$194 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The MAve NYC

3 stars
62 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
22 reviews
The MAve experience

I was in NYC on business and took advantage of the proximity of the subway on Lextington to commute... See full review

  • biketom5
  • Oct 30, 2009
Excellent service

We were delighed with very friendly staff. Big thank you to [...] and the rest of the crew. Thanks... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 28, 2009
The MAve, a Modern Boutique Hotel in Manhattan. Stay at the newest boutique hotel in the Flatiron District of Midtown Manhattan. Taking its name from Madison Avenue, The MAve Hotel puts you in the heart of iconic New York. An urban retreat created with a distinctly modern design of simple and clean lines, The MAve is refreshingly relaxed and not hard edged. Our location, just shy of the point where Broadway, 23rd Street and Madison Ave converge, means our guests have easy access to all New York has to offer. From one of NYC's most famous landmarks, the Flatiron building, to Madison Square Park, from the local favorite Shake Shack to the market at Union Square, while staying at The MAve Hotel you will see and experience what makes the city tick from the perspective of a real New Yorker. We invite you to explore the sites and attractions near our Midtown Manhattan hotel. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our guest rooms and services provide a level of comfort that you'll appreciate from a New York boutique hotel. The MAve Hotel offers special amenities and a sincerely warm welcome to make your stay at one that will bring together your complete New York experience. What you need to know: The MAve Hotel is located in the Flatiron District of Midtown Manhattan NYC, featuring the nightlife of real New York. Our Madison Avenue location and easy access to the subway makes getting around for business breeze. Madison Square Park, Union Square, the Shake Shack, the Empire State Building and shops on Fifth Avenue are just blocks away. Within a five block radius of The MAve Hotel, New York City's melting pot of cuisine offers guests anything their palette desires. H20 bath products, free HSIA and WiFi access, IP phones and HDTVs are only some of the amenities you'll find at The MAve Hotel. At The MAve Hotel, our mission is to provide you with a unique and authentic New York experience. We can't wait to exceed your expectations.

Hotel Map

40.7436 -73.9864
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA - New York/LaGuardia. JFK - New York/Kennedy; EWR - Newark/Liberty
Area description
There's no place like New York City, but don't just take our word for it. Join us at The MAve Hotel in the iconic Flatiron District and experience it for yourself. From the non-stop rhythms of our nightlife, to the rich history of our parks and museums, to the iconic landmarks that are instantly recognizable the world over, you'll find yourself experiencing New York City like a local at The MAve Hotel. Our location, just shy of the point where Broadway, 23rd Street and Madison Ave converge, means our guests have easy access to all New York has to offer. From one of NYC's most famous landmarks, the Flatiron building, to Madison Square Park, from the local favorite Shake Shack to the market at Union Square, while staying at The MAve Hotel you will see and experience what makes the city tick from the perspective of a real New Yorker. We invite you to explore the sites and attractions near our Midtown Manhattan hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The MAve NYC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The MAve NYC Rooms

Standard Room
Urban - 1 Full Bed, 165 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.
Superior Room
Madison - 1 Queen Bed, 210 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.
Deluxe Room
Boulevard King - 1 King Bed, 280 sq ft. Guestrooms feature 32 inch Plasma HD TV and Free wireless internet, H20 bath amenities, 13.5 inch pillow-top mattress and Belgian cotton linens. Other amenities include an I Home alarm clock, 2 phones, full-size iron and board and hairdryer. Same day laundry and shoe-shining also available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.4 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Players: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.7 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.8 mi
  • Garment District: 0.8 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.8 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.8 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Regretfully, The MAve nyc does not offer meeting facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for The MAve NYC

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tor Norway
Oslo, Norway
Oct 15, 2012

Great location and good value for money

The hotel feels very compact, (we had a super small room, 165 feet^2 = 15 m^2), but is also newly renovated and feels very clean. Nice bathroom. Nice with free coffee for breakfast, also includes sweet baked things if that's your thing for breakfast. We were very satisfied staying here for an extended weekend doing touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No nii
Business
London
Oct 20, 2013

Great Staff

Room was a bit small - no place to hang my clothes but clean room and comfy bed - staff lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hip Corporate Traveler D
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 9, 2013

Great location, great value

The hotel had an extremely friendly and helpful staff, was in a great location in NYC, and although the rooms small, everything was very comfortable. A great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tor Norway
Business
Oslo, Norway
Oct 15, 2012

Great location and good value for money

The hotel feels very compact, (we had a super small room, 165 feet^2 = 15 m^2), but is also newly renovated and feels very clean. Nice bathroom. Nice with free coffee for breakfast, also includes sweet baked things if that's your thing for breakfast. We were very satisfied staying here for an extended weekend doing touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Migwish
Business
Lincoln, England
Sep 30, 2012

