$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Iroquois New York

4 stars
View map of 49 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Iroquois New York

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 17, 2009

Great Location

Great location and nice, but small, accomodations. Very convenient to meetings and dinners in the mid-30's to the mid-50's. Would highly reccomend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
novowels
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 8, 2009

Great Hotel

Wonderful hotel. I don't have a single complaint. Great location, wonderful service and clean rooms. Perfect place to stay for a weekend New York trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk as much as possible. Driving is impossible and cabs get stuck in traffic around the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Great Location, Great Decor!

We stayed at the Iroquois as part of a trip to New York City that included seeing HAIR and attending the US Open. The Iroquois is within walking distance to Times Square and trains heading out to the Open. Great restaurants along the same street. Staff was accommodating with getting cabs and travel cars to the airport and reservations at restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 2, 2009

Great location, great price

Would definitely stay there again. The location was wonderful, people were friendly. I think we got a great price. The room was small but it felt homey with the bedding making it seem elegant. The robe was a nice touch since we were traveling light and the bathroom was newly remodeled. Much nicer than the last place we stayed in NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park on a Sunday was beautiful and relaxing. Great for people watching and they sell awesome cinnamon rolls. The NY Public Library has a Reading Section there that is stocked with magazines and newspapers that is a cel phone free zone. Even a section of children's books. I would highly recommend.Next time we plan on getting a bottle of champagne and hanging out there for a respite from the fast pace of the rest of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Copper1395
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Aug 19, 2009

Great place to stay

The hotel staff was so helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Newbie
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 9, 2009

Excellent Hotel Centrally Located

Very centrally located - minutes' walk to Broadway shows, Times Square, subways, shopping. Very helpful concierge and bell service as well. The "library" with free computer/internet access and newspapers is a nice touch as well (if you don't bring a laptop with you). Breakfast service is nice, the in-house Triomphe was not our style, but that's not a complaint, it is very elegant and I am sure the food is terrific. Overall, one of our best hotel experiences ANYWHERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papapa
Business
Montreal, Canada AND Stowe, Vermont
Aug 5, 2009

European-like hotel in great location

This was our second time staying at the Iroquois. As with the first, we found the staff to be very professional and polite; the location excellent with many theatres, good restaurants, university clubs and shops just out the door. Fifth Ave. a block away. The only negative was the hotel's unwillingness to honor Orbitz claim that we were entitled to a free continental breakfast. Obviously, a communication breakdown between Orbitz and the hotel. Next time, while we shall continue to use Orbitz, we shall communicate with the Iroquois BEFORE our trip to ensure that they are in full agreement with our Orbitz reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an EXCELLENT Greek restaurant, KELLARI, a short walk ( several yards ) from the Iroquois in the direction of Fifth Ave. on 44th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoying life!
Business
Salem, Oregon
Jul 14, 2009

Wonderful stay

We always enjoy staying at a hotel that has some old time character to bring us back. This hotel was over 100 years old and refurbished to be a very clean and cozy retreat. The service was great and it was within easy walking distance to alot of nice restaurants and shopping. Would recommend to friend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos & Justine
Business
Inverness, FL
Jul 14, 2009

Doesn't get much better than this

The Iroqouis had it all. It is in a super location, the room was small, but furnished beautifully, and let's face it, who goes to NYC to sit in the room. The location couldn't be better. It's between 5th and 6th Aves, a short walk to Rockefeller Center, and Grand Central Terminal, and just a few more blocks to Central Park. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Iroquois New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sambodia7
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Okay, not great.

Overall, the hotel was worth the money spent - we got a great deal and the location was great. But the room was TINY, as was the bathroom, making it nearly impossible for two people to get ready at the same time. If you're alone, the space would be fine. In addition, our one small window faced essentially a stone wall which let very little natural light in. The con here is that there was no way to tell what the weather was like outside - even on bright, sunshine-filled days. The pro is that is was very quiet, and we had no problems resting. The room was adequate for our needs, but I doubt I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to subway at Grand Central Station and 42nd/Bryant Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top