$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
135 reviews
Quiet, yet central to everything

Great small hotel, excellent concierge assistance with recommendations and reservations. See full review

  • NYC fan mom w teenagers
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great staff. Very quiet room ( hard to find in NYC)

Warm, welcoming and cozy. We will go back. We r locals and have been to all the great hotels in... See full review

  • thomas
  • Jan 6, 2015
Quiet oasis escape in the heart of New York City
Step into tranquil The Iroquois New York and be swept away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of popular destinations such as 5th Avenue, the Empire State Building, Bryant Park and the theaters of Broadway. In contrast, discover a calm and tranquil sanctuary inside of the building. The French-American restaurant on-site inspires the design of the hotel. The Iroquois New York feels like an elegant private mansion and serves complimentary morning coffee.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The facade of the building is comprised of original 1900s French limestone
  • Walking distance from many of the most popular and well-known destinations in New York City
  • Amenities appeal to both leisure and business travelers
The Iroquois New York Rooms
The 114 rooms of The Iroquois New York contain fresh Frette linens and contemporary decor. Brass carriage lamps surrounding mahogany doors welcome guests in classic European style. The rooms provide comfort for both leisure and business travelers. The nine suites in the hotel ramp up the luxury. They include bonus amenities such as Jacuzzi tubs, two HD televisions and views overlooking 44th Street in New York City. The sophisticated design boasts features such as Italian marble in the bathrooms. The Iroquois New York raises the bar by adding distinctive touches such as turndown service with Le Belge chocolates, Molton Brown bath products and iHome complimentary in each room.
Things To Do:
  • Bryant Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Chrysler Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Iroquois New York is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iroquois New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Iroquois New York Rooms

Suites
Suite-600 sq.ft- Master Bedroom with King bed. Living room with Queen sofa bed. Whirlpool tub with separate shower.Both rooms overlook 44th Street. Separate sitting with TV, CD, DVD. Suites include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Maximum occupancy:4 Pets are not allowed. You also receive a complimentary City Pass with your reservation for a suite. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room:1 Queen Bed - 270-300 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Classic
Classic Room: 2 Double- 250 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 plus 1 child if under age of 12. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Superior
Superior Room: 1 Double or 1 Queen-250-270 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Premium King
Premium Room:1 King size bed-300 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi

Dining

Triomphe
A highly acclaimed French-American restaurant serving seasonal cuisines by chef Steven Zobel. Breakfast(Mon-Sun), Lunch(Mon-Sat), Dinner(Mon-Sat)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Lovely Hotel for Weekend Getaway

The Iroquois was updated, attractive, well-appointed, comfortable, and convenient to just about everything. The staff was accommodating and knowledgeable. My only complaint was with the service in the restaurant where, after being ignored, we finally walked out. I was especially disappointed because the menu looked terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Food, theater, shopping, and trasportation are all within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
May 25, 2009

Great hotel, great location!

This hotel is in a fantastic location, right between 5th and 6th Avenues, just steps to everything! Check-in was a breeze, and we lucked out because our room was ready when we arrived from the airport at 9:30 am! I'd called the hotel with questions a couple of times before the trip, and they were always VERY friendly and happy to assist me. (They even switched my room over the phone because I needed two separate beds, even though I'd initially booked only one bed with CheapTickets. They fulfilled my request on the phone, then emailed me confirmation of the change immediately.) The room was ALWAYS SPOTLESS. It's like they touch it up every time you leave the room! Every room comes with turn-down service, and they re-cleaned the room with the turn-down service each night! We NEVER had to re-use a towel, toiletries were replaced without request, and we were always welcomed with chocolates on our pillows. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in! Also, they serve the BEST raspberry tea in the lobby every afternoon. Just grab a cold glass on your way up to your room. This was the BEST hotel I've ever stayed in, and I'm a well-traveled person. Also, the room we stayed in had 2 beds, which is their cheapest room, yet we were treated with the same great service as if we had a penthouse suite. (We did not utilize the concierge service, so I cannot comment on that.) Also, 'The Red Flame' diner just 2 doors down has GREAT breakfast, and prompt, friendly service. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss walking across the Brooklyn Bridge! It's just a short subway ride away (catch the subway at Grand Central Station, just a couple of blocks from the hotel). Walking the Brooklyn Bridge was BY FAR the best part of our vacation! It's free, very relaxing, and the views are stunning. We got there around 9:30 in the morning, and it took about an hour and a half to walk all the way across and back (only because we stopped a million times for pictures). WELL worth your time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
novowels
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 8, 2009

Great Hotel

Wonderful hotel. I don't have a single complaint. Great location, wonderful service and clean rooms. Perfect place to stay for a weekend New York trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk as much as possible. Driving is impossible and cabs get stuck in traffic around the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ok
Business
switzerland
Nov 7, 2010

superb

i work for an airline and i nerver had such a nice hotel. such a good service and such a very professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
XlBG
Business
Florida, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Excellent location, clean and pretty rooms. The personnel was absolutely friendly and helpful.

We will stay in this hotel every time we visit NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
giffy
Business
Iowa
Dec 23, 2011

holiday get-away

Wonderful hotel, extremely competent concierge, stafff friendly. Best of all centrally located forall the hot spots in midtown. Have stayed before and will stay again next time we're in Mahattan. Love it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
billh66
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Quiet hotel in the heart of the city

The Iroquois hotel was amazing, i loved the location just 2 blocks off times square on a quiet side street. The subways are very close, and if you seeing a broadway show most of the theaters are on the same block or very close by. the staff was excellent i actually got there super early 7:00 a.m due to a red eye flight and they had my room waiting, that was totally unexpected. there is a great bar and restaurant in the hotel, as well as many chain restaurants in the neighborhood. This is the hotel to go too if you want to be near the action but still be able to close your door and leave it behind when you want to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

it is only a short walk to the subways take a downtown train to soho and you are in shoppers heaven, lots of shops for every budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC GREAT PLACE TO STAY
Business
Charlotte, MI 48813, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Awesome Place to Stay

My stay at the Iroquois was amazing. The staff was super helpful with everything and made my wife and I feel welcome while we were there. Also the concierge helped us with booking tickets to broadway and tours around the city. I would definitely stay here again. One of the best places and vacations I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Iroquois is on a quiet street that is only a couple blocks away from Broadway, Times Square and many other NYC attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMS Judy
Business
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Love the cozy ambience of the hotel and bar. It's our favorite place to stay in NY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish You Were Here
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 5, 2012

These great reviews are true!

It's rare that I agree with the bulk of stellar reviews I read. In the case of the Iroquois, they're true! The folks there are welcoming, warm and helpful. We had a queen-sized bed room, and though they tried to up-sell us to a king-sized bed room that was "50 sq feet larger" we were perfectly delighted with the size of our room. Really perfect for two people. The bathroom was gorgeous - great tub and shower and lovely amenities: bathrobes, great linens, towels, and soaps, turn-down service with chocolates on the pillows, free dvd's. The cleaning people kept shorting us hand towels and wash cloths, but they quickly brought them up. We would have preferred to get own own ice, but had to call the front desk for it. Still, no big deal. Internet and coffee in lobby and library area. Location is excellent for tourists like us! Concierge, bellman and front desk folks were all great as well as the engineers/maintenance guys we met on the elevator. One thing they are working on: they need a second working elevator. Can't recommend the Iroquois enough, and we will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be a tourist: buy the Greyline Hop-On-Hop-Off tours for all over the city and night time. A great way to see and do a lot in a short amount of time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top