$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
View map of 49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
133 reviews
Fantastic suite stay

Wonderful hotel in superb central location. A real oasis of calm in the city yet steps away from... See full review

  • Mark.
  • Jun 29, 2015
Perfect location

Could not be better placed. Turn right and walk two blocks into Times Square. Turn left and 5th... See full review

  • Ricardo P.
  • Jun 26, 2015
Step into tranquil The Iroquois New York and be swept away from the hustle and bustle of Midtown Manhattan. The hotel is within walking distance of popular destinations such as 5th Avenue, the Empire State Building, Bryant Park and the theaters of Broadway. In contrast, discover a calm and tranquil sanctuary inside of the building. The French-American restaurant on-site inspires the design of the hotel. The Iroquois New York feels like an elegant private mansion and serves complimentary morning coffee.
Rooms
The 114 rooms of The Iroquois New York contain fresh Frette linens and contemporary decor. Brass carriage lamps surrounding mahogany doors welcome guests in classic European style. The rooms provide comfort for both leisure and business travelers. The nine suites in the hotel ramp up the luxury. They include bonus amenities such as Jacuzzi tubs, two HD televisions and views overlooking 44th Street in New York City. The sophisticated design boasts features such as Italian marble in the bathrooms. The Iroquois New York raises the bar by adding distinctive touches such as turndown service with Le Belge chocolates, Molton Brown bath products and iHome complimentary in each room.
Highlights
  • The facade of the building is comprised of original 1900s French limestone
  • Walking distance from many of the most popular and well-known destinations in New York City
  • Amenities appeal to both leisure and business travelers
Nearby attractions
  • Bryant Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Chrysler Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies
  • Please note that The Iroquois New York is a non-smoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Iroquois New York also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$152
4.2 / 5 526 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 553 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.3 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$129
4.4 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 113 reviews
★★★★
$249
4.1 / 5 448 reviews
★★★★
$159
3.8 / 5 191 reviews
★★★★
$245
4.4 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 253 reviews

The Iroquois New York Rooms

Classic
Classic Room: 2 Double- 250 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 plus 1 child if under age of 12. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Superior
Superior Room: 1 Double or 1 Queen-250-270 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy: 2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Premium King
Premium Room:1 King size bed-300 sq.ft. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Suites
Suite-600 sq.ft- Master Bedroom with King bed. Living room with Queen sofa bed. Whirlpool tub with separate shower.Both rooms overlook 44th Street. Separate sitting with TV, CD, DVD. Suites include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Maximum occupancy:4 Pets are not allowed. Please note that this is a non-smoking room.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room:1 Queen Bed - 270-300 sq.ft. Bedding type is subject to availability. Newly renovated guest rooms include: Simmons Beauty Rest Westbury Mattresses Custom Mahogany and suede headboards with full length mirrors Black absolute Granite tops for desks and night tables Upgraded bedding and Frette Linen Sony Digital clock radios with CD players Desk, night table and new lighting Wall mounted LG flat screen 32 inch TVs with new Lodgenet/Direct TV Pets are not allowed. Maximum occupancy:2 Please note that this is a non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.4 mi

Dining

Triomphe
A highly acclaimed French-American restaurant serving seasonal cuisines by chef Steven Zobel. Breakfast(Mon-Sun), Lunch(Mon-Sat), Dinner(Mon-Sat)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piratedad
Couples
Western North Carolina
Apr 16, 2013

Times Square Gem

The Iroquois is just off Times Square by a block and a half. We loved it. The restaraunt was great. The location is perfect with low traffic and noise and there are some excellent restaraunt, deli and lounges in the area. Also there is Times Square with all its activities a short walk away. I love this place and intend to return over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Lamb's Club for pre-theater dinner. Geoffrey Zacharian runs it and it is fantastic if not a little pricey. Well worth the money. Also try the Brooklyn Diner for lunch, brunch or breakfast! Loved it!

