$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
130 reviews
Great hotel

Amazing location, beautiful, with an amazing staff See full review

  • Gramary
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great NY stay!

Was my 8 year old daughters first trip to NY and it was a perfect location to walk anywhere. Rooms... See full review

  • Mom from Detroit MI
  • Aug 5, 2014
Quiet oasis escape in the heart of New York City
Step into tranquil Iroquois New York and be swept away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of popular destinations such as 5th Avenue, the Empire State Building, Bryant Park and the theaters of Broadway. In contrast, discover a calm and tranquil sanctuary inside of the building. The French-American restaurant on-site inspires the design of the hotel. The Iroquois New York feels like an elegant private mansion and serves complimentary morning coffee.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • The façade of the building is comprised of original 1900s French limestone
  • Walking distance from many of the most popular and well-known destinations in New York City
  • Amenities appeal to both leisure and business travelers
Iroquois New York Rooms
The 114 rooms of the Iroquois New York hotel contain fresh Frette linens and contemporary decor. Brass carriage lamps surrounding mahogany doors welcome guests in classic European style. The rooms provide comfort for both leisure and business travelers. The nine suites in the hotel ramp up the luxury. They include bonus amenities such as Jacuzzi tubs, two HD televisions and views overlooking 44th Street in New York City. The sophisticated design boasts features such as Italian marble in the bathrooms. The Iroquois New York raises the bar by adding distinctive touches such as turndown service with Le Belge chocolates, Molton Brown bath products and iHome complimentary in each room.
Things To Do:
  • Bryant Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Chrysler Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Please note that The Iroquois Hotel is a nonsmoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7557 -73.9821
Area served
New York City - Midtown Manhattan Parking is available for a fee. Valet Parking - $55 for 24 hours (add additional $10 for SUV or trucks) Self-Park - $35 for 24 hours (add additional $10 for SUV or truck) No in & our priviledges.
Nearby airports
JFK Intl-14 miles; LGA-9 miles. The hotel can arrange airport pick-up to hotel from JFK, LGA or EWR for a fee. Please contact 212 840-3080 for further information.
Area description
Theater District, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Times Square, Rockerfeller Center, Empire State Building, Midtown Manhattan Corporate Offices.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iroquois New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Iroquois New York Rooms

Suites
Suite-600 sq.ft- Master Bedroom with King bed. Living room with Queen sofa bed. Whirlpool tub with separate shower.Both rooms overlook 44th Street. Separate sitting with TV, CD, DVD. Suites include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Maximum occupancy:4 Pets are not allowed. You also receive a complimentary City Pass with your reservation for a suite. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room:1 Queen Bed - 270-300 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Classic
Classic Room: 2 Double- 250 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 plus 1 child if under age of 12. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Superior
Superior Room: 1 Double or 1 Queen-250-270 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Premium King
Premium Room:1 King size bed-300 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi

Dining

Triomphe
A highly acclaimed French-American restaurant serving seasonal cuisines by chef Steven Zobel. Breakfast(Mon-Sun), Lunch(Mon-Sat), Dinner(Mon-Sat)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingston
Nov 16, 2008

My review of The Iroquois New York

The focus here is location. The hotel is close to everywhere we were looking to go. The room itself was fine...small and the view was the side of the next building... But the room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Times Square and everything that goes with it... great location for this

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jickyjack
St. Paul, MN
Oct 4, 2009

