$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

The Lucerne Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 201 W 79th Street, New York, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
193 reviews
Great holiday.

Hotel was exactly how we imagined. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of places to eat nearby if... See full review

  • Fionnuala K.
  • Mar 13, 2015
Perfect for us

The room -- while small (but what NYC hotel has big rooms -- was clean, quiet and perfect for us.... See full review

  • Jean V.
  • Feb 26, 2015
This 4-star hotel is 1 block east of the 79th street metro station and west of the Museum of Natural History. The Lucerne Hotel features elegant rooms, on-site spa services and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. A flat-screen TV is provided in every room. Rooms feature light colors and offer luxury bath products and bathrobes. In-room coffee and a work desk as well as irons and hair dryers are also included. The Lucerne Hotel offers the French-Mediterranean restaurant, Nice Matin, which is open all day and serves a weekend brunch. Guests can dine in or on the outdoor patio. Fitness and business facilities are located at the hotel for guest convenience. Also offered via the Concierge are ticket services and child care. Columbia University and Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts are within 2 miles from the hotel. Central Park is just 2 blocks away. Please Note : Foreign Guests are exempted from Taxes. Columbian Guests MUST pay 10% tax per room per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lucerne Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lucerne Hotel New York Rooms

Superior Queen
Superior Queen offers one queen bed with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior King
Superior King offers one king bed with custom-designed hardwood floor entry, walk-in closet, individual climate control, custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk with an executive chair, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, iHome docking station, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system, coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas.
Superior Double
Superior Double offers two double beds with custom-designed nightstand, executive desk, and dresser, individual climate control, in-room safe, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and luggage rack, granite bathroom, bathtub with shower bar and Gilchrist and Soames amenities and hairdryer, flat-screen LCD TV with digital cable channels featuring HBO, Sony dream machine CD and Clock Radio, telephone with voice-mail and wake up system; a coffeemaker with Wolfgang puck coffee and assorted teas is available upon request.
Superior Queen Queen Suite
This 2-room suite with 2 queen beds has a custom-designed nightstand, dresser and executive desk. A loveseat, ottoman and end table are also provided in the parlor. The kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and fine china are in a custom-designed cabinet. This room also features individual climate control, an in-room safe, bathrobes, extra pillows and blankets, umbrella, iron, ironing board and a luggage rack. This room offers a granite bathroom, a bathtub with shower, and Gilchrist and Soames amenities with a hairdryer. Flat-screen HD TVs with digital cable channels featuring HBO are located in the bedroom and the parlor. This room has iHome docking station and a telephone with voicemail and wake up system. A coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck Coffee & Assorted teas are standard in each room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.3 mi
  • Beresford: 0.3 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.4 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.5 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.6 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.6 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.7 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.7 mi
  • Central Park: 0.7 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.7 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.8 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • Studio 54: 1 mi
  • Broadway: 1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • National Academy: 1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.1 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Lucerne Hotel New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fleur the Photographer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 1, 2012

Great location and accommodations

Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make things work for us. Room was very comfortable and cleaned impeccably every day. Location was close to subway, major museums, and Central Park. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Isabella's Restaurant on Columbus Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberto
Business
Suffolk
Mar 23, 2015

Fantastic area hotel just Ok

The area surrounding this hotel is fantastic. Our hotel room felt lie a greenhouse, the window was dripping with condensation and we could not open the window. We ask the hotel to do so & they did. Th bedding on the beds has seen better days and was dusty, My son had a terrible exthma outbreak whilst we were their more than likely brought on by the dusty unwashed over blanket in a humid room. We asked the hotel to recommend a good transfer, they did, we paid up front and they never turned up. The hotel said we would get our money back, we didn't. We are going back tothis area in the Summer as it is so fantastic, we have booked into a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fionnuala K.
Business
N/A
Mar 13, 2015

Great holiday.

