$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
194 reviews
Great holiday.

Hotel was exactly how we imagined. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of places to eat nearby if... See full review

  • Fionnuala K.
  • Mar 13, 2015
Perfect for us

The room -- while small (but what NYC hotel has big rooms -- was clean, quiet and perfect for us.... See full review

  • Jean V.
  • Feb 26, 2015
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV is provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foreign Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 194
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EK14
Business
London
Sep 16, 2014

Great Hotel, lovely location

really lovely hotel. Nice room overlooking Amsterdam - great location for buses and subway. lots of local shops and restaurants, easy to walk or bus or subway to NY city attractions. To get a 5 * rating Coffee makers as standard in rooms would do as well as free printing in the business centre, and why was everything brown?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunday green market and flea market on Columbus Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wthdyw
Business
atlanta,ga
Aug 31, 2014

The nicest hotel manager anywhere!

There was a mixup with another person's reservation and they did everything they could to make it up to me including giving me a bigger room than I paid for. The room was very clean when I checked in but the maid service was a little less diligent by the 5th day. I always stay here and I will continue to do so. Even the restaurant attached, but not owned ,by the hotel is great. The room comes with a coffee maker, an umbrella and once a week the hotel serves wine and cheese in the lobby. There is also a spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There are more entertainment opportunities for children on the west side of NYC such as Vital children's theatre,CMOMA Children's Museum of Art and places to paint and make sculptures for all ages. The west side is friendlier and family oriented while still having entertainment and restaurants for adults.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ysubassoon
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2014

The best hotel stay I have ever had

The staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful. The room was unusually large for the UWS, comparable in size to a hotel in the Midwest, and I loved that all of the switches had dimmers, so I had complete control over the amount of light in the room and the bathroom. My room was on the 5th floor, so there was minimal street noise. The bed and linens were quite comfortable. The Lucerne offers excellent discounts and is a fantastic value. You'll end up getting a 4 star stay for a 2 or 3 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 1 train is one block away and will get you to most any line/destination. Take advantage of the great public transportation, get an MTA pass, and use the subway instead of paying more for cabs and private cars and avoid all of the traffic, saving you both time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J'Gran
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2014

Not Luxurious

This hotel has a great location and is one of the most quiet and peaceful I've ever stayed at. All of my experiences with staff were very nice indeed, although check-in needs work. Over four days, a dozen small things went awry. Granted, people made it right, but training is off here. Or attention to detail at overall level. Still, I would stay here again if I wanted to be on this corner and wanted a quiet stay. FYI, I uncharacteristically did not use fitness or spa and these might be special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the park from Museum Mile. It is a great walk to get there--or take the M79 bus if you must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
there is no need
Business
las vegas, nevada
Oct 16, 2013

perfect location

as usual a great experience. there is no need to write something else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zehava
Business
Israel
Mar 10, 2013

Old world style

Clean,comfortable and convenient.i. Enjoyed a bistro on 72nd street , a matinee on broadway as well as computer classes on broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeccaV
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2013

Just what I needed

I used to live on the Upper West Side and had busineses to do in the area. I had always stayed with friends so this was the first time I stayed in a hotel. The Lucerne was completely comfortable and easy. THe room was clean and recently modernized. If I had been with my husband, it would have been a bit small but for me it was perfect. There are good restaurants in the neighborhood now- Love Vai- and eating breadfast at Nice Matin was terriric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vai- across Amsterdam, Kefi in the 80's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe11
Business
London, England
Dec 30, 2012

Great pre-wedding stay

I stayed at the Lucerne for 3 nights before my wedding. The room was spacious, comfortable, well-designed and just what I needed. The location was excellent. Free drinks for guests in the lobby one afternoon was a nice touch. No additional lounges or separate bar from the adjoining public restaurant, but that didn't really matter. One major problem which needs urgent action by the management was my plastic card room key was turned off in error by the hotel when I popped out to get ice from the machine so I was stranded outside the room an hour before my wedding. The reception staff refused to let me back in the room without ID, which was of course locked in the room, even though they acknowledged it was the hotel's mistake. I would have missed my wedding had I not miraculously been able to get hold of my passport. Staff were unsympathetic and hostile. An unacceptable blot on an otherwise excellent hotel, needing urgent attention by the management/owner .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge CT
Jul 16, 2011

Lucerne

I came in from CT and this was the easiest in and out I have experienced. I got off on the 79th street exit of the West Side Highway, and pulled into a garage directly opposite the hotel. The hotel was tidy, reasonably sized room, and an excellent price for the quality (for NYC of course). A bit of noise from the in room A/C, but not enough to keep me awake. The restaurant downstairs is a pleasant bistro. A very pleasant experience, and one I would certainly do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharonia
Business
Oberlin, Ohio
Mar 20, 2011

Love Lucerne

This was my second stay at this hotel. It's wonderful. My sister and I had a beautiful big room on the 12th floor, with 2 windows overlooking the city. It's clean, comfortable, has free safe, lovely staff and best of all close to everything: Zabars, good restaurants, parks, bus across Central Park to the museums, subway on the corner. And, while not exactly cheap it is reasonable. We will try to stay here every time we come to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverside park is a short walk from the hotel and is just lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top