NEW YORK SEPTEMBER TRIP

THE HOTEL ITSELF IS GREAT AND SMACK BANG IN THE MIDDLE OF MID TOWN, 5TH AVENUE IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER AND THE EMPIRE STATE IS ABOUT 20 MINUTES WALK AWAY. ON OUR FIRST MORNING WE CAME DOWN FOR FOOD AT 8 AM AND THERE WAS ONLY ONE MUFFIN LEFT, WE WERE TOLD THAT THERE PROBABLY WOULD NOT BE ANYMORE THAT DAY WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BIT RUBBISH, SO WE DIDN'T BOTHER AGAIN WITH BREAKFAST THERE FOR THE REST OF THE WEEK, SAYING THAT THERE IS A DELI ON 5TH A FEW MINUTES AWAY THAT DOES EVERY TYPE OF FOOD YOU CAN THINK OF, SO WE HAD BREAKFAST THERE EVERY MORNING. THE STAFF WERE OK AND HELPED WHEN WE SAID THE SAFE WOULD NOT LOCK BUT GOT BORED OF SAYING MORNING AS WE WENT BY THE FRONT DESK AND NOT GETTING A RESPONSE, BUT THIS IS QUITE COMMON AMONGST NEW YORKERS. WHEN WE DID LEAVE THOUGH THE GUY ON THE DOOR DID A GREAT JOB OF HAILING US A TAXI BY STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD SO THAT MADE UP FOR THE DESK STAFF. JUST FOR INFO, WE LEFT AT 3PM TO GET TO JFK AND IT TOOK NEARLY 2 HOURS IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC TO GET THERE AND ABOUT 5PM IS THE TAXI STAFF CHANGE OVER SO BE WARNED IF YOU HAVE A PLANE TO CATCH EARLY EVENING, LEAVE PLENTY OF TIME. I WOULD STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN, FORGOT TO MENTION, THE PILLOWS ARE THE MOST COMFORTABLE IVE EVER SLEPT ON AND ARE A REAL WELCOME AFTER A DAY SPENT POUNDING THE STREETS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DELI ON 5TH AVENUE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ythomit
Business
Toronto
Sep 14, 2012

mediocre facility

no extractor fan. elevators slow and stopped on every floor regardless. lighting in room insufficient to read. breakfast facility uncomfortable with low stools and no tables

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
encee
Business
NJ
Feb 15, 2012

clean rooms, friendly staff

Firsf off, front desk staff (Pablo) gets an A+ for friendliness, willingnesd to help, hospitality, and overall made the experience positive. Housekeeping is also a friendly and nice bunch. The hotel is cool with a trendy vibe and modern decor. The common areas and rooms are clean. Despite small rooms, they outfitted it well with modern feeling amenities. Bathrooms are great too and finished with quality toiletries. Beds ars comfy and for a place to crash for the night, it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honorary New Yorker
Business
Pasadena, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Nice, clean, affordable

We were interested in a clean, nice, affordable hotel close to the East 20s, just for the night. The price was right, the room clean and comfortable, and the staff pleasant. We had three misgivings. Only one elevator worked, it was small, and it moved very slowly. Second, we asked for a taxi to the airport, and the man behind the desk said sure, he could arrange that, only to provide us with the details for not a taxi, but a towncar. I only found that out when he told me the price ($65, instead of $50 for a taxi), and that it would be a black car. I had asked for a taxi. Third, the small space behind the front desk caused us some concern: a power strip full of plugs ran across the middle of the floor because the cord was far too short. This created a clear tripping hazard, which the very young-seeming staff may not have been alert to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station is a short walk, yet one doesn't feel in the orbit of that Madison Square Garden hubbub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Aug 3, 2010

MAve was MArvelous

The MAve was a great boutique style hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have read some reviews that the staff was rude. My experience was just the opposite. I asked for a bucket of ice every evening, and I never waited for it to be delivered, and the staff was happy to deliver it. We were always greeted at the door, even at 2AM. The hotel is small, so are the rooms, but they were spotless. NO BED BUGS, NONE. The more expensive uptown hotels or hotel chains cannot say that. The location was great for a real New York experience, just blocks away from Flat Iron and countless great restaurants and bars. If you are a tourist, and you have to spend your trip in Time Square, stay somewhere else, please. If you want to visit New York, stay at the MAve, and stay away from the tourists on line for the Empire State Building. If you stay at the MAve, and you are compelled to take on a tourist trip, you are a short walk to Bobby Flay's restaurant, Mesa Grill. On the way there, you will pass many bars and taverns, where you can dine like a king for half the price. If you complain about the noise in NYC, maybe you should travel somewhere else. The largest U.S. city is going to be loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be respectful of the hotel staff. Treat them like you are their guest, and they will treat you like family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nityamukta
Business
Missoula, MT
Jun 20, 2010

Great Price and Location

Came to NYC with a friend from Albany for the first time. The Mave was an excellent find for the price (179/night) and location (in Midtown in the Flatiron District). We were within a block of the nearest Metro entrance and just a short walk from Penn Station. We took several cab rides and didn't pay more than $10. Grammercy Park and Union Square were only a short distance away. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, helping us find restaurants and bars that were within walking distance. They also upgraded our reservation upon checking-in, which was really great. The room was clean and (I was told) rather large for Midtown Manhattan. There was some street traffic and noise, but nothing distracting. Complimentary breakfast bar was offered, which was nice for a quick bite before heading out to see the sights. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for great accommodations and an excellent location for their visit to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

For great people watching and entertainment, stroll down to Union Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The MAve NYC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, DE
Apr 14, 2010

The MAve Hotel

The staff was tremendous and helped us to get tickets to shows, and to make reservations for meals. Their recommendations were on target and they were unfailingly polite and always friendly. We would definitely stay at the MAve again. The only shortcoming at the hotel was that the bathroom needed a vanity or shelf so that there is room for cosmetics and toiletries when you are getting ready to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top