOWS ARE THE MOST COMFORTABLE IVE EVER SLEPT ON AND ARE A REAL WELCOME AFTER A DAY SPENT POUNDING THE STREETS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DELI ON 5TH AVENUE

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honorary New Yorker
Pasadena, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Nice, clean, affordable

We were interested in a clean, nice, affordable hotel close to the East 20s, just for the night. The price was right, the room clean and comfortable, and the staff pleasant. We had three misgivings. Only one elevator worked, it was small, and it moved very slowly. Second, we asked for a taxi to the airport, and the man behind the desk said sure, he could arrange that, only to provide us with the details for not a taxi, but a towncar. I only found that out when he told me the price ($65, instead of $50 for a taxi), and that it would be a black car. I had asked for a taxi. Third, the small space behind the front desk caused us some concern: a power strip full of plugs ran across the middle of the floor because the cord was far too short. This created a clear tripping hazard, which the very young-seeming staff may not have been alert to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is a short walk, yet one doesn't feel in the orbit of that Madison Square Garden hubbub.

Back to menu Return to top