$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
susan s.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Weekend break with friends

1st time at hotel a great location. The only problem we had was a very noisy heating system in the room but every else staff and comfort was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard N.
Business
Van Meter
Jan 12, 2015

Nice get away

Great Hotel-quiet, confortable, safe. Very friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine k.
Business
San Diego
Dec 30, 2014

Loved the hotel and especially the staff!

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Hotel Lucerne, we were traveling for both work and pleasure. We were not the easiest hotel guest because we need so many different things both personal and business. From the moment we arrived until we left everything was exceptional this was in large part due to the excellent staff in the hotel. I feel terrible but I forgot the name of the lady who checked us in. She was so kind and promised my daughter snow and it did snow the very next day as we came out of the Cinderella matinee. I can honestly say our trip was magical. Our room was a one bedroom suite and it was fantastic and very spacious. Perfect for a small family. The hotel is just a short walk to the natural history museum too. We will definitely stay her again! Thank you so very much for such an enjoyable stay and whoever does the hiring here does a great job. Every single staff member went above and beyond what we would have expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracey C.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Fabulous Experience!

Our experience at the Lucerne Hotel was fabulous. The location was perfect as there was a subway station at the end of the block (79th west and Broadway). The staff were friendly and helpful. They made us feel so important - hailed a taxi for us, took our photo, opened doors, delivered luggage. The room itself was not very big but it had two very comfortable beds with luxury pillows and bedding. It was immaculately clean. Aveeda products were in the bathroom. The water pressure was very strong in the shower. The building was old and beautiful yet still modernized and updated. When I go back to NYC, I plan to stay here each time. The area where the hotel is located is in a quieter location of the city, only 2 blocks from Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom W.
Business
Indian Wells
Dec 29, 2014

Family Trip to New York City

Great hotel and location! The staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norman A.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great trip to see Broadway shows.

Excellent for the money. A little bit of a ride into attractions, however, not as chaotic. Staff was excellent and rooms were average size by NYC standards. I would recommend and I will book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trippers
Business
London
Dec 27, 2014

Lovely Christmas Trip

The Lucerne has so many good points. We loved the location. The Upper West Side is very pleasant, beautiful neighbourhood with plenty of good quality restaurants and shops. The subway is a 2 minute walk and around 15 minutes to Times Square. Central Park is on your doorstep. We ate out locally most nights and it was nice to be out of the very busy downtown. The hotel is quite elegant and somewhat old fashioned, but in a good way. The beds were very comfortable, there was a coffee machine and housekeeping was excellent. Probably the biggest drawback is the lack of bar/cafe facilities. The restaurant next door is very nice but it's not actually part of the hotel. There's a small lobby with some chairs but it's really just a waiting area. They've clearly maximised the bedroom space. Overall though a really good location and a very pleasant and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
silverstreamgirl
Business
Bangor
Dec 17, 2014

Excellent Hotel, Exellent Staff, Excellent Service

Hotel Lucerne couldnt have done any more for us when we stayed there to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. They upgraded our room, left white wine on ice and a card for him and turned our bed down every night and left truffles and a card on the pillows, its these littel touches that put them a class above the rest of the hotels. We will definately stay here again and will recommend this hotel to all our family and friends who are considering visiting NYC,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracey C.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Fabulous Experience!

Our experience at the Lucerne Hotel was fabulous. The location was perfect as there was a subway station at the end of the block (79th west and Broadway). The staff were friendly and helpful. They made us feel so important - hailed a taxi for us, took our photo, opened doors, delivered luggage. The room itself was not very big but it had two very comfortable beds with luxury pillows and bedding. It was immaculately clean. Aveeda products were in the bathroom. The water pressure was very strong in the shower. The building was old and beautiful yet still modernized and updated. When I go back to NYC, I plan to stay here each time. The area where the hotel is located is in a quieter location of the city, only 2 blocks from Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norman A.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great trip to see Broadway shows.

Excellent for the money. A little bit of a ride into attractions, however, not as chaotic. Staff was excellent and rooms were average size by NYC standards. I would recommend and I will book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top