$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
View map of 49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
128 reviews
Fantastic suite stay

Wonderful hotel in superb central location. A real oasis of calm in the city yet steps away from... See full review

  • Mark.
  • Jun 29, 2015
Perfect location

Could not be better placed. Turn right and walk two blocks into Times Square. Turn left and 5th... See full review

  • Ricardo P.
  • Jun 26, 2015
Step into tranquil The Iroquois New York and be swept away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of popular destinations such as 5th Avenue, the Empire State Building, Bryant Park and the theaters of Broadway. In contrast, discover a calm and tranquil sanctuary inside of the building. The French-American restaurant on-site inspires the design of the hotel. The Iroquois New York feels like an elegant private mansion and serves complimentary morning coffee.
Rooms
The 114 rooms of The Iroquois New York contain fresh Frette linens and contemporary decor. Brass carriage lamps surrounding mahogany doors welcome guests in classic European style. The rooms provide comfort for both leisure and business travelers. The nine suites in the hotel ramp up the luxury. They include bonus amenities such as Jacuzzi tubs, two HD televisions and views overlooking 44th Street in New York City. The sophisticated design boasts features such as Italian marble in the bathrooms. The Iroquois New York raises the bar by adding distinctive touches such as turndown service with Le Belge chocolates, Molton Brown bath products and iHome complimentary in each room.
Highlights
  • The facade of the building is comprised of original 1900s French limestone
  • Walking distance from many of the most popular and well-known destinations in New York City
  • Amenities appeal to both leisure and business travelers
Nearby attractions
  • Bryant Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Chrysler Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies
  • Please note that The Iroquois New York is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iroquois New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Iroquois New York Rooms

Classic
Classic Room: 2 Double- 250 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 plus 1 child if under age of 12. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Superior
Superior Room: 1 Double or 1 Queen-250-270 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Premium King
Premium Room:1 King size bed-300 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Suites
Suite-600 sq.ft- Master Bedroom with King bed. Living room with Queen sofa bed. Whirlpool tub with separate shower.Both rooms overlook 44th Street. Separate sitting with TV, CD, DVD. Suites include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Maximum occupancy:4 Pets are not allowed. You also receive a complimentary City Pass with your reservation for a suite. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room:1 Queen Bed - 270-300 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi

Dining

Triomphe
A highly acclaimed French-American restaurant serving seasonal cuisines by chef Steven Zobel. Breakfast(Mon-Sun), Lunch(Mon-Sat), Dinner(Mon-Sat)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 128
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC every January mom
Business
Michigan
Jan 28, 2014

Classic New York Elegance

This was our second stay at the Iroquois. We really liked it both times. The location is perfect-central to most of what we wanted to do in Manhattan (shows, shopping, sightseeing and checking out music colleges for my daughter), yet tucked away on a quiet block. The staff is excellent-would give the service 6 stars if I could. Concierge Bill is a gem...hey Bill, thanks for the prosecco at the lovely Greek restaurant you recommended...a fun surprise! The room is quite clean-a solid 4-star clean with nice touches-turndown chocolates, free NY Times, good wifi, etc. Our shower did not drain well and did not get repaired while we were there even though we asked. Our stay was only 3 nights, so not a huge deal and judging by the rest of our experience at the hotel, I would say this was likely an unusual oversight on their part. Triomphe is delightful-the food always delicious, great service there too. I rated 4 stars because I have stayed at 5 star hotels and they do really deserve a class of their own. However, if you are going to Manhattan and do not have a Manhattan 5 star budget, the Iroquois will not disappoint. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rph family man
Business
Napa, CA
Mar 30, 2014

good location near Time Square & Grand Central Station

This Hotel is located close to Time Square, Grand Central Station and the subway system. Although the rooms are small, the location is great. Be sure to compare prices when you go out to eat. Most expensive area to eat is near Time Square. For the better value, check out the dining options at Grand Central Station. The subway was user friendly. We were able to visit Lower Manhattan, Chinatown, and Upper Manhattan areas by using the subway. We also took the subway to visit the Metropolitan Museum on Art, which is an amazing place for families to explore and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro subway system to get around town. We used the subway to visit the Statue of Liberty, 9/11 Memorial, Chinatown, Soho, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Within walking distance, you can visit Grand Central station and also take advantage of the dining options there. The prices seem to be more reasonable if you dine at Grand Central Station, rather than Time Square area. I also recommend using the FreeByFoot Tours if you like walking tours of Lower Manhattan, Chinatown and/or Midtown Manhattan.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jones' go to NYC
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Aug 17, 2012

An excellent hotel experience!

