$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
View map of 49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T. Brady
Business
Chestnut Hill
Apr 6, 2015

Good Midtown Stop

This is a hotel for those on the go. If you are in town for just a day or two, or just need a place to crash before your next meeting, the Iroquois is a fine choice. The Molton Brown shower amenities smell great. The Gym and Sauna are adequate for getting a good sweat going. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eric Rai
Business
tarzana
May 13, 2015

not the best in NY but practical

You choose the price, area and star level. We'll find a quality name brand or independent hotel for you in seconds. All hotels are backed by our Best Price Guarantee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mountbell
Business
sacramento ca
Jan 25, 2014

What we wish all of New York were like

We always try to stay at the Iroquois when we come to New York for theater. It is located on one of the great historic blocks in Manhattan with the Harvard Club and the Bar Association across the street and the Algonquin of literary fame just a few doors away. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive and astonishingly good at anticipating our needs. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable in the compact fashion that is customary among older hotels in the city. We have never been impressed with the restaurant that's attached to the hotel, but the Lamb's Club and numerous other superb restaurants are within easy walking distance. Best of all if you plan on seeing a lot of theater, you are only a block away from Times Square. If the city begins to descend back into anarchy as many people expect with the election of this new mayor, my recommendation might change. But for now, if you need to be in mid-town, the Iroquois could be your best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the great New York dining establishments such as the Lamb's Club and the Oyster Bar at Grand Central, which are nearby, there is a lesser known Italian restaurant in the next block of West 44th, the Osteria al Doge, which serves faultless dishes in the Venetian style.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Peps
Business
Oklahoma
Jan 24, 2014

Good location

The hotel was nice and in a good location. It's close to Times Square, broadway, grand central station, 5th Ave, Empire State Bldg, and Central Park. The room was nice, but a little small. Most rooms do not have a street view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC every January mom
Business
Michigan
Jan 28, 2014

Classic New York Elegance

This was our second stay at the Iroquois. We really liked it both times. The location is perfect-central to most of what we wanted to do in Manhattan (shows, shopping, sightseeing and checking out music colleges for my daughter), yet tucked away on a quiet block. The staff is excellent-would give the service 6 stars if I could. Concierge Bill is a gem...hey Bill, thanks for the prosecco at the lovely Greek restaurant you recommended...a fun surprise! The room is quite clean-a solid 4-star clean with nice touches-turndown chocolates, free NY Times, good wifi, etc. Our shower did not drain well and did not get repaired while we were there even though we asked. Our stay was only 3 nights, so not a huge deal and judging by the rest of our experience at the hotel, I would say this was likely an unusual oversight on their part. Triomphe is delightful-the food always delicious, great service there too. I rated 4 stars because I have stayed at 5 star hotels and they do really deserve a class of their own. However, if you are going to Manhattan and do not have a Manhattan 5 star budget, the Iroquois will not disappoint. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gobears88
Business
Cary, NC
Mar 23, 2014

Smaller rooms but nicely appointed

This was our second stay. The rooms are small but they are nicely appointed and the location is good. NYC is expensive generally so I am not sure how it is on value but we like the hotel. We go down the street for breakfast however - the hotel is too expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at Basso56 near the Park. It's delicious and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rph family man
Business
Napa, CA
Mar 30, 2014

good location near Time Square & Grand Central Station

This Hotel is located close to Time Square, Grand Central Station and the subway system. Although the rooms are small, the location is great. Be sure to compare prices when you go out to eat. Most expensive area to eat is near Time Square. For the better value, check out the dining options at Grand Central Station. The subway was user friendly. We were able to visit Lower Manhattan, Chinatown, and Upper Manhattan areas by using the subway. We also took the subway to visit the Metropolitan Museum on Art, which is an amazing place for families to explore and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro subway system to get around town. We used the subway to visit the Statue of Liberty, 9/11 Memorial, Chinatown, Soho, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Within walking distance, you can visit Grand Central station and also take advantage of the dining options there. The prices seem to be more reasonable if you dine at Grand Central Station, rather than Time Square area. I also recommend using the FreeByFoot Tours if you like walking tours of Lower Manhattan, Chinatown and/or Midtown Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mymra
Business
Vancouver
Aug 25, 2010

good location

I`ve been in hotel with my son 7 yo. It`s great location to walk to Times square, Rock plaza etc...Room was very clean...Very quiet place...Staff very friendly.. But....One day we came back and it smelled like someone have smoked in our non-smoking room...I even know who is that...So we have been moved in another room instantly...But despite everything I would recommend this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elio
Business
orlando florida
Oct 11, 2011

Excellent hotel

Gracious and helpful staff in an elegant laid back hotel. An excellent stay. I will return. The restaurant is superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teebs
Business
uk
Nov 22, 2011

great city break

Great small hotel near Times square. Welcoming and helpful staff and perfectly comfortable room. I would happily have stayed for longer and would stay again if I return to New York in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top