$290 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The MAve NYC

3 stars
View map of 62 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The MAve NYC

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Nashville
Aug 3, 2010

MAve was MArvelous

The MAve was a great boutique style hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have read some reviews that the staff was rude. My experience was just the opposite. I asked for a bucket of ice every evening, and I never waited for it to be delivered, and the staff was happy to deliver it. We were always greeted at the door, even at 2AM. The hotel is small, so are the rooms, but they were spotless. NO BED BUGS, NONE. The more expensive uptown hotels or hotel chains cannot say that. The location was great for a real New York experience, just blocks away from Flat Iron and countless great restaurants and bars. If you are a tourist, and you have to spend your trip in Time Square, stay somewhere else, please. If you want to visit New York, stay at the MAve, and stay away from the tourists on line for the Empire State Building. If you stay at the MAve, and you are compelled to take on a tourist trip, you are a short walk to Bobby Flay's restaurant, Mesa Grill. On the way there, you will pass many bars and taverns, where you can dine like a king for half the price. If you complain about the noise in NYC, maybe you should travel somewhere else. The largest U.S. city is going to be loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be respectful of the hotel staff. Treat them like you are their guest, and they will treat you like family.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nityamukta
Friends
Missoula, MT
Jun 20, 2010

Great Price and Location

Came to NYC with a friend from Albany for the first time. The Mave was an excellent find for the price (179/night) and location (in Midtown in the Flatiron District). We were within a block of the nearest Metro entrance and just a short walk from Penn Station. We took several cab rides and didn't pay more than $10. Grammercy Park and Union Square were only a short distance away. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, helping us find restaurants and bars that were within walking distance. They also upgraded our reservation upon checking-in, which was really great. The room was clean and (I was told) rather large for Midtown Manhattan. There was some street traffic and noise, but nothing distracting. Complimentary breakfast bar was offered, which was nice for a quick bite before heading out to see the sights. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for great accommodations and an excellent location for their visit to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For great people watching and entertainment, stroll down to Union Square.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newark, DE
Apr 14, 2010

The MAve Hotel

The staff was tremendous and helped us to get tickets to shows, and to make reservations for meals. Their recommendations were on target and they were unfailingly polite and always friendly. We would definitely stay at the MAve again. The only shortcoming at the hotel was that the bathroom needed a vanity or shelf so that there is room for cosmetics and toiletries when you are getting ready to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abell255
Couples
Iowa
Jan 9, 2010

Great hotel for a couple's getaway

The hotel was in a great location. The staff were friendly day and in and day out. The rooms were fairly small but they were decorated nicely and kept the mood up. My only real complaint with the rooms were the showers. For some odd reason (assuming style)the stand up showers don't have a shower door/curtain. They only have a piece of glass that covers half of the shower length....therefore you end up with a soaked bathroom floor. The floor does have a drain, however this became very annoying throughout the week. The hotel only serves rolls/coffee for their "grab and go" breakfast. The beds were fairly comfortable, but I did not sleep that well throughout the week. This may have been due to the noise. If I visited NY again I would not stay in The Mave again as I feel there are better options for the price. Don't get me wrong, the place was an experience and overall we were satisfied, however for the price we believe you should look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Sydney, Australia
Dec 9, 2009

location good!

clean rooms with very comfortable beds and only a block away from the subway! lovely friendly staff and hip young vibe. slightly on the pricier side for what they offer, but a wonderful place to stay for a first time trip to nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clayco
Business
SF
Dec 4, 2009

Worst hotel I have stayed at in NYC

Terrible all the way around. felt like a hostile. Small rooms, terrible towels, paper thin walls, odd staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Louis, MO
Nov 10, 2009

Boutique hotel with outstanding service

The outstanding staff was very helpful with lists of personally recommended restaurants, help with navigating the city, things to see and suggestions that made the trip more fun. Best idea was to take the subway to Brooklyn and walk back to Manhattan across the Brooklyn Bridge. With only 72 rooms, they knew each of the guests and it seemed like they just couldn't do enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biketom5
Business
Chicago
Oct 30, 2009

The MAve experience

I was in NYC on business and took advantage of the proximity of the subway on Lextington to commute to and from my office at 53rd and Lexington. The convenience of shopping, many restaurants and a quiet neighborhood, made this business trip very enjoyable. The newly decorated/remodeled MAve is truly worth the stay. Very, very comfortable beds too...I will be back. I have stayed in other hotels in midtown and I enjoyed this stay very much. The staff was courteous and professional. Madison Square Park was a surprise "find" during my many walks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD late night snacks at the nearby deli right around the corner that is open 24/7.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DBA
Business
New York
Sep 30, 2009

Worth considering if you can get a deal

It was my first time at the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is quite small, but being glassed in, very bright and open. Likewise, the rooms were small, or at least the one that I was given was small, as was the bathroom. Still, for my purposes it was fine. There was no tub, just a shower, but the bathroom was clean and modern, and tastefully done. The sleeping area was also very nicely done in a classic, tailored style. The beds were comfortable, and a wall-mounted flat TV screen lent a bit more space to the room. I was on the 10th floor overlooking 27th Street, which can be busy at times, but at that height, I didn't notice. What was great about the hotel was their ingenious treatment of the stairway connecting the floors. After being subject to dark, dank stairwells even in the "best" hotels, this was a revelation. The stairs and railings were not enclosed but visible on every floor, and they were spiffed up with silver paint and stainless risers, and colorful murals were painted on each level, all different. I used to live in this neighborhood, and given its location midway between the best of what 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue have to offer toward the north and the most interesting neighborhoods in Manhattan to the south (Union Square, the East and West Villages, Chelsea, Soho, the Meatpacking District and Tribeca), you couldn't settle in a more convenient area. Great restaurants and shops abound, and the Lexington Avenue line taking you from the Upper East Side all the way down to Wall Street is just one block away. What made the experience even better was the rate I had on the room. The posted rates are what you would expect for Manhattan--high--but shop around and you might be able to get a decent room rate, which would make the hotel one that you will want to experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice people at the front desk will give you a sheet of paper outlining some of the restaurants in the area, and most of them will in fact be good, although toward the higher end of the scale price wise. What's not on the list is Shake Shack, a Danny Meyer creation just two blocks down Madison, in Madison Square Park at 23rd Street, where you will have the best burger you can find in the city. Lines will be very long during feeding times, but go there in the off-hours and you won't be denied. Be sure to get one of their concretes, amazing cold custard concoctions that only makes their burgers better.

Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Poland
Aug 28, 2009

Excellent service

We were delighed with very friendly staff. Big thank you to [...] and the rest of the crew. Thanks to your tips we had a ball in NY and when we come back we certainly stay again at The MAve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Smoke on 27th East Street and short walk to Indian Restaurants so called Curry Hill on Lexington Ave starting at 28th East Street.

Back to menu Return to top