$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Kimberly Hotel

4 stars
145 East 50th Street, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
57 reviews
A wonderful night

Very comfortable and pleasant; a nice weekend getaway. See full review

  • JRSL
  • Jun 9, 2014
Beautiful rooms, gracious staff

We stayed at the Hotel Kimberly for a four-night vacation. The location was central, close to a... See full review

  • Frances P
  • May 27, 2014
The Kimberly is a European-style hotel on Manhattan's fashionable East Side with traditional decor, friendly yet professional staff and spacious rooms and suites. An intimate, unique experience with timeless elegance in New York's bustling heart. The Kimberly is a boutique, European style hotel with a traditional decor. The hotel has a warm, friendly yet professional staff and offers spacious accommodations (some rooms, mostly suites) in the heart of all New York City has to offer.

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.9716
Area served
Downtown / City Center
Nearby airports
JFK - 25 MilesNewark - 35 Miles
Area description
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan's East Side with easy access to 5th & Madison Avenue shops. 50thSt between Lexington & 3rd Avenues

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Kimberly Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Kimberly Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Located in our Townhouse section from floors 3-8, these deluxe rooms offer all the amenities of the suite except the extra space. From 270 To 370 square feet in size, (27-37 meters) they offer tremendous value for the dollar. Mattresses are covered with featherbeds and fine Italian Frette linens drape the beds. Traditionally styled and renovated in 2009, with antique styled furnishings, these accommodate two people comfortably.
Luxury 1 Bedroom Suite
The one bedroom suite offers two separate rooms - bedroom plus living room. Great for holding one-on-one meetings or for bringing in the family. Provides a home away from home feeling with 560-600 square feet (55-60 sq metres) of space so you never feel cramped. Most suites have a balcony. Mattresses are covered with featherbeds and luxurious Italian Frette linens drape every bed. Sink into the feather pillows or use the kitchenette to get your first cup of complimentary coffee or tea for the day.
Luxury Suite
The one bedroom suite offers two separate rooms - bedroom plus living room. Great for holding one-on-one meetings or for bringing in the family. Provides a home away from home feeling with 560-600 square feet (55-60 sq metres) of space so you never feel cramped. Most suites have a balcony. Mattresses are covered with featherbeds and luxurious Italian Frette linens drape every bed. Sink into the feather pillows or use the kitchenette to get your first cup of complimentary coffee or tea for the day.
Deluxe Room King
Located in our Townhouse section from floors 3-8, these deluxe rooms offer all the amenities of the suite except the extra space. From 270 To 370 square feet in size, (27-37 meters) they offer tremendous value for the dollar. Mattresses are covered with featherbeds and fine Italian Frette linens drape the beds. Traditionally styled and renovated in 2009, with antique styled furnishings, these accommodate two people comfortably.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Upstairs
Art deco interior serving classic American cuisine with a French flair. Offers indoor/outdoor spaces, stunning city views. Serves breakfast and converts to bar/lounge from 17:00 serving small plates and cocktails.
Trattoria
With open kitchen on lobby level of hotel, scheduled to open in March 2013

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for The Kimberly Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Road Warrior
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect for a working person who needed to be able to sleep!

The room was lovely with coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. Bed was good, bath was sizeable. The only thing they need to do is put a light in the alcove where the coffee maker is located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl's Trip Back Home
Denver, Co
Oct 23, 2013

new york escape

Wonderful experience once again. Can't beat the location in Midtown. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend it and will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fifth Ave and the upscale Madison Ave are a short walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Henri Renee
Illinois
Aug 30, 2013

Excellent small boutique hotel

We upgraded our room to a suite and were pleased with the layout, spaciousness and amenities. The hotel staff was very accommodating and efficient. We would not hesitate to return there the next time we visit NY. A gem of a boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In the theatre district, Becco for wonderfully authentic Italian dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family planner from VA
Richmond, VA
Aug 17, 2013

Spacious suite

Our stay at the Kimberly Hotel was great. Suite was large, clean, with everything we needed including fridge, and dishes. Pull out couch for our daughter was as comfortable as a regular bed. The balcony was a nice added bonus. Breakfast upstairs on penthouse floor was delicious and the view beautiful. Our only complaint was slight difficulty getting into hotel and to room one evening because of a large party on penthouse floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim too
Fort Myers, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Kimberly loves the Kimberly

Upon arrival the staff was very nice and they put us in a very nice room with a balcony. They even sent up a beautiful complimentary robe with my name embroidered on it with a beautiful note about my namesake. The rooftop lounge was really nice and the location was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Violetinphilly
Philadelphia, pa
Jul 23, 2013

Good basic hotel, but....

...there's no service elevator, so housekeeping/hotel mgt/etc. use the elevator and subsequently there are long waits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl's Trip Back Home
Denver, Co
Jun 2, 2013

Great Location For A NYC GETAWAY

This was our second time staying at The Kimberly Hotel and we are already planning on our next trip back. The location is a perfect spot in Midtown between Lexington and 3rd, just steps away from shopping and restaurants. There is also a brunch/breakfast option as well as an attached restaurant and hotel guests are given discounts for both. We went to the theater several times and it was a nice walking distance--not too far at all. Staff is very friendly and helpful, making sure you are having a nice stay. I highly recommend this hotel for the experience at reasonable prices for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Ave, Madison Ave, Park and Lexington are all right next door. Every high end shop you can think of is a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cyndy
Boston
May 13, 2013

Two-day getaway

The Kimberley is a lovely hotel. At the time I'm writing this there is currently facade construction going on and you needed to keep your shades shut or the workers could get glimpses in! But that was only from 9-5 and shouldn't be forever. There was one drawback and that was the new Restaurant Noir that was opening on one side of the hotel above the section where my room was situated. The music was way too loud and you could hear and feel the boom- boom of the bass in your room. I was on the fourth floor. It lasted until 2:30 am, which meant I didn't get to sleep till after that. I loved the personnel- they tried to call and get them to lower it. I will go back, but only if I can get a quieter room location. You need peace and quiet after a long day in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC luver
Ontario, Canada
Apr 2, 2013

Amazing first New York experience

This hotel is fantastic! Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful . When we arrived our room wasn't quite ready, so they held our bags for us so we could head out to explore, and also upgraded our room! Every experience from there was a good one! No complaints at all! Close and within walking distance from great New York attractions ..... Bring good walking shoes as you will be walking a lot! Would go back here in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Canal street for an experience! Lots of New York souvenirs and all the knock off purses and watches etc... But do not pay full price for anything, barter with them and don't be afraid to walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skuutch
Austin, Texan
Mar 1, 2013

Great hotel

The Kimberly turned out to be a really first rate hotel. The suite was a true suite, and large by most city standards. It was enormous by New York standards. The private balcony was a real plus. The location was good for midtown and easy walking to subways and shows. The staff was friendly, and helpful with the doorman recognizing us on day one. It's my hotel for New York stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Luncheonette next door is a great breakfast place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Road Warrior
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect for a working person who needed to be able to sleep!

The room was lovely with coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. Bed was good, bath was sizeable. The only thing they need to do is put a light in the alcove where the coffee maker is located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search