Great location. An oasis of quiet in a very noisy part of NYC. Staff were attentive and helpful whenever we needed assistance. We would definitely stay at the Iroquois again if we are fortunate to go back to NYC in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a hop on/hop off to help get a feel for NYC and the many attractions it has to offer. Then strike out on your own by taking the subway or simply walking to the locations you want to visit.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveU
Business
Twickenham, England
Sep 28, 2012

Great hotel near Times Square

This is a small hotel about 5 mins walk from Times Square. We had 3 rear rooms and these were very quiet, comfortable and a good size and had hair driers, irons and good TV and DVD player and bathroom products. There is a breakfast room but we ate out at a small diner along the street for the experience. The staff and concierge were extremely polite and helpful and there is free wi-fi and also two computers and a printer just off the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French/Italian Bistro one block from the hotel as you walk towards Times Square. Good value and good food.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meb1410
Business
Fruita Colorado
Oct 21, 2012

Great location - not for small kids

Great location - you can walk to the theaters, Times Square,+++. The staff was great and everyone was very helpful. The only negative I have is that I was traveling with my 10 year old and the restaurant was not really geared toward young kids so we had to leave the hotel to eat lunch or dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amwrew
Business
Indiana, PA
Jun 3, 2014

Great weekend detaway

The hotel is conveniently located. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Relatively quite street, close to everything. Had adjoining rooms with a second private door to make a family suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art of the Brick was a great gallery tour for Legos fans.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnetka, IL
Jun 1, 2009

Perfect Location

This was a Mother-Daughter birthday trip for my 10 year old. The hotel had the perfect location. We were close to Times Square and the theatres. We could also walk to Rockefeller Plaza and Central Park. And it was only a few blocks from the subway, so we also took public transportation. The rooms were clean, the beds were soft and there was a DVD player with movies at the front desk that came in handy. There was also tasty iced tea in the lobby to quench our thirst when we returned late in the afternoon. Other than an unhelpful concierge (she seemed annoyed when I asked her for help), everyone was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papapa
Business
Montreal, Canada AND Stowe, Vermont
Aug 5, 2009

European-like hotel in great location

This was our second time staying at the Iroquois. As with the first, we found the staff to be very professional and polite; the location excellent with many theatres, good restaurants, university clubs and shops just out the door. Fifth Ave. a block away. The only negative was the hotel's unwillingness to honor Orbitz claim that we were entitled to a free continental breakfast. Obviously, a communication breakdown between Orbitz and the hotel. Next time, while we shall continue to use Orbitz, we shall communicate with the Iroquois BEFORE our trip to ensure that they are in full agreement with our Orbitz reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an EXCELLENT Greek restaurant, KELLARI, a short walk ( several yards ) from the Iroquois in the direction of Fifth Ave. on 44th.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma P.
Business
Stafford, VA
Dec 6, 2010

Awsome. Highly Recommended

Our first trip to NYC. Hotel was fanastic. Nicest bed I have ever slept in. Three of the softest pillows, down comforter, nightly turn down service. This was an excellent hotel supurb location. Best nights sleep. Super warm room on a cold night. Clean, clean, clean. Do not hestitate to stay here, you will be glad you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway shows were just a short walk away. This location allows you to do so much. Staff was very kind, polite and made our stay great.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
Mar 29, 2011

Great old New York hotel

Staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms were small but clean with luxurious beds and linens. Location was great, close to Times Square and theaters with easy access to Fifth Avenue. Would not hesitate to recommend it and would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top