The Franklin Hotel

4 stars
164 East 87th Street, New York, NY 10128
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
17 reviews
Not luxurious but a terrific bargain

The staff was truly attentive. Clean but small room. Comfortable bed. Not for those who want plush... See full review

  • thehistoryguy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Feels like home!

I love staying at the Franklin. If you are looking for a p;ace to stay on the upper east side it is... See full review

  • Amelia Lyn
  • Oct 15, 2013
The Franklin Hotel

The Franklin Hotel Rooms

STUDIO SUITE - 1 BED
225SF-21M2- BVLGARI AMENITIES-FLAT SCREEN LCD TV-FREE WIFI
Guest Room Petite - 1 Bed
LCD TV- BVLGARI AMENITIES-185SF-17M2- FREE WIFI
Guest Room - 1 Bed
200SF-19M2-LCD TV- BVLGARI AMENITIES -FREE WIFI

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - European
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Doctor on call
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Sofa bed
Shower
Electronic door locks

Hotel Map

40.7798 -73.9542
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.61, MI, NW; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 7.76, MI, W; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 20.28, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.4 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.4 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Asphalt Green: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Carl Schurz Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Academy: 0.4 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 0.4 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 0.4 mi
  • City University of New York: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Asphalt Green: 0.5 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 0.6 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park: 0.6 mi
  • Carl Schurz Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.8 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.8 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 0.9 mi
  • Beresford: 1 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 1 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 1 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 1.2 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 1.2 mi
  • Socrates Sculpture Park: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Isamu Noguchi Sculpture Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 1.3 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 1.3 mi
  • Park Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 1.3 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.4 mi
  • Barney's: 1.4 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 1.4 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 1.4 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 1.4 mi

Dining

European Buffet Breakfast
A complimentary breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room. Enjoy your morning with fresh juices - coffee - a variety of freshly baked pastries - imported cheeses and cured meat.
Wine and Artisanal Cheese Receptions
Join us daily reception from 5pm to 630pm at our wine and cheese reception where you can meet fellow guests and unwind with a selection of complimentary fine wine and a variety of New Yorks finest artisanal cheeses.
24-Hour Espresso and Cappuccino
Complimentary Espresso - cappuccino - coffee - tea are available 24 hours a day via self-service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for The Franklin Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockledge
Nov 13, 2008

My review of The Franklin NYC

As a return guest, I have found the service and all aspects of the hotel outstanding. The location suits my business needs. The staff make every effort to insure a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy all the area has to offer. The hotel is centrally located. Walk down the streets and view buildings that stop time.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockledge
Nov 13, 2008

My review of The Franklin NYC

As a return guest, I have found the service and all aspects of the hotel outstanding. The location suits my business needs. The staff make every effort to insure a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy all the area has to offer. The hotel is centrally located. Walk down the streets and view buildings that stop time.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 3, 2009

Good choice for a short NYC visit

This modest hotel is well positioned for Upper East Side visitors short term. Staff could not be better; breakfast is fantastic. I'm used to small London hotels so was not put off by the diminutive scale of everything. The supershuttle, however never showed up (regardless of calls from the hotel staff the night before and in the morning)so I lost my prepaid $18 and had to take a cab. Avoid that "service" at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chelsea House
Hampton, CT
Jan 2, 2011

Small elegance

Very nice boutique hotel with small but luxurious rooms. Great for an overnight or a few days of uptown luxe. You will have difficulty with opening suitcases as there is little room around the bed and make sure with which you are with someone you can share small spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. Two parking garages are located on the same street.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thehistoryguy
Massachusetts
Jun 6, 2014

Not luxurious but a terrific bargain

The staff was truly attentive. Clean but small room. Comfortable bed. Not for those who want plush lobbies or lots of high-speed amenities, but if you don't plan to spend much time in your hotel and want a happy experience, can't be beat for the price in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need a block away on 86th Street.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I heart New York
South Florida
Mar 21, 2011

The lovliest little hotel on the UES

The Franklin is a charming and romantic hotel located on the upper east side. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. I called to confirm my reservation and mentioned that it was our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a larger room at no charge! We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning with various breads, meat & cheese, cereals, coffees, teas & juice. The staff even let us store our bags since we had a late evening flight the day we checked out. The subway was so close and we enjoyed being within walking distance to Central Park & Museum Mile. The Franklin is a place we will recommend and stay at again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to check out the Lex Restaurant, located at 1370 Lexington between 90 & 91st Streets. Wonderful ambiance, attentive waitstaff and AMAZING Italian food at a reasonable price.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 3, 2009

Good choice for a short NYC visit

This modest hotel is well positioned for Upper East Side visitors short term. Staff could not be better; breakfast is fantastic. I'm used to small London hotels so was not put off by the diminutive scale of everything. The supershuttle, however never showed up (regardless of calls from the hotel staff the night before and in the morning)so I lost my prepaid $18 and had to take a cab. Avoid that "service" at all costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2010

Convenient Location

The location was convenient for our visit. It was easy to catch a cab. Wasn't far from a bus line or subway. A variety of stores and restraunts were within a short walk. The room was decorated nicely with a comfortable bed. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chelsea House
Hampton, CT
Jan 2, 2011

Small elegance

Very nice boutique hotel with small but luxurious rooms. Great for an overnight or a few days of uptown luxe. You will have difficulty with opening suitcases as there is little room around the bed and make sure with which you are with someone you can share small spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the Guggenheim, the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. Two parking garages are located on the same street.

Review of The Franklin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2010

Convenient Location

The location was convenient for our visit. It was easy to catch a cab. Wasn't far from a bus line or subway. A variety of stores and restraunts were within a short walk. The room was decorated nicely with a comfortable bed. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top