$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Jewel Hotel

3 stars
View map of 11 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Jewel Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jovial Jnel
Rock Hill, SC
Jan 22, 2013

Super Close to EVERYTHING!

My husband and I spent a long weekend in the city- Hotel Location can't be beat- around the corner from 5th Avenue shopping and the MoMA- a few blocks away from Times Square and Broadway or Central Park. Directly across from Rockefellar Plaza. Less than 30 second walk from a 24hr drug store (which had a decent beer selection, along with fresh packaged to-go foods) Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had superior room with kitchenette- hardly consider a minifridge and microwave a "kitchenette" but it allowed us to take food with us- Ammenities were great- washer/dryer, fitness center, purified bottle water station!! Onsite restaurant was ok- Lizzarran- over priced for what it was..Spanish tapas menu. Ray's Pizza on Broadway will deliver to hotel!! GREAT NY pizza in the comfort of your hotel room (kitchenette with table and 2 chairs came in handy then!) Not only would I recommend this hotel, I'm trying to figure out when we can return- only thing I wish the hotel had was some form of terrace or open-air area, rooftop patio, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dig Inn Seasonal Market on 52nd Street! Amazing food! Healthy, hearty meals, AMAZING prices (we both CHOWED down on organic healthy foods for around $20 TOTAL) Both had some left over- hated to not finish it... it was THAT GOOD! Great break from the typical $100 pricetag for dinner for 2 in NYC!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KayYo
Business
Mass
Oct 28, 2013

will DEF return

Our son lives in Queens so try to visit every couple of months and when we do, we stay in the city and drive out to see him. This is a treat for us bc his work schedule varies and allows us the opportunity to visit a different area of the city each time we visit while he is at work. This has also turned us into sort of NY snobs in that we've learned that we do NOT want to stay IN Times Square and have to deal with the crazy hoards of clueless travelers and further allows us to familiarizing ourselves with areas that better suit us. Been there, done that. The Jewel offered us the best of both worlds. Just far enough out of TS to not have to deal with the craziness yet close enough to take in any of the sites within TS that may interest us, ie theater, bars, M&M's :) , etc. Evenings are *very* quiet here - we took a nice long quiet stroll at midnight looking for somewhere for a nightcap and ended up at the Hilton around the block. The Jewel rooms ARE small but they are part of the Club Quarters chain which is known for their compact but convenient accommodations. SO clean. SO convenient. WONDERFUL desk staff. What we liked is that in order to access any floor of the hotel via elevator, guests were required to slip their key card into the reader slot in the elevator or it would not move. (stairwells however, are not secured, unfortunately). We were put on the 15th floor (top floor) which would have been perfect if we had had a view, alas we did not. We were facing an alley created by surrounding buildings. Having said that, it kept the room quiet of the street cleaners, emergency vehicles and garbage trucks that many guests seem to have complained about. Let's face it -you're in NYC, you HAVE to expect that kind of racket and you're crazy if you don't. Sometimes it's worth having no view for the extra quiet. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, a microwave, a small fridge, and a very convenient workspace area. Altho our floor did not have it, many floors have a bottled cold water station. The floors also have guest-accessible closets for the use of irons and boards, dryers, etc. The one problem we ran into was, we were 2 guests in one room, we had 2 bath towels but only 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. I reqested extra towels from the front desk as they are not avialable in the closets, but they only delivered extra bath towels. We needed the washcloths and hand towels. Not enough of a gripe for us to complain to management. I have no problem with small rooms as my goal is just to sleep and shower there, so I am all about the cleanliness level. My husband, however, tends to rise early and likes to use the time to get some laptop work done and watch his sports. He doesn't feel able to do so in close quarters for fear of waking me. All that said, HE said he would def stay there again and I know I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is directly across from Rock Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral (OH! so breathtaking!!). Just a few blocks one way you hit Central Park. Just a few blocks the other way you hit Byrant park and just a short walk to Times Sq.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCAndventerer
Business
Syracuse, NY
Oct 14, 2013

Great New York Weekend

The staff were very pleasant, the room was clean and had what I needed! I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric O
Business
Fresno CA
Oct 13, 2013

Great hotel and location!

We had a great time staying at the Jewel. It was awesome being able to start and end our days right at Rockefeller Center. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kstater
Business
Nebraska
Oct 6, 2013

All Good

Loved this hotel. Great location . We had a wonderful corner room with a great view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dizzlizz
Business
Buffalo, NY
Sep 16, 2013

Rockefeller Center Gem

The Jewel Hotel is the perfect place to stay. Located at Rockefeller Center, it's a boutique hotel that is extremely stylish, very quiet and clean. Our superior room had a complete kitchenette, which was a wonderful plus. Free water bottle refill stations on every floor and complimentary coffee and cappuccino in the second floor lounge were very nice touches. Also, guests are able to use the restaurant at the Club Quarters Hotel next door, which has a lovely open air balcony. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The vacation mom
Business
Houma, Louisiana
Aug 12, 2013

Great location for people new to visiting New York.

The staff was very helpful with very part of our trip, from directions to recommend places to eat. The room was perfect for two people. The location was great, being near Rockefeller Center, anyone could give you directions back to the hotel. Will stay here again next year .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bill's Burgers is across the street from the hotel . Great burgers and shakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nadia Borg
Business
Potomac, MD
Jun 26, 2013

Great find in the heart of NYC

Very pleasant business stay. Small rooms but very well furnished. Bathroom was more than adequate - bigger than some Hilton bathrooms I've been at. Stone's throw away from Rockefeller Ctr, Radio City, 5th Ave. and use of Guest Quarters Terrace works well for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jun 26, 2013

great location

Second time at The Jewel. Friendly staff' great location and comfy roomp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martyn
Business
lincolnshire, United Kingdon
May 16, 2013

Brilliant birthday treat

Couldn't have picked a better location & hotel for our stay. Excellent right in the heart of Nyc & walking distance to main attractions. We were visiting New York for my partner's 30th birthday so to be right near everywhere she wanted to visit was brilliant. The hotel & rooms where lovely & clean. Staff were brilliant nothing too much trouble. Safety deposit box was free which was a bonus. Easy check in/out. We didn't hear any traffic noise from our room (15th floor) which was fab! Nothing negative about this hotel. Brilliant I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitely recommend a visit to Helen Hayes theatre on broadway to see rock of ages. Its by far the best show I have seen & it really made our break even more special :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelGuz
Business
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
May 7, 2013

Great location!

The hotel was perfectly placed at the heart of all the action in NYC. Check in and Check out were done in less than 1 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top