$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
171 reviews
Very pleased

This was one of the best hotels I've stay at, the staff were realy helpful, room nice and clean, I... See full review

  • Thunder
  • Dec 14, 2014
Great hotel

I spent 4 nites here. Was a great location and really nice hotel . Staff was very friendly ,... See full review

  • Fun girls trip
  • Dec 3, 2014
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV and video games are provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foriegn Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.
Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ct. Couple
Business
Connecticut
Jun 12, 2014

Small Place in the Big Apple

As I approached the hotel I was impressed by it's exterior appearance. Even the man greeting us at the door made me feel I had found a great place to stay. That is when it ended. The front desk was small, unimpressive and proudly displayed a dead rose floral arrangement. The desk attendance were indifferent in our welcome. The room we were assigned was small and adjacent to an over crowded room of loud children. I noticed the hotel seemed to have several young kids as guests. The management was happy to provide another room for us. Once again the room was small even by NYC standards. It was clean and nicely decorated. The tv was small and while we told the room had a coffee maker we never found one. I guess if you are on a budget and plan to spend little time in the room The Lucerne is an ok place to stay. I don't think I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent streets off great dining and shopping. People often miss the west side experience. I think that is a mistake. Walking from 60th to 85th street you will find many pleasant surprises.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGV escape
Business
South Texas
Jun 8, 2014

hotel desk staff was inconsiderate

Upon late arrival to our hotel that was due to an emergency landing made by our plane during flight to NYC, the gentleman that received us in the lobby began lectureing me about not notifying them that we would be late and that it is the policy of the hotel that guests do so or they may loose their reservation. It was 5AM I was stressed my family was tired and hungry and we were not expecting that kind of reception. Otherwise, our experience at the hotel was outstanding and the rest of the staff was very helpful and courteous. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superduperduperrmom
Business
Maryland
Jun 5, 2014

NYC stay

this was a great experience, great location and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Commander
Business
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Jun 1, 2014

Our second visit, there will be a third!

We first stayed here in 2007 and returned this time to celebrate family special occasions. We loved the location and quality of the hotel and will return again in the future - hopefully sooner than this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of lovely small places to eat along Amsterdam Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uruguayan scientist
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 11, 2014

We love it!

This was our second stay at this hotel. To put it shortly, we love it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, The staff is courteous and extremely helpful. Since it was our second stay, they upgraded our room and provided us with some extra appliances. The area is wonderful and quiet, yet close by public transport to most of Manhattan attractions. It is only a few blocks away from the Central Park and the Museum of Natural History, two of our favorite places in NYC. Also, there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park, Museum of Natural History and Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wensly
Business
Austin, Tx
Apr 21, 2014

Nothing "upper" west side about it

The outside historic aspect of the building and the hotel's location are the only good things about this hotel in my opinion. Room size, even for New York, was small--at least the superior queen we had. Coffee maker was not in room, as described. Neither were robes, although not specifically meantioned, were assumed for a hotel that charged $339 for a single queen bed. Hotel concierge never answered the phone once in all the times we tried to reach her. Our particular room on the 6 th floor looked out between two other buildings and had virtually no lighht in the room. Worse thing about the entire two day stay was that they did not change our sheets. We only discovered this at close to midnight when we returned back and turned back the sheets to leftover croissant crumbs. I called downstairs and asked why they hadn't been changed and was told "you have to ask". NO where is there a notation of this in the room. Towels that we hung up to reuse are expected, but sheets?? We were so disguisted at this and nothing could be done about it at midnight. For $339, change the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
myrtlej
Business
hereford
Apr 19, 2014

great hotel

great hotel in a good area close to central park ,lots of good restaurants including several really good vegetarian/vegan and the hop on hop off bus routes asked for a quiet room and had a perfect nights sleep good value and lovely staff happy to recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

must see the 9/11 memorial - emotional and informative

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob from Virginia
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 18, 2014

Will stay here again.

Great location, helpful/friendly staff, good restaurant, quiet, tasteful decor, hot water in short supply during mid-morning showers. Drawer space and closet space in suite are a bit limited. Lots of charm in this older facility--will certainly plan on returning here, and talked to other guests who have stayed here 10 times. Loved the close proximity to subway, on a line that went where we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not really
Business
Chicago
Apr 14, 2014

Nice small room

All wonderful with a lovely lobby. No in room coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't use your 15% off coupon for bfast at the restaurant adjoining the hotel if you only order cappuccino at the bar. El Dente down the street is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connah
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 3, 2014

Great hotel on the Upper West Side

Hotel rooms in NYC are expensive and small. You've got to expect that. My standard room was small, but not unreasonable. I think it was a good deal in comparison to the other packages out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top