$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
167 reviews
Consistently Excellent

I always book this hotel for family when they come to visit me and while I was living away from NYC... See full review

  • The Peanut
  • Oct 3, 2014
Very happy with this hotel! Recommended

This hotel is friendly, clean and in a great location. It is a little small but big enough for 2... See full review

  • ChristyLR
  • Aug 11, 2014
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV and video games are provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foriegn Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9783
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
JFK International Airport LaGuardia International Airport Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located on Manhattan's desirable Upper West Side, this hotel occupies a landmark 1904 building 2 blocks from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History; Lincoln Center is 11 blocks south

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 167
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Peanut
Business
New York, New York
Oct 3, 2014

Consistently Excellent

I always book this hotel for family when they come to visit me and while I was living away from NYC I would stay here when necessary. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and very comfortable. It is quiet at night. Plus, the location is fantastic. Nestled on Amsterdam Ave near a host of fantastic restaurants and bakeries, as well as Central Park and the subway stop. This is my favorite hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmwapohh
Business
England
Sep 4, 2014

You don't go to NY to sit in your hotel room

You can walk to Central Park, Natural History museum, Met, Guggenheim in one direction, or to the Hudson River the other direction. There are 2 tube lines minutes away to get down town and back. Plenty of places to eat on Amsterdam and Columbus Avenues, didn't have a bad meal and didn't feel like we were in tourist traps. There is a Trader Joe at 72st tube, minutes away. Cannot fault the hotel, every thing good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese and caramel pop corn from Trader Joes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiandongnyc
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 2, 2014

Family summer stay

The hotel is very conveniently located, just 1 block away from subway 1/2/3. It is only 2 avenues away from Central Park, history museum and the new science museum, where you can find Subway A/C/E too. It takes only 10min walk to the riverside park, which is also very pleasant in summer. The hotel room is not big but is very clean. Staffs are friendly. We had a wonderful stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a convenient grocery store right at the corner of the Amsterdam and 79th. It's a convenient place to get bottled water, drink, some light dinner etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TerryW24
Business
Brandon, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Great hotel, staff and location!

The staff was extremely courteous from the moment we stepped in. They gave us a small upgrade since I asked to be upgraded to a suite but had no availability. I was willing to pay but they didn't charge me since it was my birthday. The room was small since we had our children but in NY, it was considered above average and was a great value. Location could not have been better. We had multiple great restaurants, bagel shops, subway and liquor stores within 5 mins walking distance. What can I say, I would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk through the park and you're right at the natural history museum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jntblue
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2014

great hotel, amazing location

We stayed at The Lucerne while visiting NYC for a work trip with the family tagging along and the hotel was perfect for us. Amazing huge room (esp. for NYC), with views even. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It would be difficult to beat the location so close to Central Park, the Natural History Museum, of course subway, Riverside Park, Zabars! Will definitely try to stay there again if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGV escape
Business
South Texas
Jun 8, 2014

hotel desk staff was inconsiderate

Upon late arrival to our hotel that was due to an emergency landing made by our plane during flight to NYC, the gentleman that received us in the lobby began lectureing me about not notifying them that we would be late and that it is the policy of the hotel that guests do so or they may loose their reservation. It was 5AM I was stressed my family was tired and hungry and we were not expecting that kind of reception. Otherwise, our experience at the hotel was outstanding and the rest of the staff was very helpful and courteous. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Commander
Business
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Jun 1, 2014

Our second visit, there will be a third!

We first stayed here in 2007 and returned this time to celebrate family special occasions. We loved the location and quality of the hotel and will return again in the future - hopefully sooner than this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of lovely small places to eat along Amsterdam Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob from Virginia
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 18, 2014

Will stay here again.

Great location, helpful/friendly staff, good restaurant, quiet, tasteful decor, hot water in short supply during mid-morning showers. Drawer space and closet space in suite are a bit limited. Lots of charm in this older facility--will certainly plan on returning here, and talked to other guests who have stayed here 10 times. Loved the close proximity to subway, on a line that went where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gold Circle
Business
Ireland
Apr 2, 2014

An Upper West Side Jem...

One of New Yorks better hotels, its not to far away form midtown Manhattan nor is it to close, nice quiet area, Staff all there to help you and more then willing to help. I recommend this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The last Grays Papaya in Manhattan is only ten or so blocks away. Best hotdogs in New York and extremely cheap...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racin' Robert
Business
K.C.
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect

Enjoyed our stay. So much nicer than a mid-town, Times Square location. Nice furnisihings and fixtures. Elvevators fairly prompt. We want to stay here again. Would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top