$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

The James New York

5 stars
View map of 27 Grand Street, New York, NY 10013

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marin French
Business
San Rafael CA
Aug 20, 2013

A great hotel in a great part of NY

Great hotel, great location in the midst of Soho shopping district. Great amenities, breakfast, wine and cheese, Wi-Fi, water in room all free Great staff, very helpful Room was a bit small, but comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Bistro des Amis Felix

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodiie
Business
Atlanta GA
Apr 16, 2013

Great location and hotel

We stayed at the James for a long weekend and we found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, bed really great and for us who like to stay below Union sqare location could not be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try The Dutch, great food and atmosphere

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUBLEPE
Business
CHILE
Apr 15, 2013

Great

Very Nice. Excellent Rooms. Clean. New Building. Nice Architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoubleD2
Business
NY NY
Mar 3, 2013

Ok stay

pillow had red stains and it grossed me out;( the peekaboo curtians were ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to soho

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love NYC gal
Business
Charlottesville Va
Jan 22, 2013

Best Soho Hotel

The James Hotel is a great hotel to stay at. It is so conveniently located to the best restaurants and shopping in Soho. The amenities are the best, not to mention the mini bar and snacks top notch! The staff is so friendly and David's Burke Kitchen is delicious, pricey but worth it! This will be my new go to hotel when staying in Soho! Absolutely loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kittichai at 60 Thompson Hotel, best meal I've had in NYC

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
t.kare
Business
houston, tx
Dec 17, 2012

best stay in nyc ever!

the location is a little further out than expected but well worth the few extra blocks from soho and chinatown. the extra amenities like snacks available throughout the day was an added bonus. the staff is very friendly and professional. caught some rain during our visit, it was nice to return back to the hotel with a warm welcome each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

always ask the people downstairs before heading out. the know the best way to walk and get to and from places, even in the rain. everyone is so helpful!

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oil barron
Business
NY
Nov 29, 2012

over priced small room

not worth the money! tiny lobby with no real amenities, although the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Call me Picky
Business
East Bay, California
Nov 26, 2012

Classy look with fantastic service

My husband and I stayed at the James Hotel for 5 nights during Thanksgiving Week. Now, remember that Superstorm Sandy had ravaged NYC just 3 weeks prior, and the holidays are always stressful with extra travel and demands. But, the warm and friendly staff at the James made our stay delightful. Every request was met with a smile and prompt service. The fresh-baked scones at breakfast and cookies at night added a very homey welcome. The location is ideal for sightseeing and shopping in the Village, as well as getting around the rest of Manhattan. That said, the modern furnishings, especially the bedding, were just not comfortable for us. If you like a cool, urban escape, this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DesignCzar
Business
Northern NJ
Jul 2, 2012

Stylish yet comfortable hotel

We stayed at The James for a night during a weekend trip to NYC. The hotel staff was very warm and welcoming. Our room was small (typical for NYC), but well laid out so you could move around without bumping into something or someone. The bathroom took up about 1/2 the room! The room was very clean ( the hotel provides turn down service). We ate at David Burke's Kitchen, which was very good (but again, typical NYC, very pricy). The hotel also has a small rooftop pool which was fun to hang out at in the afternoon. If you're planning on spending time in lower Manhattan, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to spend top dollar for a meal (which you will do if you eat at any of the hotel's restaurants), there are TONS of other places in the surrounding area that vary by price and cuisine. It's worth taking a short walk around the neighborhood.

Review of The James New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cperry123
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Friendly helpful staff.

Great value, location in a stylish setting. I will definitely recommend it and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top