$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
132 reviews
Great hotel

Amazing location, beautiful, with an amazing staff See full review

  • Gramary
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great NY stay!

Was my 8 year old daughters first trip to NY and it was a perfect location to walk anywhere. Rooms... See full review

  • Mom from Detroit MI
  • Aug 5, 2014
The excitement and bustle of the city fades as you step into our sanctuary, beautifully finished in the manner of an elegant private mansion. The original 1900 French limestone facade and the stunning brass carriage lamps framing double mahogany front doors, are a fitting welcome to the European-inspired decor within. 114 newly remodeled guestrooms with warm tones highlighted by mahogany and suede headboards and Simmons BeautyRest mattress, Frette linens and robes, goosedown pillows. The bathrooms feature floor-to-ceiling Italian marble, Anichini towels, and Molton Brown bath products. Complimentary overnight shoeshine and daily delivery of the New York Times to your room, along with turndown service accompanied by Le Belge Chocolates. Enjoy Lodgenet Digital Films on a 32" LG flat-screen HD TV with DVD. Nintendo games. Each guestroom and suite features a two-line phones with direct private line and voicemail, as well as complimentary wireless and DSL Internet access. In-room safe.Suites feature an opulent living room for relaxation and socializing. **Please note that The Iroquois Hotel is a non-smoking property** Here is the center of activity that makes New York one of the world's most exciting cities, and the Iroquois is located at its core. So many within a 5-7 minute walk: 5th Avenue shopping, the Empire State Building, Times Square and Broadway's theaters. Then add: the magnificent New York Public Library and Bryant Park; the Museum of Modern Art, Radio City Music Hall and Top of the Rock and everything Rockefeller Center, with St. Patrick's Cathedral. Personalized service. Concierge. Complimentary morning coffee and welcome iced tea and cider. Le Petit Triomphe for continental and full breakfasts daily. Highly rated Triomphe restaurant for lunch and dinner (closed Sunday). Triomphe's Bar, daily. 24-hour Fitness center with Finnish sauna. New York Library Business Center with AIRS NYC airport information and library

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iroquois New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Iroquois New York Rooms

Suites
Suite-600 sq.ft- Master Bedroom with King bed. Living room with Queen sofa bed. Whirlpool tub with separate shower.Both rooms overlook 44th Street. Separate sitting with TV, CD, DVD. Suites include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Maximum occupancy:4 Pets are not allowed. You also receive a complimentary City Pass with your reservation for a suite. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room:1 Queen Bed - 270-300 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Classic
Classic Room: 2 Double- 250 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 plus 1 child if under age of 12. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Superior
Superior Room: 1 Double or 1 Queen-250-270 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Premium King
Premium Room:1 King size bed-300 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi

Dining

Triomphe
A highly acclaimed French-American restaurant serving seasonal cuisines by chef Steven Zobel. Breakfast(Mon-Sun), Lunch(Mon-Sat), Dinner(Mon-Sat)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 132
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DLGW
Business
San Jose
Oct 1, 2012

Need air

It was so hot in our room. Couldn't sleep at all at night. (It was 5x degree outside but the room is 7x degree) After several complains, finally head some fan noise but still very hot. I had to open the window and it was so noisy. We bumped to some other guests in the morning and they said the same thing. Believe they turned the AC off just to save some electricity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dora Dee
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 25, 2013

New York Weekend Getaway

This is an ordindary hotel with few extras. Our "deluxe" room was exceptionally small. The end of the queen size bed practically fell into the bathroon door opening. There was no room to manuever. Had we not been so scheduled while we were in New York we would have insisted on changing the room. Unfortuneatley we didn't, and the memory of our stay at the Iroquis is tainted. We will not be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 30, 2010

Clean but not worth the money

I would not recommend this hotel unless you're just looking for a clean room in a decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flatmark1
Business
South Cave, East Yorkshire
Oct 7, 2012

Heart of New York

Good hotel in an excellent location. Actually is minutes from Times Square. Staff were very nice and helpful. The only issue was the noise from the kitchen extraction system on a building opposite, we stayed in a room at the rear, it did not actually keep us away. We were offered the chance to move rooms if it was a problem. We stayed were we where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to go to the Red Flame for good cheap breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane the Explorer
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Mar 18, 2014

Great location but tiny, dark rooms

Everything about the Iroquois Hotel was lovely except our tiny, dark room. The location, friendly staff, the library, free coffee in the lobby, and convenient elevators made the Iroquois special. However, our tiny, dark room, with one window that faced a brick wall, was depressing. We had a queen-sized room. At check-in, they tried to upgrade us to a king-size; maybe we should have tried that instead. Other NYC hotels have been much more spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HNM
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 4, 2010

Iroquois good and bad...

This was the perfectly located for staying near Times Square. Everything was within walking distance. It is set off on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel itself is quiant with an elegant restaurant that is Zagat rated. The staff was attentive and helpful throughout our stay. Nevertheless, the staff could not help with the cramped room. I realize it is New York, but if you are going to call yourself a luxury hotel you should deliver on that promise. The queen bed barely fit in the room. More importantly, it did not provide an adequate sleep. We were willing to upgrade, but because of the holiday season a larger room was not available. Our suitcase could not be opened properly to put our clothes in the drawer. The bathroom did not allow two people to be in at the same time. My wife and I are small people she is 5'2 100lbs and I am 5'7 160lbs. We do not think two larger adults would fit in the room that was provided for us. A room in a luxury hotel should be larger then our closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Jan 11, 2010

Expectations met

Location is fantastic, right in the heart of the city, not too noisy. Gym was adequate if you want to waste your time there. Rooms are small, but most rooms are in NY, staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the elevator was slow, but hardly an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sambodia7
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Okay, not great.

Overall, the hotel was worth the money spent - we got a great deal and the location was great. But the room was TINY, as was the bathroom, making it nearly impossible for two people to get ready at the same time. If you're alone, the space would be fine. In addition, our one small window faced essentially a stone wall which let very little natural light in. The con here is that there was no way to tell what the weather was like outside - even on bright, sunshine-filled days. The pro is that is was very quiet, and we had no problems resting. The room was adequate for our needs, but I doubt I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to subway at Grand Central Station and 42nd/Bryant Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teebs
Business
uk
Nov 22, 2011

great city break

Great small hotel near Times square. Welcoming and helpful staff and perfectly comfortable room. I would happily have stayed for longer and would stay again if I return to New York in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and C
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 3, 2011

Cozy, comfortable hotel

Great location, friendly, outgoing, responsive staff. Concierge extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Room was nice, clean, but small. It seemed like a room for one and we were two. Had to request an extra chair. We were told this was standard size for category in which we had been booked. Slow elevator service, but elevator is being replaced so should be better in the future. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top