$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
175 reviews
Excellent Hotel, Exellent Staff, Excellent Service

Hotel Lucerne couldnt have done any more for us when we stayed there to celebrate my husbands 50th... See full review

  • silverstreamgirl
  • Dec 17, 2014
Very pleased

This was one of the best hotels I've stay at, the staff were realy helpful, room nice and clean, I... See full review

  • Thunder
  • Dec 14, 2014
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV and video games are provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foriegn Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracey C.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Fabulous Experience!

Our experience at the Lucerne Hotel was fabulous. The location was perfect as there was a subway station at the end of the block (79th west and Broadway). The staff were friendly and helpful. They made us feel so important - hailed a taxi for us, took our photo, opened doors, delivered luggage. The room itself was not very big but it had two very comfortable beds with luxury pillows and bedding. It was immaculately clean. Aveeda products were in the bathroom. The water pressure was very strong in the shower. The building was old and beautiful yet still modernized and updated. When I go back to NYC, I plan to stay here each time. The area where the hotel is located is in a quieter location of the city, only 2 blocks from Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father and fan of four
Business
Warren, OH
Nov 25, 2014

Great location and spacious room

The staff was excellent, and the suite was unusually large for NYC. Everything was in excellent shape. The restaurant next door was very good, although its menu was a little too creative for my younger children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have children, get to Sugar and Plumm for a meal. The food is excellent, the decor is fun for kids, and the baked goods and candies are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TPO Traveler
Business
Virginia
Nov 16, 2014

Great location in Upper West side

The Lucern is located in a great place on the upper west side. My daughter lives a half of block away and makes it very convenient. The staff is very professional and I felt very welcomed during my stay. The restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast and I have enjoyed dinner there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You really don't need to go anywhere other than the Hotel to get a good meal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Peanut
Business
New York, New York
Oct 3, 2014

Consistently Excellent

I always book this hotel for family when they come to visit me and while I was living away from NYC I would stay here when necessary. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and very comfortable. It is quiet at night. Plus, the location is fantastic. Nestled on Amsterdam Ave near a host of fantastic restaurants and bakeries, as well as Central Park and the subway stop. This is my favorite hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmwapohh
Business
England
Sep 4, 2014

You don't go to NY to sit in your hotel room

You can walk to Central Park, Natural History museum, Met, Guggenheim in one direction, or to the Hudson River the other direction. There are 2 tube lines minutes away to get down town and back. Plenty of places to eat on Amsterdam and Columbus Avenues, didn't have a bad meal and didn't feel like we were in tourist traps. There is a Trader Joe at 72st tube, minutes away. Cannot fault the hotel, every thing good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese and caramel pop corn from Trader Joes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiandongnyc
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 2, 2014

Family summer stay

The hotel is very conveniently located, just 1 block away from subway 1/2/3. It is only 2 avenues away from Central Park, history museum and the new science museum, where you can find Subway A/C/E too. It takes only 10min walk to the riverside park, which is also very pleasant in summer. The hotel room is not big but is very clean. Staffs are friendly. We had a wonderful stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a convenient grocery store right at the corner of the Amsterdam and 79th. It's a convenient place to get bottled water, drink, some light dinner etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TerryW24
Business
Brandon, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Great hotel, staff and location!

The staff was extremely courteous from the moment we stepped in. They gave us a small upgrade since I asked to be upgraded to a suite but had no availability. I was willing to pay but they didn't charge me since it was my birthday. The room was small since we had our children but in NY, it was considered above average and was a great value. Location could not have been better. We had multiple great restaurants, bagel shops, subway and liquor stores within 5 mins walking distance. What can I say, I would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk through the park and you're right at the natural history museum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jntblue
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2014

great hotel, amazing location

We stayed at The Lucerne while visiting NYC for a work trip with the family tagging along and the hotel was perfect for us. Amazing huge room (esp. for NYC), with views even. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It would be difficult to beat the location so close to Central Park, the Natural History Museum, of course subway, Riverside Park, Zabars! Will definitely try to stay there again if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGV escape
Business
South Texas
Jun 8, 2014

hotel desk staff was inconsiderate

Upon late arrival to our hotel that was due to an emergency landing made by our plane during flight to NYC, the gentleman that received us in the lobby began lectureing me about not notifying them that we would be late and that it is the policy of the hotel that guests do so or they may loose their reservation. It was 5AM I was stressed my family was tired and hungry and we were not expecting that kind of reception. Otherwise, our experience at the hotel was outstanding and the rest of the staff was very helpful and courteous. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Commander
Business
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Jun 1, 2014

Our second visit, there will be a third!

We first stayed here in 2007 and returned this time to celebrate family special occasions. We loved the location and quality of the hotel and will return again in the future - hopefully sooner than this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of lovely small places to eat along Amsterdam Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top