Hotel was exactly how we imagined. Very clean and comfortable. Plenty of places to eat nearby if you didn't want to head downtown Manhattan. Very close to Central Park if you enjoy walking. All staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rena F.
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 2, 2015

Great customer service

The location of this hotel makes it so convenient for anyone who wants to be in the Upper West Side on NY. There's a subway entrance at the corner which makes it easy to get around the city. The staff is wonderful and helpful and we were happy to stay at this hotel and would definately come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean V.
Business
N/A
Feb 26, 2015

Perfect for us

The room -- while small (but what NYC hotel has big rooms -- was clean, quiet and perfect for us. We loved the hotel's location and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Jimbob
Business
Boston
Feb 23, 2015

Terrific family friendly option, Upper West Side

We stayed at the Lucerne two years ago when our daughters were three, and we had to use a twin stroller to get around. The girls are bigger now, but many of the advantages of the Lucerne still hold for a family with young kids. The location is prime for UWS. It's a block away from the (1) train, and 7 level blocks from the 72nd Street stop, which is handicapped (wheelchair or stroller) accessible and also has (2) and (3) trains. Two blocks away is the American Museum of Natural History and its associated Central Park West subway stop. So, it's a great spot to stay car-free in NYC. There are plenty of terrific dining options in the area, many of which are steps away, deliver straight to your room, or both. Zabar's is two blocks away on Broadway (though we were underwhelmed by our breakfast run there). Cafe Noi is catacorner and does terrific espresso drinks and pastry, and NY Bagels next door is a solid bagel shop. Multiple different regional cuisines are well served also, including Italian (Coppola's West), French (Nice Matin, which you can enter through a back door straight from the hotel), Chinese (the UWS branch of Grand Sichuan), Middle Eastern (Grill 212, with terrific Yemenite bread), and contemporary American (we particularly liked Jacob's Pickles for their beer list, wonderful homemade pickles, and tasty entrees). Trader Joe's has a branch at 72nd and Broadway, which comes in quite handy for shopping for basics without paying standard UWS market prices. For a single room with a family, I'm a big fan of reserving a suite, so that the kids have a separate room where they can play while grownups decompress. The Lucerne has one of the best value suites that I've come across with a convenient Manhattan location, and comes with two flat panel TV sets, a dining area with plates and bowls, utensils, corkscrew, microwave oven, Keurig coffee maker, and mini fridge, two comfy queen beds, a fairly comfortable pre-sheeted sofabed, and a bathroom with reasonable sized tub and Aveda amenities. On the day that we arrived, there was a shortage of queen suites, so we were upgraded to a deluxe queen suite. For an extra $25/night (give or take), this gets you a few critical extra square feet of space (particularly handy when you also have guests in addition to family for dinner or hanging out). An iron with board, two bathrobes, and a loaner umbrella were a lovely added touch, though I don't know if those are deluxe queen specific. Upgrades from 2013 include better TV network (Time Warner basic cable with HBO and some on demand programming), and a faster, more reliable in-room WiFi network with no added surcharges to use same. A neutral issue which I see from my last review is climate control the windows kept an unseasonal February cold out of the room, but in winter or spring, you're dependent on the in-wall heating/cooling system, and it seemed a minor flick of the temperature dial changed the room from boiling to freezing and back, with a middle ground tough to find. And on one day (admittedly, President's Day, ergo a day when multiple people are checking out and presumably everybody is showering), hot water pressure was a problem, though it was totally fine every other night. While we were there, one of the kids succumbed to a stomach bug. The staff were terrific in responding on an early evening by taking away puke-laden sheets and towels and replacing them with clean alternatives. Front desk staff and doormen were consistently friendly and helpful (though MTA subway maps would be useful to have on hand at the front desk). All in all, if you're looking for easy subway accessibility from Penn Station, Upper West Side elegance near a kids-favorite museum, and diverse, tasty culinary offerings, this place is pretty close to perfect. I imagine this will be my go-to hotel for future family NYC adventures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonio D.
Business
N/A
Feb 12, 2015

Nice hotel

I went with my family and everything was ok, clean and big rooms. A Pharmacy a cross the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tea Drinking Grandma
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Wonderful location.

The hotel is on 79th between Broadway and Amsterdam. It is one block from the Natural History Museum and two from Central Park. The subway is less than a block away. Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy grandmother
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Chustmas visit with son and family

The Lucerne is a save walk day and night to our son's apartment on West End Ave and I've stayed there several times. It's not only close and easy for me to get to and from my grandchildren!! and their wonderful parents but it is comfortable and very nice. I recommend the Lucerne for it is close to public transportation and within walking distance to good and interesting cafes and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia W.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

New York Getaway

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The staff was welcoming, the room very nice, clean, quiet and quality. The doorman was especially helpful with our transportation to the airport. The location is close to the subway, restaurants, and the museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lucerne Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ from LA
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

family trip

Very comfortable. As expected and reviewed. We traveled with a 1 year old and it worked out great. Fridge and microwave were very nice to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top