$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Jewel Hotel

3 stars
View map of 11 West 51st Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Jewel Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle G.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Great Location

Great room and location. Second time staying and both times had a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stacey e.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Best Mother Daughter Trip!!

Last October, my mom and I took our 2nd trip to NYC to celebrate both of our birthdays. We stayed at the Jewel on our first trip as well but this trip was even better! The hotel is AMAZING but what really made our trip was the customer service! Umika, at the front desk was the best!!! She took care of our every need and was so friendly and personable. She really enhanced our entire trip and treated us like we were old friends! Every time we walked in the door and saw her she would greet us like we were coming home. She really took our experience from a 10 to a 20!!! We will definitely return to this hotel anytime we go to NYC. We also loved the location, we felt very central to everywhere we wanted to visit. Most importantly, we felt safe! Lots of people around, to use the elevator you have to put your room key in, the surrounding area outside was very well lit and police were walking around most of the time. A stone's throw from the skating rink, top of the rock, NBC studios, Radio City Music Hall, La Bellezza pizza, Donnabell's Bakery and Ess-a-Bagel. Only a 10 minute walk to central park or times square. Extra perk, we loved the free water and coffee machines! So convenient! Overall, a wonderfull trip and fantastic hotel!!! I would highly recommend to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria V.
Business
las Cruces
Jan 14, 2015

Excellent Location

Our visit to New York was incredible in part because of the excellent service and location of the Jewel Hotel! Having the ease and convenience of staying just across the Rockerfeller Center made it a wonderful experience! Staff was friendly and very accommodating to our requests and concerns. Definitely one of the best places to stay in NYC!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A few of the most popular NYC attractions are within minutes of the hotel.

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rochy
Business
ELLICOTT CITY
Jan 5, 2015

Family trip

Was very good close to everything. I really recomend this place. I could come back because is always busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rodger B
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Oct 26, 2014

The Jewel

Clean and comfortable. The room was on the small side. Excellent black out shading. Room service ended at 10PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ma Ham
Business
Chicago IL
Oct 21, 2014

Fall Couples Getaway

Everything about this location was perfect for us. Centrally located to the theater district, shopping Central Park and great restaurants. Each staff member we encountered was extremely helpful, genuine, pleasant and friendly! We will definitely return - however, get a front facing room if you can. We had a room facing nothing but another wall and that made the room appear kind of dreary. Be sure to stop at Del Frisco's Grille across the street, the Bouchon Bakery near Rockefeller Plaza and for fun, good food and singing wait staff don't miss the Stardust Diner on 51st Street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidden gem: Don't Tell Mama's on 46th St. Great food, lively piano bar and the funniest stage shows! We laughed and sang all the way back to the hotel!!

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juliemb20
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 16, 2014

Great Location, Not Great Comfort

I stay at this hotel because it's literally around the block from where I work. If it werent for the convenience i'd never stay here again, The "king" bed was two incredibly hard twin beds put together, not level at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sid1
Business
Ga
Jul 21, 2014

Great place to stay

Location was GREAT! Room was a little small but you do not spend much time in it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Francisco Tourist
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Jul 20, 2014

Terrific Location

The Jewel is right across the street from the Rockefeller Center in Midtown Manhattan. Other locations (Central Park, Empire State Building, Times Square) are within easy walking distance, so the location was ideal. We also liked that it was on a side street, so it wasn't as loud/busy. Multiple restaurants are steps away, from casual to more upscale. We appreciated the free bottled water station on each floor, and the staff was immediately and cheerfully responsive to our requests. There are gym facilities available, but the space is pretty small. The only real downside to the hotel is the limited space everywhere. We are from the Midwest, however, so not sure how this compares size-wise to other NY hotels. The decor was clean and modern, but the room was long and narrow. I'm not sure it's necessarily meant for families. We had three in the room, and it was a bit cramped at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Jewel Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie Old Guy Traveler
Business
Central Florida
Jun 27, 2014

Neat commercial place.

Neat, clean, commercial hotel right across street from Rock Center. Other than beds needing a comfort test, just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places right nearby on same street. Steak and Italian particularly.

Back to menu Return to top