The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb B.
Business
San Jose
May 31, 2015

Nice family trip

Very nice location. Close to central park, museums, subway. Large and comfortable suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uhland
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

New York recalled :a full success

location perfect for tourists taking their time , Unfortunately among the TV programs in the rooms there are no french or german spoken. This in spite of the fact that free ones exist (TV monde (french) and the german Das Erste). A pity for the european tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uhland
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

New York recalled

unfortunately the password change had not been communicated spontaneously. Lack of german and french spoken TV programs (considering that there exist free ones thru satellite)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy S.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Trip to NYC

The Lucerne was wonderful. A small room but elegantly appointed with all the modern amenities. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberto
Business
Suffolk
Mar 23, 2015

Fantastic area hotel just Ok

The area surrounding this hotel is fantastic. Our hotel room felt lie a greenhouse, the window was dripping with condensation and we could not open the window. We ask the hotel to do so & they did. Th bedding on the beds has seen better days and was dusty, My son had a terrible exthma outbreak whilst we were their more than likely brought on by the dusty unwashed over blanket in a humid room. We asked the hotel to recommend a good transfer, they did, we paid up front and they never turned up. The hotel said we would get our money back, we didn't. We are going back tothis area in the Summer as it is so fantastic, we have booked into a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fionnuala K.
Business
N/A
Mar 13, 2015

Great holiday.

Hotel was exactly how we imagined. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of places to eat nearby if you didn't want to head downtown Manhattan. Very close to Central Park if you enjoy walking. All staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rena F.
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 2, 2015

Great customer service

The location of this hotel makes it so convenient for anyone who wants to be in the Upper West Side on NY. There's a subway entrance at the corner which makes it easy to get around the city. The staff is wonderful and helpful and we were happy to stay at this hotel and would definately come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean V.
Business
N/A
Feb 26, 2015

Perfect for us

The room -- while small (but what NYC hotel has big rooms -- was clean, quiet and perfect for us. We loved the hotel's location and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Jimbob
Business
Boston
Feb 23, 2015

Terrific family friendly option, Upper West Side

We stayed at the Lucerne two years ago when our daughters were three, and we had to use a twin stroller to get around. The girls are bigger now, but many of the advantages of the Lucerne still hold for a family with young kids. The location is prime for UWS. It's a block away from the (1) train, and 7 level blocks from the 72nd Street stop, which is handicapped (wheelchair or stroller) accessible and also has (2) and (3) trains. Two blocks away is the American Museum of Natural History and its associated Central Park West subway stop. So, it's a great spot to stay car-free in NYC. There are plenty of terrific dining options in the area, many of which are steps away, deliver straight to your room, or both. Zabar's is two blocks away on Broadway (though we were underwhelmed by our breakfast run there). Cafe Noi is catacorner and does terrific espresso drinks and pastry, and NY Bagels next door is a solid bagel shop. Multiple different regional cuisines are well served also, including Italian (Coppola's West), French (Nice Matin, which you can enter through a back door straight from the hotel), Chinese (the UWS branch of Grand Sichuan), Middle Eastern (Grill 212, with terrific Yemenite bread), and contemporary American (we particularly liked Jacob's Pickles for their beer list, wonderful homemade pickles, and tasty entrees). Trader Joe's has a branch at 72nd and Broadway, which comes in quite handy for shopping for basics without paying standard UWS market prices. For a single room with a family, I'm a big fan of reserving a suite, so that the kids have a separate room where they can play while grownups decompress. The Lucerne has one of the best value suites that I've come across with a convenient Manhattan location, and comes with two flat panel TV sets, a dining area with plates and bowls, utensils, corkscrew, microwave oven, Keurig coffee maker, and mini fridge, two comfy queen beds, a fairly comfortable pre-sheeted sofabed, and a bathroom with reasonable sized tub and Aveda amenities. On the day that we arrived, there was a shortage of queen suites, so we were upgraded to a deluxe queen suite. For an extra $25/night (give or take), this gets you a few critical extra square feet of space (particularly handy when you also have guests in addition to family for dinner or hanging out). An iron with board, two bathrobes, and a loaner umbrella were a lovely added touch, though I don't know if those are deluxe queen specific. Upgrades from 2013 include better TV network (Time Warner basic cable with HBO and some on demand programming), and a faster, more reliable in-room WiFi network with no added surcharges to use same. A neutral issue which I see from my last review is climate control the windows kept an unseasonal February cold out of the room, but in winter or spring, you're dependent on the in-wall heating/cooling system, and it seemed a minor flick of the temperature dial changed the room from boiling to freezing and back, with a middle ground tough to find. And on one day (admittedly, President's Day, ergo a day when multiple people are checking out and presumably everybody is showering), hot water pressure was a problem, though it was totally fine every other night. While we were there, one of the kids succumbed to a stomach bug. The staff were terrific in responding on an early evening by taking away puke-laden sheets and towels and replacing them with clean alternatives. Front desk staff and doormen were consistently friendly and helpful (though MTA subway maps would be useful to have on hand at the front desk). All in all, if you're looking for easy subway accessibility from Penn Station, Upper West Side elegance near a kids-favorite museum, and diverse, tasty culinary offerings, this place is pretty close to perfect. I imagine this will be my go-to hotel for future family NYC adventures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonio D.
Business
N/A
Feb 12, 2015

Nice hotel

I went with my family and everything was ok, clean and big rooms. A Pharmacy a cross the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top