$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
View map of 49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheMillers
Business
Oxford uk
Apr 12, 2014

Super location for Central NYC

This hotel is in a super location, within a couple of block for Times Square and Grand Central. We arrived and was allocated a huge room that was filled with high end amenities and was exceptionally clean. We were booked in for room only but was provided with complimentary continental breakfast for each morning this was a real plus at $20 each!!!! Would definitely return or recommend :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Station - go to the food level and eat burger & fries from 'Juniors' - great staff, super food at reasonable prices, not the usual inflated NYC prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rph family man
Business
Napa, CA
Mar 30, 2014

good location near Time Square & Grand Central Station

This Hotel is located close to Time Square, Grand Central Station and the subway system. Although the rooms are small, the location is great. Be sure to compare prices when you go out to eat. Most expensive area to eat is near Time Square. For the better value, check out the dining options at Grand Central Station. The subway was user friendly. We were able to visit Lower Manhattan, Chinatown, and Upper Manhattan areas by using the subway. We also took the subway to visit the Metropolitan Museum on Art, which is an amazing place for families to explore and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro subway system to get around town. We used the subway to visit the Statue of Liberty, 9/11 Memorial, Chinatown, Soho, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Within walking distance, you can visit Grand Central station and also take advantage of the dining options there. The prices seem to be more reasonable if you dine at Grand Central Station, rather than Time Square area. I also recommend using the FreeByFoot Tours if you like walking tours of Lower Manhattan, Chinatown and/or Midtown Manhattan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller54
Business
Canada
Mar 30, 2014

NYC getaway!

We had a delightful experience and will most certainly stay again. Thank you so much for the morning greetings, daily Vit C, coffee, cider, and nightly hellos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is so close to everything...by walking you beat the traffic!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martta
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 24, 2014

Peaceful Hotel in Great Location

Extremely personable and catered to our every need. The staff is charming. They doted on our daughter. The location is great. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Le Boite En Bois -- French, for before performances at Lincoln Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gobears88
Business
Cary, NC
Mar 23, 2014

Smaller rooms but nicely appointed

This was our second stay. The rooms are small but they are nicely appointed and the location is good. NYC is expensive generally so I am not sure how it is on value but we like the hotel. We go down the street for breakfast however - the hotel is too expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat at Basso56 near the Park. It's delicious and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane the Explorer
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Mar 18, 2014

Great location but tiny, dark rooms

Everything about the Iroquois Hotel was lovely except our tiny, dark room. The location, friendly staff, the library, free coffee in the lobby, and convenient elevators made the Iroquois special. However, our tiny, dark room, with one window that faced a brick wall, was depressing. We had a queen-sized room. At check-in, they tried to upgrade us to a king-size; maybe we should have tried that instead. Other NYC hotels have been much more spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC every January mom
Business
Michigan
Jan 28, 2014

Classic New York Elegance

This was our second stay at the Iroquois. We really liked it both times. The location is perfect-central to most of what we wanted to do in Manhattan (shows, shopping, sightseeing and checking out music colleges for my daughter), yet tucked away on a quiet block. The staff is excellent-would give the service 6 stars if I could. Concierge Bill is a gem...hey Bill, thanks for the prosecco at the lovely Greek restaurant you recommended...a fun surprise! The room is quite clean-a solid 4-star clean with nice touches-turndown chocolates, free NY Times, good wifi, etc. Our shower did not drain well and did not get repaired while we were there even though we asked. Our stay was only 3 nights, so not a huge deal and judging by the rest of our experience at the hotel, I would say this was likely an unusual oversight on their part. Triomphe is delightful-the food always delicious, great service there too. I rated 4 stars because I have stayed at 5 star hotels and they do really deserve a class of their own. However, if you are going to Manhattan and do not have a Manhattan 5 star budget, the Iroquois will not disappoint. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mountbell
Business
sacramento ca
Jan 25, 2014

What we wish all of New York were like

We always try to stay at the Iroquois when we come to New York for theater. It is located on one of the great historic blocks in Manhattan with the Harvard Club and the Bar Association across the street and the Algonquin of literary fame just a few doors away. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive and astonishingly good at anticipating our needs. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable in the compact fashion that is customary among older hotels in the city. We have never been impressed with the restaurant that's attached to the hotel, but the Lamb's Club and numerous other superb restaurants are within easy walking distance. Best of all if you plan on seeing a lot of theater, you are only a block away from Times Square. If the city begins to descend back into anarchy as many people expect with the election of this new mayor, my recommendation might change. But for now, if you need to be in mid-town, the Iroquois could be your best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to the great New York dining establishments such as the Lamb's Club and the Oyster Bar at Grand Central, which are nearby, there is a lesser known Italian restaurant in the next block of West 44th, the Osteria al Doge, which serves faultless dishes in the Venetian style.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Peps
Business
Oklahoma
Jan 24, 2014

Good location

The hotel was nice and in a good location. It's close to Times Square, broadway, grand central station, 5th Ave, Empire State Bldg, and Central Park. The room was nice, but a little small. Most rooms do not have a street view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kwbullin
Business
Augusta, GA, USA
Jan 10, 2014

NYC Holiday Vacation

Christmas present for my wife. She's particular about Hotel accommodation but The Iroquois didn't disappoint .Great location, well maintained hotel, an accommodated staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Discount tickets for Broadway Musical.. At Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top