$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The MAve NYC

3 stars
View map of 62 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The MAve NYC

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Migwish
Business
Lincoln, England
Sep 30, 2012

NEW YORK SEPTEMBER TRIP

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS GREAT AND SMACK BANG IN THE MIDDLE OF MID TOWN, 5TH AVENUE IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER AND THE EMPIRE STATE IS ABOUT 20 MINUTES WALK AWAY. ON OUR FIRST MORNING WE CAME DOWN FOR FOOD AT 8 AM AND THERE WAS ONLY ONE MUFFIN LEFT, WE WERE TOLD THAT THERE PROBABLY WOULD NOT BE ANYMORE THAT DAY WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BIT RUBBISH, SO WE DIDN'T BOTHER AGAIN WITH BREAKFAST THERE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK, SAYING THAT THERE IS A DELI ON 5TH A FEW MINUTES AWAY THAT DOES EVERY TYPE OF FOOD YOU CAN THINK OF, SO WE HAD BREAKFAST THERE EVERY MORNING. THE STAFF WERE OK AND HELPED WHEN WE SAID THE SAFE WOULD NOT LOCK BUT GOT BORED OF SAYING MORNING AS WE WENT BY THE FRONT DESK AND NOT GETTING A RESPONSE, BUT THIS IS QUITE COMMON AMONGST NEW YORKERS. WHEN WE DID LEAVE THOUGH THE GUY ON THE DOOR DID A GREAT JOB OF HAILING US A TAXI BY STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD SO THAT MADE UP FOR THE DESK STAFF. JUST FOR INFO, WE LEFT AT 3PM TO GET TO JFK AND IT TOOK NEARLY 2 HOURS IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC TO GET THERE AND ABOUT 5PM IS THE TAXI STAFF CHANGE OVER SO BE WARNED IF YOU HAVE A PLANE TO CATCH EARLY EVENING, LEAVE PLENTY OF TIME. I WOULD STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN, FORGOT TO MENTION, THE PILLOWS ARE THE MOST COMFORTABLE IVE EVER SLEPT ON AND ARE A REAL WELCOME AFTER A DAY SPENT POUNDING THE STREETS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DELI ON 5TH AVENUE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tor Norway
Business
Oslo, Norway
Oct 15, 2012

Great location and good value for money

The hotel feels very compact, (we had a super small room, 165 feet^2 = 15 m^2), but is also newly renovated and feels very clean. Nice bathroom. Nice with free coffee for breakfast, also includes sweet baked things if that's your thing for breakfast. We were very satisfied staying here for an extended weekend doing touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hip Corporate Traveler D
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 9, 2013

Great location, great value

The hotel had an extremely friendly and helpful staff, was in a great location in NYC, and although the rooms small, everything was very comfortable. A great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honorary New Yorker
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Nice, clean, affordable

We were interested in a clean, nice, affordable hotel close to the East 20s, just for the night. The price was right, the room clean and comfortable, and the staff pleasant. We had three misgivings. Only one elevator worked, it was small, and it moved very slowly. Second, we asked for a taxi to the airport, and the man behind the desk said sure, he could arrange that, only to provide us with the details for not a taxi, but a towncar. I only found that out when he told me the price ($65, instead of $50 for a taxi), and that it would be a black car. I had asked for a taxi. Third, the small space behind the front desk caused us some concern: a power strip full of plugs ran across the middle of the floor because the cord was far too short. This created a clear tripping hazard, which the very young-seeming staff may not have been alert to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is a short walk, yet one doesn't feel in the orbit of that Madison Square Garden hubbub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abell255
Business
Iowa
Jan 9, 2010

Great hotel for a couple's getaway

The hotel was in a great location. The staff were friendly day and in and day out. The rooms were fairly small but they were decorated nicely and kept the mood up. My only real complaint with the rooms were the showers. For some odd reason (assuming style)the stand up showers don't have a shower door/curtain. They only have a piece of glass that covers half of the shower length....therefore you end up with a soaked bathroom floor. The floor does have a drain, however this became very annoying throughout the week. The hotel only serves rolls/coffee for their "grab and go" breakfast. The beds were fairly comfortable, but I did not sleep that well throughout the week. This may have been due to the noise. If I visited NY again I would not stay in The Mave again as I feel there are better options for the price. Don't get me wrong, the place was an experience and overall we were satisfied, however for the price we believe you should look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, DE
Apr 14, 2010

The MAve Hotel

The staff was tremendous and helped us to get tickets to shows, and to make reservations for meals. Their recommendations were on target and they were unfailingly polite and always friendly. We would definitely stay at the MAve again. The only shortcoming at the hotel was that the bathroom needed a vanity or shelf so that there is room for cosmetics and toiletries when you are getting ready to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 10, 2009

Boutique hotel with outstanding service

The outstanding staff was very helpful with lists of personally recommended restaurants, help with navigating the city, things to see and suggestions that made the trip more fun. Best idea was to take the subway to Brooklyn and walk back to Manhattan across the Brooklyn Bridge. With only 72 rooms, they knew each of the guests and it seemed like they just couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2009

Happy with new hotel

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were not aware it was there second day of being open. The rooms are small but very cute. My husband and I will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nityamukta
Business
Missoula, MT
Jun 20, 2010

Great Price and Location

Came to NYC with a friend from Albany for the first time. The Mave was an excellent find for the price (179/night) and location (in Midtown in the Flatiron District). We were within a block of the nearest Metro entrance and just a short walk from Penn Station. We took several cab rides and didn't pay more than $10. Grammercy Park and Union Square were only a short distance away. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, helping us find restaurants and bars that were within walking distance. They also upgraded our reservation upon checking-in, which was really great. The room was clean and (I was told) rather large for Midtown Manhattan. There was some street traffic and noise, but nothing distracting. Complimentary breakfast bar was offered, which was nice for a quick bite before heading out to see the sights. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for great accommodations and an excellent location for their visit to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For great people watching and entertainment, stroll down to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Aug 3, 2010

MAve was MArvelous

The MAve was a great boutique style hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have read some reviews that the staff was rude. My experience was just the opposite. I asked for a bucket of ice every evening, and I never waited for it to be delivered, and the staff was happy to deliver it. We were always greeted at the door, even at 2AM. The hotel is small, so are the rooms, but they were spotless. NO BED BUGS, NONE. The more expensive uptown hotels or hotel chains cannot say that. The location was great for a real New York experience, just blocks away from Flat Iron and countless great restaurants and bars. If you are a tourist, and you have to spend your trip in Time Square, stay somewhere else, please. If you want to visit New York, stay at the MAve, and stay away from the tourists on line for the Empire State Building. If you stay at the MAve, and you are compelled to take on a tourist trip, you are a short walk to Bobby Flay's restaurant, Mesa Grill. On the way there, you will pass many bars and taverns, where you can dine like a king for half the price. If you complain about the noise in NYC, maybe you should travel somewhere else. The largest U.S. city is going to be loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be respectful of the hotel staff. Treat them like you are their guest, and they will treat you like family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top