$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

The Jewel Hotel

3 stars
11 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
238 reviews
Excellent Location

Our visit to New York was incredible in part because of the excellent service and location of the... See full review

  • Maria V.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great little place in a fantastic location.

Very clean with lots of comps and the location is steps away from everything. Would stay again on... See full review

  • LAR N DAG
  • Jun 7, 2014
Contemporary stay across from Rockefeller Center

The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center is located on 51st Street in Midtown Manhattan, just a short walk from fashionable Fifth Avenue. The hotel sits opposite the Rockefeller Center, and is steps from many of the city's major landmarks and public transit. This 3-star hotel boasts panoramic views of New York, as well as a restaurant, fitness center and health club. The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center has high-speed Internet access, meeting/banquet facilities, a 24-hour concierge and parking. Accessible facilities are available.

Reasons To Stay
  • Convenient downtown location, close to Saint Patrick's Cathedral, the MOMA and Saks Fifth Avenue

  • Business facilities, including work stations, printing and Wi-Fi Internet access

  • Dine at the hotel's Terrace Club, which serves seasonal dishes and boasts views of St. Patrick's Cathedral and Rockefeller Center

Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center New York Rooms

Guests can choose from a range of rooms, including superior rooms, and one- and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes. Select rooms offer views of Rockefeller Center. Accommodations include a queen-size bed, refrigerator and microwave. Free Wi-Fi Internet access and coffee/tea making facilities are available. 24-hour room service is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Radio City Music Hall (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Rockefeller Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • GE Building (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • NBC Studios (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • CBS Building (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • American Craft Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Museum of American Folk Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Paine Webber Art Gallery (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

  • Saks Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Jewel Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Jewel Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Club View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, Rockefeller Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area-free WiFi- bottled water-coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed-Rockefeller Center view-free WiFi and bottled water.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
2 sleeping areas with 1 queen and 1 full size bed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchenette and free wifi

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.1 mi
  • GE Building: 0.1 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.1 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.1 mi
  • GE Building: 0.1 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.1 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Building: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.2 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.3 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.3 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.4 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.4 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.4 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (238)

Ratings and reviews for The Jewel Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drjaniemac
Business
Toms River, NJ
May 4, 2012

A Hidden Treasure

The Jewel is truly precious. I turned left and I was at St. Patrick's Cathedral and Fifth Avenue. I turned right and I was at Radio City Music Hall. I walked straight and I was at Rockefeller Center with all it amenities. My room was well appointed so that I had all the comforts of home. The second floor provided a "Living Room" with cozy fireplace, computer and printer workstations, a TV room and a coffee/tea bar free of charge. The chilled purified water stations were a nice touch. If hungry, there was room service. A short walk to the right of The Jewel is its sister site with The Terrace Club available for food and drink. If you choose to go elsewhere, there is a plethora of casual and fine food dining establishments. Broadway is just a short walk as is Central Park. All in all, The Jewel is a hidden treasure nestled among the skyscrapers of business, entertainment and history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Stardust Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CruzinJo
Business
Mesa, AZ, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Friendly, Clean, Convenient

My two adult daughters and I arrived at the Jewel early in the morning (5:00 a.m.), way too early for a room but we were able to store our luggage. Kenny, who worked at the front desk, was very friendly, helpful and efficient, suggested we rest in their lounge. The lounge was equipped with comfortable chairs, TV, computers and chargers for almost any type of cell phone and coffee. We rested for a while then headed out to breakfast and a day of sight seeing. For breakfast we ate at Simply Food, 2 doors away from the hotel, at Kenny’s recommendation. It was simple inexpensive food and great coffee. When we arrived back at the hotel in the early afternoon, it was still about an hour before check in time but they were able to get us into a room. We were in room 408, a superior with a “kitchenette”. The kitchenette was a microwave and small refrigerator along with the coffee maker. We did not use this equipment, as we were not in the room very much. The room faced 51st St but you did not hear any of the traffic noise. As other reviewers have said the room is on the small size for a “superior”, but it is New York and there was ample space for the 3 of us. The rooms are well arranged and we never felt cramped. They have a charging station, iPod dock in the alarm clock and plenty of electrical plugs. The bathroom was small with limited counter space but was sufficient and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The hotel provides chilled filtered water on every floor with bottles you can fill, which for us was fabulous. The hotel is located within a 5 to 10 minute walk to 4 subway stations, Times Square, tons of great restaurants, the MOMA, shopping on 5th Ave or Madison Ave and about a 15-minute walk to Central Park. It is directly across the street from Rockefeller Center and just down the street from Radio City Music Hall. The location is fabulous. They also stored our luggage for us after check out as we had an evening flight out of JFK. We had to call for a roll away and it was delivered within just a few minutes. Each and every encounter with any of the staff was truly a pleasant experience. They were all friendly and willing to help. We will be staying at the Jewel anytime we visit New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MOMA is free on Friday evenings from 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYergoneSouth
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 29, 2012

convenient

I have stayed at the Jewel several times. The room was very comfortable and even though I was on the second floor on 51st St, the noise level was fine. I love the convenience of the hotel, its smaller size (less rooms = less people), not a big tourist hotel and clean and quiet. Whenever the rates are down I will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elyan
Business
Hanover, NH, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Well thought out boutique hotel

Everything you would want for an overnight in the city.Terrific location, clean, comfortable.Would be first choice next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lantinghao
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Great experience

I stayed there for just one night. Perfect location, clean and cozy room (considering how much room you can get in NYC), great staff. The only thing is that it got somewhat noisy at midnight due to roadwork. But overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MinnesotaTraveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great location

Fast checkin, small room but nice bathroom. Clean and great value compared to most midtown hotels. Outstanding location and would stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siberian
Business
Missouri, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great location

Was in town for business but also wanted to do some sight-seeing while I was there. I was able to walk to Central Park, Times Square, and Rockefeller Center in one evening. My business was near Grand Central and I was able to walk there as well. Room was plenty big for me, and was very clean and modern. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A bit silly, but from this location you are smack between two different ice skating rinks (Central Park and Rock Center). If this is your thing you can't pick better!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NBCS
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

New Couple Getaway

Great Hotel for a couple. Smaller then expected. I also was expecting to see a better view of the Rockefeller central Area. the scenary was enclosed by buildings. The room service is great and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dim Sum on Broadway and times square, 5stars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biztraveller
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect hotel room for the price - for business travel

The hotel rooms and halls are very small, but the service is great (very friendly and efficient), the room is brand new and very clean, and best of all - the balcony was wonderful. It is great to be able to sit outside on your own terrace on a beautiful NYC night. Most NYC hotel surprises are horror stories, this was a wonderful surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block to ice skating at Rockefeller Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rubayet H.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Location

The room's tiny, but everything is modern and the entire hotel has a fairly classy vibe. It's a good price and value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

10-15 minute walk from restaurant row. Le Rivage is my personal favorite, fantastic value (it's my go-to restaurant if I want to impress on a date).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top