$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
208 reviews
We love it!

This was our second stay at this hotel. To put it shortly, we love it. The rooms are spacious and... See full review

  • Uruguayan scientist
  • May 11, 2014
An Upper West Side Jem...

One of New Yorks better hotels, its not to far away form midtown Manhattan nor is it to close, nice... See full review

  • Gold Circle
  • Apr 2, 2014
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV and video games are provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foriegn Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7832 -73.9783
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
JFK International Airport LaGuardia International Airport Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located on Manhattan's desirable Upper West Side, this hotel occupies a landmark 1904 building 2 blocks from Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History; Lincoln Center is 11 blocks south

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 208
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR415
Salina, Kansas
Jul 6, 2014

Five nights on Upper West Side

My husband and I travel to NY at least once a year but had never stayed on the Upper West Side. We wanted fewer crowds and more of a neighborhood feel, yet conveniently located near Central Park and subways.and the Lucerne was perfect. When we didn't feel like walking, the 1 and D trains were both very close. The hotel is older and the room we stayed in was smaller than we were used to, but very clean and cozy. My only complaint was the disinterested staff. We never felt like desk clerks or doormen were interested in our comfort and they never even spoke to us unless we spoke first. Doormen didn't have much to do and were rarely at the door. Nonetheless, the awesome location and good value will bring us back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a quick snack in the evening, Insomnia Cookie is right across the street on Amsterdam. Tasty, cheap cookies are only a short walk away.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ct. Couple
Connecticut
Jun 12, 2014

Small Place in the Big Apple

As I approached the hotel I was impressed by it's exterior appearance. Even the man greeting us at the door made me feel I had found a great place to stay. That is when it ended. The front desk was small, unimpressive and proudly displayed a dead rose floral arrangement. The desk attendance were indifferent in our welcome. The room we were assigned was small and adjacent to an over crowded room of loud children. I noticed the hotel seemed to have several young kids as guests. The management was happy to provide another room for us. Once again the room was small even by NYC standards. It was clean and nicely decorated. The tv was small and while we told the room had a coffee maker we never found one. I guess if you are on a budget and plan to spend little time in the room The Lucerne is an ok place to stay. I don't think I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent streets off great dining and shopping. People often miss the west side experience. I think that is a mistake. Walking from 60th to 85th street you will find many pleasant surprises.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uruguayan scientist
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 11, 2014

We love it!

This was our second stay at this hotel. To put it shortly, we love it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. Since it was our second stay, they upgraded our room and provided us with some extra appliances. The area is wonderful and quiet, yet close by public transport to most of Manhattan attractions. It is only a few blocks away from the Central Park and the Museum of Natural History, two of our favorite places in NYC. Also, there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Museum of Natural History and Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wensly
Austin, Tx
Apr 21, 2014

Nothing "upper" west side about it

The outside historic aspect of the building and the hotel's location are the only good things about this hotel in my opinion. Room size, even for New York, was small--at least the superior queen we had. Coffee maker was not in room, as described. Neither were robes, although not specifically meantioned, were assumed for a hotel that charged $339 for a single queen bed. Hotel concierge never answered the phone once in all the times we tried to reach her. Our particular room on the 6 th floor looked out between two other buildings and had virtually no lighht in the room. Worse thing about the entire two day stay was that they did not change our sheets. We only discovered this at close to midnight when we returned back and turned back the sheets to leftover croissant crumbs. I called downstairs and asked why they hadn't been changed and was told "you have to ask". NO where is there a notation of this in the room. Towels that we hung up to reuse are expected, but sheets?? We were so disguisted at this and nothing could be done about it at midnight. For $339, change the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
myrtlej
hereford
Apr 19, 2014

great hotel

great hotel in a good area close to central park ,lots of good restaurants including several really good vegetarian/vegan and the hop on hop off bus routes asked for a quiet room and had a perfect nights sleep good value and lovely staff happy to recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

must see the 9/11 memorial - emotional and informative

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not really
Chicago
Apr 14, 2014

Nice small room

All wonderful with a lovely lobby. No in room coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't use your 15% off coupon for bfast at the restaurant adjoining the hotel if you only order cappuccino at the bar. El Dente down the street is nice.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbweiner
Santa Monica
Mar 31, 2014

The Lucerne

A small, quite hotel on the upper west side. Near subways and transportation. Two minutes from Times Square – close to the Beacon Theater and a few blocks from the park. The only downside is that the rooms are rather small – but this is New York. I am tired of the large noisy crowded massive tourist hotels – this is completely opposite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mississippi Travels
Jackson, Mississippi
Mar 21, 2014

Great Room! Clean! Friendly Staff! Great Location!

Staff was courteous and prompt about all of our needs. Room was VERY clean and nicely furnished!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabar's Cafe is a great place to grab breakfast for a coffee and croissant or any of their breakfast items.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher Howard
Jackson, Mississippi
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect hotel!

Always felt like I was royality at Lucerne. The staff were very nice and went above and beyond my expectations!!!! And it's right by the red line subway! Love love love. Can't wait to stay there again!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabarrs right done the street has the best breakfast sandwich in the world. Ham and cheese crossant. Yummmmmmm!

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanne Elyse
Chappaqua, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Good tourist spot

Comfortable, pleasant, good value for money, Very nice staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top