$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
208 reviews
We love it!

This was our second stay at this hotel. To put it shortly, we love it. The rooms are spacious and... See full review

  • Uruguayan scientist
  • May 11, 2014
An Upper West Side Jem...

One of New Yorks better hotels, its not to far away form midtown Manhattan nor is it to close, nice... See full review

  • Gold Circle
  • Apr 2, 2014
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV and video games are provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foriegn Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9783
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
JFK International Airport LaGuardia International Airport Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located on Manhattan's desirable Upper West Side, this hotel occupies a landmark 1904 building 2 blocks from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History; Lincoln Center is 11 blocks south

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 208
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ysubassoon
Ohio
Mar 19, 2014

The best hotel stay I have ever had

The staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful. The room was unusually large for the UWS, comparable in size to a hotel in the Midwest, and I loved that all of the switches had dimmers, so I had complete control over the amount of light in the room and the bathroom. My room was on the 5th floor, so there was minimal street noise. The bed and linens were quite comfortable. The Lucerne offers excellent discounts and is a fantastic value. You'll end up getting a 4 star stay for a 2 or 3 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 1 train is one block away and will get you to most any line/destination. Take advantage of the great public transportation, get an MTA pass, and use the subway instead of paying more for cabs and private cars and avoid all of the traffic, saving you both time and money.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J'Gran
Chicago
Feb 23, 2014

Not Luxurious

This hotel has a great location and is one of the most quiet and peaceful I've ever stayed at. All of my experiences with staff were very nice indeed, although check-in needs work. Over four days, a dozen small things went awry. Granted, people made it right, but training is off here. Or attention to detail at overall level. Still, I would stay here again if I wanted to be on this corner and wanted a quiet stay. FYI, I uncharacteristically did not use fitness or spa and these might be special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the park from Museum Mile. It is a great walk to get there--or take the M79 bus if you must.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
there is no need
las vegas, nevada
Oct 16, 2013

perfect location

as usual a great experience. there is no need to write something else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zehava
Israel
Mar 10, 2013

Old world style

Clean,comfortable and convenient.i. Enjoyed a bistro on 72nd street , a matinee on broadway as well as computer classes on broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Center.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeccaV
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2013

Just what I needed

I used to live on the Upper West Side and had busineses to do in the area. I had always stayed with friends so this was the first time I stayed in a hotel. The Lucerne was completely comfortable and easy. THe room was clean and recently modernized. If I had been with my husband, it would have been a bit small but for me it was perfect. There are good restaurants in the neighborhood now- Love Vai- and eating breadfast at Nice Matin was terriric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vai- across Amsterdam, Kefi in the 80's.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe11
London, England
Dec 30, 2012

Great pre-wedding stay

I stayed at the Lucerne for 3 nights before my wedding. The room was spacious, comfortable, well-designed and just what I needed. The location was excellent. Free drinks for guests in the lobby one afternoon was a nice touch. No additional lounges or separate bar from the adjoining public restaurant, but that didn't really matter. One major problem which needs urgent action by the management was my plastic card room key was turned off in error by the hotel when I popped out to get ice from the machine so I was stranded outside the room an hour before my wedding. The reception staff refused to let me back in the room without ID, which was of course locked in the room, even though they acknowledged it was the hotel's mistake. I would have missed my wedding had I not miraculously been able to get hold of my passport. Staff were unsympathetic and hostile. An unacceptable blot on an otherwise excellent hotel, needing urgent attention by the management/owner .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge CT
Jul 16, 2011

Lucerne

I came in from CT and this was the easiest in and out I have experienced. I got off on the 79th street exit of the West Side Highway, and pulled into a garage directly opposite the hotel. The hotel was tidy, reasonably sized room, and an excellent price for the quality (for NYC of course). A bit of noise from the in room A/C, but not enough to keep me awake. The restaurant downstairs is a pleasant bistro. A very pleasant experience, and one I would certainly do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge CT
Jul 16, 2011

Lucerne

I came in from CT and this was the easiest in and out I have experienced. I got off on the 79th street exit of the West Side Highway, and pulled into a garage directly opposite the hotel. The hotel was tidy, reasonably sized room, and an excellent price for the quality (for NYC of course). A bit of noise from the in room A/C, but not enough to keep me awake. The restaurant downstairs is a pleasant bistro. A very pleasant experience, and one I would certainly do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharonia
Oberlin, Ohio
Mar 20, 2011

Love Lucerne

This was my second stay at this hotel. It's wonderful. My sister and I had a beautiful big room on the 12th floor, with 2 windows overlooking the city. It's clean, comfortable, has free safe, lovely staff and best of all close to everything: Zabars, good restaurants, parks, bus across Central Park to the museums, subway on the corner. And, while not exactly cheap it is reasonable. We will try to stay here every time we come to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverside park is a short walk from the hotel and is just lovely.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharonia
Oberlin, Ohio
Mar 20, 2011

Love Lucerne

This was my second stay at this hotel. It's wonderful. My sister and I had a beautiful big room on the 12th floor, with 2 windows overlooking the city. It's clean, comfortable, has free safe, lovely staff and best of all close to everything: Zabars, good restaurants, parks, bus across Central Park to the museums, subway on the corner. And, while not exactly cheap it is reasonable. We will try to stay here every time we come to NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverside park is a short walk from the hotel and is just lovely.

Back to menu Return to top