$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbweiner
Business
Santa Monica
Mar 31, 2014

The Lucerne

A small, quite hotel on the upper west side. Near subways and transportation. Two minutes from Times Square – close to the Beacon Theater and a few blocks from the park. The only downside is that the rooms are rather small – but this is New York. I am tired of the large noisy crowded massive tourist hotels – this is completely opposite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stevysam
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Mar 30, 2014

Can't be beat

The location is perfect and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. I strongly recommend this hotel. Only issue, though not for me, is that it doesn't appear to be handicap accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice Matin is located in the building with direct access from the lobby for breakfast and a very short outside walk to the corner for lunch and dinner. The food is wonderful and fairly priced for NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mississippi Travels
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Mar 21, 2014

Great Room! Clean! Friendly Staff! Great Location!

Staff was courteous and prompt about all of our needs. Room was VERY clean and nicely furnished!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabar's Cafe is a great place to grab breakfast for a coffee and croissant or any of their breakfast items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ysubassoon
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2014

The best hotel stay I have ever had

The staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful. The room was unusually large for the UWS, comparable in size to a hotel in the Midwest, and I loved that all of the switches had dimmers, so I had complete control over the amount of light in the room and the bathroom. My room was on the 5th floor, so there was minimal street noise. The bed and linens were quite comfortable. The Lucerne offers excellent discounts and is a fantastic value. You'll end up getting a 4 star stay for a 2 or 3 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 1 train is one block away and will get you to most any line/destination. Take advantage of the great public transportation, get an MTA pass, and use the subway instead of paying more for cabs and private cars and avoid all of the traffic, saving you both time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher Howard
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect hotel!

Always felt like I was royality at Lucerne. The staff were very nice and went above and beyond my expectations!!!! And it's right by the red line subway! Love love love. Can't wait to stay there again!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabarrs right done the street has the best breakfast sandwich in the world. Ham and cheese crossant. Yummmmmmm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farmer Kristin
Business
Freehold, NJ
Mar 3, 2014

Convenient, nice room in NYC

I had a conference in NYC for the weekend. I didn't spend much time in the hotel or hotel room but it is convenient to get to, has comfortable beds, and everything you need. It was quiet, clean and the staff was very friendly, even hailing us a cab. Worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Racin' Robert
Business
K.C.
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect

Enjoyed our stay. So much nicer than a mid-town, Times Square location. Nice furnisihings and fixtures. Elvevators fairly prompt. We want to stay here again. Would recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rustydog99
Business
Newbury, UK
Feb 24, 2014

Family Short Break

Great location near Central Park and Natural History Museum. 79th St Subway is also very close. Friendly staff, small but very clean rooms, comfy beds. Not too noisy either. Good shower. We visited the the following : Central Park, Ground Zero, Times Sq, Empire State, Grand Central St, Brooklyn Bridge, Staten Island plus a few others. Our top tips - buy a Metrocard for the week, go on the Staten Island Ferry (free) for great views of the Statue of Liberty and Manhattan. Don't eat near Times Square (pricey) Overall a great holiday & hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use the Staten Island Ferry - its free and the snacks on board are reasonably priced. Don't miss Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J'Gran
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2014

Not Luxurious

This hotel has a great location and is one of the most quiet and peaceful I've ever stayed at. All of my experiences with staff were very nice indeed, although check-in needs work. Over four days, a dozen small things went awry. Granted, people made it right, but training is off here. Or attention to detail at overall level. Still, I would stay here again if I wanted to be on this corner and wanted a quiet stay. FYI, I uncharacteristically did not use fitness or spa and these might be special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the park from Museum Mile. It is a great walk to get there--or take the M79 bus if you must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanne Elyse
Business
Chappaqua, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Good tourist spot

Comfortable, pleasant, good value for money, Very nice staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top