$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The James New York

5 stars
27 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
52 reviews
Brilliant location super friendly staff

From Morgan, deservedly awarded best concierge in soho to Erik the doorman the staff could not have... See full review

  • Kristina G
  • Jun 9, 2014
Awesome find in really hip part of NY

Loved this hotel!! Super convenient for SoHo, and inside the design is really cool and... See full review

  • chicagosurfer
  • Jun 8, 2014
Member of Stash Rewards Program The James New York brings luxury liberated from tradition to Soho. Located on the corner of Thompson and Grand the newly built property is conceived and designed as a locally inspired community focused and environmentally thoughtful hotel. The James New York features the award-winning David Burke Kitchen. Several outdoor spaces throughout the hotel including an urban garden and rooftop pool deck and bar. A two story glass wall in The Sky Lobby offers views of the urban garden along with area views of the neighboring sculpture garden. The Sky Lobby also features the reception area and is home to the private living room and business networking lounge. The rooftop bar features panoramic views of both the East and Hudson rivers and offers indoor and outdoor seating overlooking a pool with private cabanas.In homage to the creative neighborhood it calls home-The James New York will feature a mix of local artists both prominent and up-and-coming. Hotel amenities include - private dining and flexible event space 24 hour concierge - 24 hour inroom dining - twice daily housekeeping turndown - fitness center and a chef driven restaurant. - With a 114 guestrooms and suites-including a stunning Penthouse Loft - the hotel features expansive and onobstructed city views. All rooms are designed in a true upscale residential style featuring a palatte of warm tones. Room amenities include custom designed furniture-reclaimed wood floors-dining niches-state of the art technology and complimentary WIFI.

Hotel Map

40.7227 -74.0048
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 10.29, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 19.29, MI, NW; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 12.30, MI, NE; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 36.67, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 15.45, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The James New York Rooms

Deluxe King Guestroom
315SF-29M2-DLX GSTRM VIEW CUSTOM KING BED-42IN LCD-DINING-WORK NICHE-NSMKG-WOOD FLR
Penthouse Loft Suite King
1460SF-136M2-PENTHOUSE LOFT FEAT. 180 DEGREES OF CITY VIEWS-DINING ROOM-GRAND LIVING RM-NSMKG
Queen Guestroom
280SF-26M2-GUESTROOM W CUSTOM QUEEN BED- 42IN LCD-DINING-WORK NICHE-NSMKG-WOOD FLOOR
Apartment Suite King - Accessibl
The non-smoking one bedroom accessible suite measures 700 square feet.
Corner King Studio - Accessible
The non-smoking accessible Studio measures 380 square feet in size.
King Guestroom
315SF-29M2- GUESTROOM W CUSTOM KING BED 42IN LCD-DINING-WORK NICHE-NSMKG-WOOD FLOOR
Corner Queen Guestroom
340SF-32M2-CORNER QUEEN GUESTROOM WITH CUSTOM QUEEN BED-37IN LCD-DINING-WORK NICHE-NSMKG
Corner King Studio
380SF-35M2-CORNER STUDIO KING BED-DBL FACING WINDOWS-CITYVIEWS-DINING-WORK NICHE
Apartment Suite King
700SF-65M2-APARTMENT 1 BEDROOM SUITE WITH KING BED-OVERSIZED WINDOWS-GREAT CITY VIEWS-NSMKG

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Barber shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.1 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.1 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.1 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.2 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.4 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.4 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.4 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.1 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.1 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.1 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.2 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.4 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.4 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.4 mi
  • The Children's Museum of the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Greenwich Village: 0.4 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.4 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.4 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.4 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.5 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.5 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.5 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.5 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.6 mi
  • Montauk Club: 0.6 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.6 mi
  • Bowery: 0.6 mi
  • Winston Churchill Park: 0.6 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.6 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.7 mi
  • Grove Court: 0.7 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.7 mi

