$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TPO Traveler
Business
Virginia
Nov 16, 2014

Great location in Upper West side

The Lucern is located in a great place on the upper west side. My daughter lives a half of block away and makes it very convenient. The staff is very professional and I felt very welcomed during my stay. The restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast and I have enjoyed dinner there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You really don't need to go anywhere other than the Hotel to get a good meal

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
REPDC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

Excellent European-style hotel in NYC

Good location, has more charm than American-style brands Excellent breakfast in hotel restaurant Nice-Matin. Parking available across the street in garage. NYC prices, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restaurant Nice-Matin (named after the Nice newspaper) is worth a visit.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Peanut
Business
New York, New York
Oct 3, 2014

Consistently Excellent

I always book this hotel for family when they come to visit me and while I was living away from NYC I would stay here when necessary. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and very comfortable. It is quiet at night. Plus, the location is fantastic. Nestled on Amsterdam Ave near a host of fantastic restaurants and bakeries, as well as Central Park and the subway stop. This is my favorite hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EK14
Business
London
Sep 16, 2014

Great Hotel, lovely location

really lovely hotel. Nice room overlooking Amsterdam - great location for buses and subway. lots of local shops and restaurants, easy to walk or bus or subway to NY city attractions. To get a 5 * rating Coffee makers as standard in rooms would do as well as free printing in the business centre, and why was everything brown?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunday green market and flea market on Columbus Ave.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U S Open Fan
Business
Arkansas
Sep 6, 2014

Wonderful Location

Couldn't have been better! Great wast side location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zabar

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boca Business Venue
Business
Charlotte NC
Sep 5, 2014

Good Stay and Nice Hotel

First stay at this hotel and I had a really nice one night stay. Convenient for my purposes, nice and helpful staff, and a comfortable room. Great restaurant on the ground level of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmwapohh
Business
England
Sep 4, 2014

You don't go to NY to sit in your hotel room

You can walk to Central Park, Natural History museum, Met, Guggenheim in one direction, or to the Hudson River the other direction. There are 2 tube lines minutes away to get down town and back. Plenty of places to eat on Amsterdam and Columbus Avenues, didn't have a bad meal and didn't feel like we were in tourist traps. There is a Trader Joe at 72st tube, minutes away. Cannot fault the hotel, every thing good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese and caramel pop corn from Trader Joes

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wthdyw
Business
atlanta,ga
Aug 31, 2014

The nicest hotel manager anywhere!

There was a mixup with another person's reservation and they did everything they could to make it up to me including giving me a bigger room than I paid for. The room was very clean when I checked in but the maid service was a little less diligent by the 5th day. I always stay here and I will continue to do so. Even the restaurant attached, but not owned ,by the hotel is great. The room comes with a coffee maker, an umbrella and once a week the hotel serves wine and cheese in the lobby. There is also a spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

There are more entertainment opportunities for children on the west side of NYC such as Vital children's theatre,CMOMA Children's Museum of Art and places to paint and make sculptures for all ages. The west side is friendlier and family oriented while still having entertainment and restaurants for adults.

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Visitor 14
Business
Long Island, New York
Aug 17, 2014

Good location for Museum of Natural History

The location was great for the museum. The neighborhood was quiet. The rooms were a good size. When we got back from dinner there was a large roach in our room. They did not have another room and changed our room to a suite on a different floor. Under normal circumstances being "upgraded" to a suite would be awesome. However it still felt uneasy to sleep there after the cockroach experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChristyLR
Business
Fresno, California
Aug 11, 2014

Very happy with this hotel! Recommended

This hotel is friendly, clean and in a great location. It is a little small but big enough for 2 and the feeling of cleanliness and safety makes the size worth it all! Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend staying away from tours (busses, bikes, etc.). You can see much more on your own and just walking or bike riding you will run into something fun to see around every corner.

Back to menu Return to top