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clara Clean It Up
Friends
N/A
Aug 7, 2015

AWFUL EXPERIENCE

Please avoid this hotel. We have never stayed in such a dirty hotel ( ex. Dirty linen on bed, used socks from previous guests in seat couse ion) as well as unfriendly and incompetent staff. We were treated poorly from the moment we arrived, switching our reserved rooms to ones we didn't want and then they gave away the room were originally reserved. No culpability was taken by front line staff or the supervisor. There are so many other hotel to choose from, please save yourselves the aggravation. You work hard for your money, as do we, and we felt ours was wasted. Choose ANY other hotel for your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DLGW
Couples
San Jose
Oct 1, 2012

Need air

It was so hot in our room. Couldn't sleep at all at night. (It was 5x degree outside but the room is 7x degree) After several complains, finally head some fan noise but still very hot. I had to open the window and it was so noisy. We bumped to some other guests in the morning and they said the same thing. Believe they turned the AC off just to save some electricity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dora Dee
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 25, 2013

New York Weekend Getaway

This is an ordindary hotel with few extras. Our "deluxe" room was exceptionally small. The end of the queen size bed practically fell into the bathroon door opening. There was no room to manuever. Had we not been so scheduled while we were in New York we would have insisted on changing the room. Unfortuneatley we didn't, and the memory of our stay at the Iroquis is tainted. We will not be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 30, 2010

Clean but not worth the money

I would not recommend this hotel unless you're just looking for a clean room in a decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mara J.
Couples
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

The room had no heat and the staff brought in room heaters for bedroom and bath.

The room did not have heat. The staff brought in space heaters . One for the bedroom and one for the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Use train and cabs!

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clara Clean It Up
Friends
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Disappointment

I am a frequent traveller to New York City and have enjoyed many hotel stays in this wonderful city. By far, this was the most disappointing hotel. Although location was good, hotel staff were misleading with information and very unprofessional. I would not recommend this hotel. There are many other lovely hotels in New York City to visit. Don't waste your time or money on this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clara Clean It Up
Friends
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Disappointment

I am a frequent traveller to New York City and have enjoyed many hotel stays in this wonderful city. By far, this was the most disappointing hotel. Although location was good, hotel staff were misleading with information and very unprofessional. I would not recommend this hotel. There are many other lovely hotels in New York City to visit. Don't waste your time or money on this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane the Explorer
Couples
Richmond, Virginia
Mar 18, 2014

Great location but tiny, dark rooms

Everything about the Iroquois Hotel was lovely except our tiny, dark room. The location, friendly staff, the library, free coffee in the lobby, and convenient elevators made the Iroquois special. However, our tiny, dark room, with one window that faced a brick wall, was depressing. We had a queen-sized room. At check-in, they tried to upgrade us to a king-size; maybe we should have tried that instead. Other NYC hotels have been much more spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flatmark1
Couples
South Cave, East Yorkshire
Oct 7, 2012

Heart of New York

Good hotel in an excellent location. Actually is minutes from Times Square. Staff were very nice and helpful. The only issue was the noise from the kitchen extraction system on a building opposite, we stayed in a room at the rear, it did not actually keep us away. We were offered the chance to move rooms if it was a problem. We stayed were we where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to go to the Red Flame for good cheap breakfast.

Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HNM
Couples
Houston, Texas
Jan 4, 2010

Iroquois good and bad...

This was the perfectly located for staying near Times Square. Everything was within walking distance. It is set off on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel itself is quiant with an elegant restaurant that is Zagat rated. The staff was attentive and helpful throughout our stay. Nevertheless, the staff could not help with the cramped room. I realize it is New York, but if you are going to call yourself a luxury hotel you should deliver on that promise. The queen bed barely fit in the room. More importantly, it did not provide an adequate sleep. We were willing to upgrade, but because of the holiday season a larger room was not available. Our suitcase could not be opened properly to put our clothes in the drawer. The bathroom did not allow two people to be in at the same time. My wife and I are small people she is 5'2 100lbs and I am 5'7 160lbs. We do not think two larger adults would fit in the room that was provided for us. A room in a luxury hotel should be larger then our closet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top