Dining

Jimmy
Our new rooftop lounge promises a year-round rooftop experience that embraces all seasons. Jimmys design is a contemporary interpretation of the classic pub with a 1970s New York twist. Elements like herringbone floors - a leather trimmed solid wood bar
David Burke Kitchen
David Burke Kitchen serves breakfast - lunch -dinner daily as well as weekend brunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The James New York

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alma from the South
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Great Stay in SOHO

My husband and I normally stay at the Plaza or Four Seasons, but we wanted to try something new and be a bit adventurous. We hesitantly booked the hotel not knowing what to expect. All I can say it that we loved the hotel, the staff, the room and the neighborhood. The room was a bit small but had every luxury you could think of. the staff was always attentive and responded immediately to our requests and the location was absolutely adorable. Walking distance to china town, little Italy and Wall street. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try gourmet garage (lovely grocery store), Snack (intimate dining) and the local bar at the corner of thompson and grand. great local hang out and they serve food til midnight.

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marin French
Business
San Rafael CA
Aug 20, 2013

A great hotel in a great part of NY

Great hotel, great location in the midst of Soho shopping district. Great amenities, breakfast, wine and cheese, Wi-Fi, water in room all free Great staff, very helpful Room was a bit small, but comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Bistro des Amis Felix

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUBLEPE
CHILE
Apr 15, 2013

Great

Very Nice. Excellent Rooms. Clean. New Building. Nice Architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Mar 31, 2011

Sophisticated and comfortable

Great location, comfortable, classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of amazing stores and restaurants in the vicinity

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodiie
Atlanta GA
Apr 16, 2013

Great location and hotel

We stayed at the James for a long weekend and we found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, bed really great and for us who like to stay below Union sqare location could not be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try The Dutch, great food and atmosphere

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alma from the South
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Great Stay in SOHO

My husband and I normally stay at the Plaza or Four Seasons, but we wanted to try something new and be a bit adventurous. We hesitantly booked the hotel not knowing what to expect. All I can say it that we loved the hotel, the staff, the room and the neighborhood. The room was a bit small but had every luxury you could think of. the staff was always attentive and responded immediately to our requests and the location was absolutely adorable. Walking distance to china town, little Italy and Wall street. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try gourmet garage (lovely grocery store), Snack (intimate dining) and the local bar at the corner of thompson and grand. great local hang out and they serve food til midnight.

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwest Rubes
Business
NW Ohio
Apr 18, 2011

Most enjoyable

Court business, & a play. The James New York was convenient and modern. Staff was welcoming and helpful at all times. Check-in & out was efficient and accurate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Subways for quick and painless transport.

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jan 17, 2011

The James

The Hotel was awesome from the moment we walked in we were offered warm towels and tea, very quick check in, and the room was perfect. Very modern layout and fixtures. Bed was warm and cozy. Staff was right there when you needed them and never made you feel like a request was putting them out. Doormen quick to call a cab or make a dinner suggestion. Just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middlebury, CT
Jan 1, 2011

Great Hotel, great location

We went to New York City for New years eve to see the Radio City Music Hall Christmas show. We were not staying for the Times Square countdown so we chose the James which is in SoHo and out of the way of the masses. The Canal st. subway station is right across the street from the hotel so it was easy in and out of time square area.The Hotel and staff were the best and friendliest we ever encountered in NYC. The room was beautiful and spotless. The David Burk restaurant was not open yet as this is a newer hotel,but cant wait to get back and try it!. The lobby area is relaxed and offers free wifi on macbooks and they have complimentary wine,cheeses,cookies, ect. all day. One of the very best stays we ever had in NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pepolino's Italian restaurant is a short walk from hotel. Five stars for the food and service there! The food is "real" Italian cuisine.

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
Jan 7, 2011

NYE in NYC

We wanted to stay in SoHo on NYE weekend. The artwork/design in the James was truly amazing. The room was very new, clean, unique. The staff always helpful. The location is in walking distance of Greenwich Village, Little Italy. My only complaint was that the room was considerably smaller than what I am accustomed to for the price we paid. However, for NYC...not surprising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top