$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patient Father
Australia
Dec 29, 2012

Family

Perfect location.Staff very friendly and helpful.Excellent security.50 metres from subway.1 block from Central Park.Quiet safe area.6 minutes on subway to Times Square.Perfect for family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ysubassoon
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2014

The best hotel stay I have ever had

The staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful. The room was unusually large for the UWS, comparable in size to a hotel in the Midwest, and I loved that all of the switches had dimmers, so I had complete control over the amount of light in the room and the bathroom. My room was on the 5th floor, so there was minimal street noise. The bed and linens were quite comfortable. The Lucerne offers excellent discounts and is a fantastic value. You'll end up getting a 4 star stay for a 2 or 3 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 1 train is one block away and will get you to most any line/destination. Take advantage of the great public transportation, get an MTA pass, and use the subway instead of paying more for cabs and private cars and avoid all of the traffic, saving you both time and money.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher Howard
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect hotel!

Always felt like I was royality at Lucerne. The staff were very nice and went above and beyond my expectations!!!! And it's right by the red line subway! Love love love. Can't wait to stay there again!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabarrs right done the street has the best breakfast sandwich in the world. Ham and cheese crossant. Yummmmmmm!

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farmer Kristin
Business
Freehold, NJ
Mar 3, 2014

Convenient, nice room in NYC

I had a conference in NYC for the weekend. I didn't spend much time in the hotel or hotel room but it is convenient to get to, has comfortable beds, and everything you need. It was quiet, clean and the staff was very friendly, even hailing us a cab. Worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racin' Robert
Business
K.C.
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect

Enjoyed our stay. So much nicer than a mid-town, Times Square location. Nice furnisihings and fixtures. Elvevators fairly prompt. We want to stay here again. Would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rustydog99
Business
Newbury, UK
Feb 24, 2014

Family Short Break

Great location near Central Park and Natural History Museum. 79th St Subway is also very close. Friendly staff, small but very clean rooms, comfy beds. Not too noisy either. Good shower. We visited the the following : Central Park, Ground Zero, Times Sq, Empire State, Grand Central St, Brooklyn Bridge, Staten Island plus a few others. Our top tips - buy a Metrocard for the week, go on the Staten Island Ferry (free) for great views of the Statue of Liberty and Manhattan. Don't eat near Times Square (pricey) Overall a great holiday & hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use the Staten Island Ferry - its free and the snacks on board are reasonably priced. Don't miss Central Park.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J'Gran
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2014

Not Luxurious

This hotel has a great location and is one of the most quiet and peaceful I've ever stayed at. All of my experiences with staff were very nice indeed, although check-in needs work. Over four days, a dozen small things went awry. Granted, people made it right, but training is off here. Or attention to detail at overall level. Still, I would stay here again if I wanted to be on this corner and wanted a quiet stay. FYI, I uncharacteristically did not use fitness or spa and these might be special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the park from Museum Mile. It is a great walk to get there--or take the M79 bus if you must.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanne Elyse
Business
Chappaqua, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Good tourist spot

Comfortable, pleasant, good value for money, Very nice staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaryBee
Business
Water Mill, NY
Feb 17, 2014

The Lucerne Hotel

For the money, The Lucerne is a very nice hotel to stay at in New York City. Over the last three years I've stayed there quite often. The staff is very nice and very helpful, and if you are doing anything on The Upper West Side, the location is excellent. I have recommended this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makinmy Wayback
Business
San Antonio. TX
Feb 10, 2014

2nd Time. Good as the first.

We've now stayed in August and February and have thoroughly enjoyed both times. Nice Matin is excellent dining (have tried all three meals as well as just cocktails), but it's well situated near any number of other places so we didn't feel obliged to eat there just because we were staying there.. Access to subways and Central Park was excellent and the staff (including desk and door) were extremely courteous and professional. Great boutique stay with reasonably-priced charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irving Farm for coffee/breakfast. Half block across the street on 79th.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shesheshe
Business
northport new york
Feb 10, 2014

perfect girls night

great location near nice restaurants and bars. great place very clean and comfortable. i would deff stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

bourbon street was a fun place

Back to menu Return to top