One Big Apple Weekend for First Timers

Short Version: Loved it, clean, friendly staff, would stay again. Long Version: Surprised my wife with a weekend in Manhattan, it was the first time to NYC for both of us. I had read a lot of reviews and had found very favorable reviews of The Iroquois New York. NYC can be pretty overwhelming and the location of the hotel, while central and only blocks from Times Square and 5th Ave, was a peaceful haven to come back to. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and serving. Our "Deluxe" room was adequate size for 2 people, nothing more, but what more do you need? The water pressure was incredible for those who lover showers and the towels and robes were extraordinarily plush. The turn-down service and chocolates made you feel like royalty. The room was VERY clean and well decorated and the linens were excellent. We gave the hotel 4 stars... I would even have given it 4.5 if allowed. With that said, here are our negatives: 1. The DVD player in our room was a piece of junk that didn't work... which kind of made the free DVD library they had available pretty pointless. We tried to watch a movie the first night we flew in (late). #energyfail 2. There was no ice machine available for guests. Which means they have to bring you ice, one small bucket at a time. We had some waters (there is a walgreens right around the corner to buy things cheap like water, soda, beer) and it was pretty strange calling the front desk every time you wanted a handful of ice. #keepingbeveragescoldfail 3. The hotel (built in 1900) has central air... which essentially means that you don't have much control over the temperature of your room. The hotel room was 74, I prefer sleeping in cooler temps and we ended up opening the bathroom window to let in some cool air (thank goodness it was 60's outside). #hotroomfail All in all, The Iroquois New York is an excellent hotel, and I would definitely recommend staying there, just know to expect that like anything in life not everything can be perfect all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Around the corner there is a walgreens with beverages and snacks cheaper than the hotel has to offer. 2. Across the street is a bar called the "Figaro" it looks like a Martini bar for pinky-flashing suits, but it's actually where a bunch of the local hotel staff hang our after work, a "local" bar of sorts which cheap drinks, fun people, and a great bartender from Montreal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jun 1, 2009

"Loved the Location"

We just loved the Hotel Iroquois. It is in a wonderful location and the entire place is immaculate. One of the cleanest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in and the hotel staff was very helpful and attentive. Just a few minutes walk to subway and the NYC attractions. A real find in a busy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Flame Diner just a few doors down was very good for breakfast in the morning. Very fast service and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barnstormer
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Short stay

My wife and I made arrangements to stay overnight literally minutes before we drove into the city. We were very happy with the hotel. The staff was wonderful! Friendly and very helpful, from the man who greeted us at our car to the inside staff, they made it so easy for us to relax. In spite of our late arrival at 4:40 PM, the concierge managed to get us tickets to a Broadway Play as well as seats at a great restaurant both a short walk away. The room was clean and comfortable, although small, which you can expect in many NYC rooms when you are not paying Top Dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast was GREAT at the Red Flame Coffee Shop a fairly large diner type place about 400 feet away from the hotel entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norman
Jun 23, 2008

Great Location

The hotel overall was very nice. The staff could be friendlier. The very worst thing was our corner room, which was roomy, had a mechanical unit right outside and the thing NEVER shut off the entire time we were there. 3 days! For this reason alone I will stay somewhere else next time. I could hardly sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was everything. We were close enough to walk to everything. And grand central was near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot Room
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 5, 2013

Nice Hotel with a couple issues

Had an overall good stay, except there was no control over the room temperature, and every time you need ice you have to call the desk and have it brought up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geeff
Scotland
Oct 22, 2012

A good hotel

To be honest the hotel was fine, not fantastic, all appliances in good condition, and clean and tidy. But the one thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities in the room, only a small thing, but when you like to have a cuppa as soon as you wake up, it's some thing you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morton's steakhouse, an absolutely fantastic steak, not the cheapest place to eat $50 for a steak, but has to be done, I don't think you would be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and C
Wisconsin
Dec 3, 2011

Cozy, comfortable hotel

Great location, friendly, outgoing, responsive staff. Concierge extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Room was nice, clean, but small. It seemed like a room for one and we were two. Had to request an extra chair. We were told this was standard size for category in which we had been booked. Slow elevator service, but elevator is being replaced so should be better in the future. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derbyman 66
UK
Jun 12, 2012

Good Hotel but don't eat!

Really nice stay in very good hotel with pleasant staff but the breakfast was so so expensive! poor quality and very little on the plate at $68 for the two of us. No need to ask why the restaurant is empty every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoosier Scientist
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
Aug 7, 2012

Great place to stay in NYC

The Iroquois Hotel was a terrific place for my stay in New York. Right in the center of midtown Manhattan, it is extremely convenient (2 blocks from the Newark airport shuttle pickup, easy access to subway & buses). I don't travel to NYC very frequently, so the concierge was extremely helpful. My room was not large but was comfortable, the free wireless Internet was convenient, and I appreciated touches like my daily copy of the NY Times and the free shoeshine service. The hotel is 2 blocks from Bryant Park, one of my favorite NYC locations and right next to the NY Public Library. And -- especially valuable in NYC nowadays -- no bedbug reports!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search