$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diva pipes
Family
Bellingham, WA
Feb 27, 2013

Lincoln Center to Upper Westside perfection

I stayed here 4 years ago with my mom during school auditions and had a wonderful, comfortable stay, my first in NYC. This time my whole family stayed while visiting me at school. 4 years later everything is still very professional, comfortable and very friendly. All doormen, bellmen, concierge, front desk and housekeeping staff were very courteous, polite and friendly. Tipping them was a pleasure. Even the weather this time was nice. We'll be back and have recommended this hotel to other family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jntblue
Family
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2014

great hotel, amazing location

We stayed at The Lucerne while visiting NYC for a work trip with the family tagging along and the hotel was perfect for us. Amazing huge room (esp. for NYC), with views even. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It would be difficult to beat the location so close to Central Park, the Natural History Museum, of course subway, Riverside Park, Zabars! Will definitely try to stay there again if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evde
Belgium
Jun 15, 2014

Well Located, Nice Rooms

Nicely decorated rooms. Rooms are however smaller than what you normally get in other cities... Staff was friendly. Hotel is well located (about 50m from metro).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ct. Couple
Couples
Connecticut
Jun 12, 2014

Small Place in the Big Apple

As I approached the hotel I was impressed by it's exterior appearance. Even the man greeting us at the door made me feel I had found a great place to stay. That is when it ended. The front desk was small, unimpressive and proudly displayed a dead rose floral arrangement. The desk attendance were indifferent in our welcome. The room we were assigned was small and adjacent to an over crowded room of loud children. I noticed the hotel seemed to have several young kids as guests. The management was happy to provide another room for us. Once again the room was small even by NYC standards. It was clean and nicely decorated. The tv was small and while we told the room had a coffee maker we never found one. I guess if you are on a budget and plan to spend little time in the room The Lucerne is an ok place to stay. I don't think I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent streets off great dining and shopping. People often miss the west side experience. I think that is a mistake. Walking from 60th to 85th street you will find many pleasant surprises.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGV escape
Family
South Texas
Jun 8, 2014

hotel desk staff was inconsiderate

Upon late arrival to our hotel that was due to an emergency landing made by our plane during flight to NYC, the gentleman that received us in the lobby began lectureing me about not notifying them that we would be late and that it is the policy of the hotel that guests do so or they may loose their reservation. It was 5AM I was stressed my family was tired and hungry and we were not expecting that kind of reception. Otherwise, our experience at the hotel was outstanding and the rest of the staff was very helpful and courteous. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superduperduperrmom
Friends
Maryland
Jun 5, 2014

NYC stay

this was a great experience, great location and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Commander
Family
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Jun 1, 2014

Our second visit, there will be a third!

We first stayed here in 2007 and returned this time to celebrate family special occasions. We loved the location and quality of the hotel and will return again in the future - hopefully sooner than this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of lovely small places to eat along Amsterdam Avenue.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uruguayan scientist
Couples
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 11, 2014

We love it!

This was our second stay at this hotel. To put it shortly, we love it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. Since it was our second stay, they upgraded our room and provided us with some extra appliances. The area is wonderful and quiet, yet close by public transport to most of Manhattan attractions. It is only a few blocks away from the Central Park and the Museum of Natural History, two of our favorite places in NYC. Also, there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Museum of Natural History and Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wensly
Couples
Austin, Tx
Apr 21, 2014

Nothing "upper" west side about it

The outside historic aspect of the building and the hotel's location are the only good things about this hotel in my opinion. Room size, even for New York, was small--at least the superior queen we had. Coffee maker was not in room, as described. Neither were robes, although not specifically meantioned, were assumed for a hotel that charged $339 for a single queen bed. Hotel concierge never answered the phone once in all the times we tried to reach her. Our particular room on the 6 th floor looked out between two other buildings and had virtually no lighht in the room. Worse thing about the entire two day stay was that they did not change our sheets. We only discovered this at close to midnight when we returned back and turned back the sheets to leftover croissant crumbs. I called downstairs and asked why they hadn't been changed and was told "you have to ask". NO where is there a notation of this in the room. Towels that we hung up to reuse are expected, but sheets?? We were so disguisted at this and nothing could be done about it at midnight. For $339, change the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
myrtlej
Couples
hereford
Apr 19, 2014

great hotel

great hotel in a good area close to central park ,lots of good restaurants including several really good vegetarian/vegan and the hop on hop off bus routes asked for a quiet room and had a perfect nights sleep good value and lovely staff happy to recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

must see the 9/11 memorial - emotional and informative

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob from Virginia
Family
Richmond, VA
Apr 18, 2014

Will stay here again.

Great location, helpful/friendly staff, good restaurant, quiet, tasteful decor, hot water in short supply during mid-morning showers. Drawer space and closet space in suite are a bit limited. Lots of charm in this older facility--will certainly plan on returning here, and talked to other guests who have stayed here 10 times. Loved the close proximity to subway, on a line that went where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top