$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
277 reviews
nyc christmas trip

i hAD AN EXCELLENT STAY AT THE EMPIRE HOTEL.. THE LOCATION WAS GREAT , THE ROOM WAS CLEAN, AND MUCH... See full review

  • Joaquin M.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Aug 25, 2008

Will never stay here again

One of the worst hotels I have ever had to endure. While the hotel lobby bar is very nice, don't let that fool you! You can come here for a drink, but don't need to stay. The room was smaller than a bread box, even small for a NYC room! Aside from the size, the staff were not well trained: When housekeeping brought 2 foam pillows up she handed me the pillows and then the cases and said Here, you do it!. Housekeeping never took any dirty glasses away, in fact I called room service to pick get them repeatedly. It was colder outside our room (we stayed in NYC in August!)than inside, the air conditioner sure did make a lot of noise but did not work. It was so noisy we actually couldn't hear any street noise and we were on the 2nd floor! The carpet was frayed and dirty. Our Do Not Disturb sign was taken off of our door every morning so that we had the pleasure of housekeeping barging into our room for 3 days from 7am to 9 am every few hours! In the bathroom, when we checked into the room there were hairs (not ours) on the toilet seat, in the shower and in the sink. The reasons we didn't leave are because our friends live around the corner, other friends were waiting for us at the hotel before we even checked in, we had plans early that night, and we didn't have the time to hassle for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChicagoFlyer
Business
Chicago
Apr 17, 2011

Disappointing for Business Traveler

Faux hipster scene prioritized over customer service and professionalism. Given shoebox sized room - even by NYC standards - that overlooked AC units. At first, staff was not responsive to requests to change, but eventually switched me. Little things like cigarette butts in hallways and no wake up calls added to frustration. On positive side, decent bed and good location. Won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Crescent
Jun 10, 2008

A hotel to avoid

We had major problems with the A/C and the electrical in general. It still supports the needs of a hotels and its patrons from 50 to 60 years ago. The circuit breaker would trip but no one knew about it until we returned to our room with temps in the 80's. This happened both nights of our stay. The maintenance staff was either slow or did not show -- the second time, the staff fixed the A/c by running an extension cord to the regular socket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter the Theatre Nomad
Business
Sarasota
Jan 21, 2013

Where's maintenance?

I changed rooms 3 times because there was at least two things broken in each one. In the first there was no place to plug in a computer and the desk lamp didn't work. The second had a broken tv and a missing window shade. And Cable service was down (for which they gave me free breakfast buffet ticket). In the last another lamp was broken and the bathroom sink stopper was broken. The doorman saw I was struggling wind and my bags but did nothing to help. I used to love this hotel, but will no longer stay there or recommend it to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LINCOLN, the new restaurant at Lincoln Center, is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
Business
nyc
Sep 23, 2013

average

not worth the price. far below what i expected. not enough attention to my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanibel chuck
Business
sanibel island, florida
Dec 10, 2012

Great Location, OK Hotel

The Empire Hotel is ideally located next to Lincoln Center, steps away from central Park and a 15 minute walk from 5th Ave shopping. Rooms have been recently upgraded and are fine, with a comfortable bed. Staff is friendly and helpful But this is an old hotel with an old heating and central air system. the room was very warm, and the poor cooling system could not cool it off. Better values in NYC for the price, with newer hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adrian from Canada
Business
Montreal
Jan 7, 2014

little rooms

Little rooms, almost no space, the elevators did not work for a day and the emergency stairs broght all the people to the kitchen, where the door was close. Good location and housekeeping service, front door stuff was just ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinTakeAll
Business
Silicon Valley, California
Jun 30, 2009

Nice but small rooms, tiny and cold pool

Interiors are recently renovated, very modern and stylish, although I'm personally not a great friend of the dark brown color scheme. Rooms are very nice but small. You can't find the floorspace to do some push-ups in either their one-queenbed or even a two-queenbed room. You can't get breakfast at the hotel, but there are plenty of options within a block. The rooftop pool not warm and very small, though the views are nice there. The nightclub crowd is going to like this hotel 'cause as a guest you get in the VIP line into the pretty cool bar/nightclub with a retractable roof on top. Thu-Sat nights there's a long line of non-guests waiting to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael,CA
May 25, 2011

Good location, overpriced,tiny rooms!!!

Very small room. Quinn bed barely fits in it.The shower is very odd. Does not have a door or anything to protect floor from water pouring out .The air conditioner is cheap as in motel,VERY noisy,but you cannot survive without it. Internet service is $13.00 per day per computer.Hotel did not provide printer,so for businessman it was inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located next to Metropolitan opera,Columbus circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robinlbc
Business
LBC
Jun 23, 2014

Big Apple getaway

I arrived to the hotel at 6am the day of my reservation. The manager was more than accommodating by providing me with a room to check-in well before check-in time. This gave me time to take a shower and get ready for my convention later that day. The food is nothing special but more than adequate. It's tough when your in a city with so many fine dinning establishments to compare, This is my second stay here and would have no problem staying here again. This hotel is a great option for those going to Linchlon Center, who enjoy Central Park, and a great central location for all of NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the continental Breakfast on the roof. Also, the pool is a single person lap pool. The sun deck, views, and.cocktails are great up on top. Stay away from the food up there. It would be better to call for take out from your favorite nearby restaurant. It might even get there quicker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top