$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Jewel Hotel

3 stars
11 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
236 reviews
Great little place in a fantastic location.

Very clean with lots of comps and the location is steps away from everything. Would stay again on... See full review

  • LAR N DAG
  • Jun 7, 2014
will DEF return

Our son lives in Queens so try to visit every couple of months and when we do, we stay in the city... See full review

  • KayYo
  • Oct 28, 2013
Contemporary stay across from Rockefeller Center

The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center is located on 51st Street in Midtown Manhattan, just a short walk from fashionable Fifth Avenue. The hotel sits opposite the Rockefeller Center, and is steps from many of the city's major landmarks and public transit. This 3-star hotel boasts panoramic views of New York, as well as a restaurant, fitness center and health club. The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center has high-speed Internet access, meeting/banquet facilities, a 24-hour concierge and parking. Accessible facilities are available.

Reasons To Stay
  • Convenient downtown location, close to Saint Patrick's Cathedral, the MOMA and Saks Fifth Avenue

  • Business facilities, including work stations, printing and Wi-Fi Internet access

  • Dine at the hotel's Terrace Club, which serves seasonal dishes and boasts views of St. Patrick's Cathedral and Rockefeller Center

Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center New York Rooms

Guests can choose from a range of rooms, including superior rooms, and one- and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes. Select rooms offer views of Rockefeller Center. Accommodations include a queen-size bed, refrigerator and microwave. Free Wi-Fi Internet access and coffee/tea making facilities are available. 24-hour room service is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Rockefeller Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • GE Building (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • NBC Studios (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • CBS Building (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • American Craft Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Museum of American Folk Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Paine Webber Art Gallery (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Saks Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Jewel Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Jewel Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Club View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, Rockefeller Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area-free WiFi- bottled water-coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed-Rockefeller Center view-free WiFi and bottled water.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
2 sleeping areas with 1 queen and 1 full size bed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchenette and free wifi

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.1 mi
  • GE Building: 0.1 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.1 mi
  • GE Building: 0.1 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for The Jewel Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Locke's Mom
Business
Miami beach, fl
Apr 23, 2011

Uncomfortable

The room was super small and cramped. there is no real lobby, with one overly swamped receptionist. Had to take 2 different elevators to get to my room, and there is no real design to the place. The cramped room did have an excellent view of Rockefeller complex, but i will probably not stay here again. it is a hassle to get in and out of the room since the layout of the hotel is of 2 connecting buildings. the staff was nice, but clearly overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benmag
Business
Michigan
Sep 25, 2011

NY switcharoo

I arrived at the Jewel at 12:30 A.M. to check in only to be told that they were sold out and didn't have a room for me even though I pre-paid over $400 for it and that they had put me in another of their properties 3 doors away. This other hotel wasn't up to the standard of the Jewel not as new had no iron board or iron, the toilet was half way into the shower and then when I tried to check out after all I had been through they charged me $35 for a late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the burr
Business
kansas city
Nov 14, 2010

Jewel Hotel

Arrived at 6:30 pm and told room not ready. After 1/2 hour they told us they would not have a room and sent us to their other hotel a few doors down. This hotel was a trace better than a motel 6. Their usual rate is $70 less than we had paid for the original hotel and they would not provide a refund. This cannot be recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rancho santa margarita, ca
Nov 9, 2010

good location

The staff were very nice but we were disappointed in a few items. The room was not cleaned when we returned from our day, the ice machine was not working, there was construction knocking periodically. We would have liked a refrigerator and or microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joeandsal
Business
westchester, ny
Aug 25, 2011

stay if you like check in problems and clean sheets.

I made the reservation last min. so i could take my cousin into the city for a couple days. The real problem was with the check in-was told they had two beds in the room, but we get there and its a single that is so small that a cot could not be placed in the room. I was then told i could get a bigger room for an upgrade fee...paid then was told room was not available. So i was told i was going to be put in there sister hotel 3 doors down...again for a fee-which i did not pay. In the end they found me a room after the M.O.D. was called...a single with a roll away bed...hotel was in a great location but the heart burn i got checking in was not worth it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go down to bleeker st. and/or soho for some night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Moorpark, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Interesting stay

This is the first time my Wife, Son and I had gone to New York City. We were there to watch our daughter run the New York Marathon. Thought the price was a little high but it is New York City. The room is good for 2 people not three. There was a double bed for my wife and I and a twin pullout couch for my son. Even for two people, if you want to watch the TV, then both of you are either sitting on the bed or one person on the bed and one person on the single cushion pull out couch. When the hideaway bed is pulled out, whoever is sleeping in the bed needs to turn sideways to walk between the wall and the hideaway bed if they need to use the bathroom facilities or to use the desk. My real concern was the housekeeping. We left the room at about 8:30am on Sunday to head for the marathon. We returned at approximately 4:40 in the afternoon and the room had not been cleaned. I went to the front desk and when I told the front desk clerk of the issue the first words of me was if I had left the privacy sign on the door and I explained I had not. When housekeeping showed up approximately 25 minutes later, it was a rush job and when the housekeeper left, the person left the bag of trash behind on the floor. I picked this bag up and just placed it back into the trash can. It was interesting that friends we had met in New York had their own room at The Jewel and had the same issue with housekeeping. So for the money we were spending I thought maybe the room service would be a little bit better. The front desk staff was good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rose008
Business
Fresno CA
Oct 10, 2011

New york

First night was rocky, they did not have our room available so we had to take a cab to one of there other hotels at one in the morning.Then the next mornig they picked us up .We arrived at our original hotel but they said that thier would be a fee of 35 dollers to check in early.So after explaining what had happened the night before he looked at the log and said my apologies.you room is ready.Nice room but kind of small.but close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Top of the rock

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
overtired traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

beware overbooking problems

The hotel location is great. Unfortunately, I couldn't enjoy the location because upon arrival at midnight, I was told the hotel was overbooked, and the staff told me to take a cab to another hotel all the way down at Wall Street, far from this hotel and my meetings the next day. The staff said that bumping travelers was the worst part of his job - in other words, I'm definitely not the only person who's been kicked to the curb. The room was prepaid and should not have been double booked. Regardless of the reason, there was significant inconvenience, wasted time and stress late at night, when facing early meetings, another long cab ride, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LNCB
Business
Princeton, NJ, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Christmas Festivities

While this hotel was convenient to our points of interest, there were other hotels in the same price range that had more amenities. Especially when it comes to the fitness room, it was more like a fitness closet. The self dispensing water bottles were a nice novalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeJen
Business
Miami
Nov 19, 2012

great

the rooms were clean bed to hard didnt like we were facing the back of the building had no view what so ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top