$233 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

The James New York

5 stars
View map of 27 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love NYC gal
Business
Charlottesville Va
Jan 22, 2013

Best Soho Hotel

The James Hotel is a great hotel to stay at. It is so conveniently located to the best restaurants and shopping in Soho. The amenities are the best, not to mention the mini bar and snacks top notch! The staff is so friendly and David's Burke Kitchen is delicious, pricey but worth it! This will be my new go to hotel when staying in Soho! Absolutely loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kittichai at 60 Thompson Hotel, best meal I've had in NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUBLEPE
Business
CHILE
Apr 15, 2013

Great

Very Nice. Excellent Rooms. Clean. New Building. Nice Architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodiie
Business
Atlanta GA
Apr 16, 2013

Great location and hotel

We stayed at the James for a long weekend and we found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, bed really great and for us who like to stay below Union sqare location could not be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try The Dutch, great food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marin French
Business
San Rafael CA
Aug 20, 2013

A great hotel in a great part of NY

Great hotel, great location in the midst of Soho shopping district. Great amenities, breakfast, wine and cheese, Wi-Fi, water in room all free Great staff, very helpful Room was a bit small, but comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Bistro des Amis Felix

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sdarelli
Business
Sacramento CA
Dec 13, 2013

AMAZING STAY AT THE JAMES!

The staff and the service at the James was fabulous! We stayed for 6 nights and were greeted by friendly and helpful employees at all times. The restaurant David Burke is wonderful and conveniently located and also available for room service. The beds in the room are among the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Great location, close to shopping and restaurants. The only thing I can say that bothered me was every evening or early morning the smell of baking or cooking food wafed into the room most likely from the vents in the room. It may have just been our room, but that was my only complaint. Every night they have a wine and cheese reception and fresh baked cookies which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Uber app intead of cabs! Much more timely and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagosurfer
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 8, 2014

Awesome find in really hip part of NY

Loved this hotel!! Super convenient for SoHo, and inside the design is really cool and contemporary. Lobby is spectacular, warehouse loft feel, not at all corporatey, instead more like an ultrahip living room. Bedrooms are really unusual too in their design, in a v positive way. I had spectacular views East and South. One of my favorite hotels in NY and I have stayed at many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristina G
Business
Amsterdam the Netherlands
Jun 9, 2014

Brilliant location super friendly staff

From Morgan, deservedly awarded best concierge in soho to Erik the doorman the staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. The room was smaller than I expected but that was my fault as I converted the sqm wrong at booking. David Burke garden and food really recommended. We usually stay in the Gansevoort but as it was fully booked chose the James and we will definitely return!. Shopping in Soho is always a great experience and there are a few excellent restaurants very close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaumarchais at the Meatpackinh district is not to be missed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middlebury, CT
Jan 1, 2011

Great Hotel, great location

We went to New York City for New years eve to see the Radio City Music Hall Christmas show. We were not staying for the Times Square countdown so we chose the James which is in SoHo and out of the way of the masses. The Canal st. subway station is right across the street from the hotel so it was easy in and out of time square area.The Hotel and staff were the best and friendliest we ever encountered in NYC. The room was beautiful and spotless. The David Burk restaurant was not open yet as this is a newer hotel,but cant wait to get back and try it!. The lobby area is relaxed and offers free wifi on macbooks and they have complimentary wine,cheeses,cookies, ect. all day. One of the very best stays we ever had in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepolino's Italian restaurant is a short walk from hotel. Five stars for the food and service there! The food is "real" Italian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phenix214
Business
NY
Aug 15, 2011

Great New Hotel

Amazing hotel! Would've given it a perfect 100% except for two flaws: 1. The rooftop "pool" seems more for decoration then actually swiming 2. Jimmy's, the rooftop bar was completely pretentious and totally over-priced. 1 tequila sunrise and 1 gina & tonic later and we were out $40, and the drinks tasted aweful! Hotel itself was amazing though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Have Wings
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 1, 2011

Impeccable Service

As a business woman traveling can be exhausting. The room is very serene and spa-like. I felt pampered from the time I arrived until I HAD to leave. They provide nice amenities like wine and cheese and cookies in the lobby that make the stay that much more inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Make the stay special and invite a guest to join you for cocktails at the rooftop club. The views are stunning outside overlooking the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top