$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Zed
Business
Cambridge MA
Apr 1, 2014

location, location, location

You cannot beat the location if you are attending events at Lincoln Center. Restaurants, subway stop, and museums are nearby. Staff is friendly, courteous, and competent. Main drawback is that the rooms in the hotel have been sliced up so that each room barely has enough room for two people, and the bathroom hardly accommodates one. No full shower curtain, and you can't bend your head over the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz Lucas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 2, 2014

Weekend in the City

The hotel lobby and restaurants were nice but the rooms were the smallest I've every stayed in. The bathroom was even smaller - the sink was so close to the wall you couldn't stand in between and shabby - bathroom looked run down. Poor lighting in the room. For the price I've stayed in better places in NYC. However, the location was convenient to a lot of areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Times Square - medium distance Museums - long distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamawhompa
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 7, 2014

Great location but needs some help

Checked in on a Friday evening, the front desk (especially Jose) was very helpful. The lobby itself was very cold due to the main doors being left open with the wind gusting inside. The decor is very nice and the hotel is clean. Stayed on a lower floor, so street noise was constant. Also, being there on a weekend, there were lines outside the hotel for the bar/club. With that many people coming and going, there was virtually no security. The location is ideal and why we chose to stay here. Across the street from Lincoln Center, 1 block away from the subway and a 5-10 minute walk from Columbus Circle. I got locked into the bathroom on our 2nd day's stay (due to a flimsy door handle) and when I finally got out (thanks to the person I was staying with) went down and told the front desk. I was told that someone would look at it and assumed they did, although the door knob was still bad. Also, they never offered any compensation or anything for my ordeal. The bathroom shower stall was lovely and had nice shower heads available. The space is small and there was peeling paint on the door jam and bathroom door. The beds were comfortable, the TV very large and pillows were great. No heat second day there and asked about that and as told that the "boiler" doesn't come on unless it's colder than 50 degrees. Overall, it was a mixed bag. Great location, with a few things that could be great improved on the inside. Not sure if I would stay there again for the price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for a real NYC pizza experience? Try Sacco's. It was recommended by the concierge and was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Sam
Business
London
Apr 22, 2014

Good location if seeing a lot of Broadway shows

Overall is it was good except for a couple of annoying things. There didn't seem to be any way to turn down the air con and it was cold on a couple of nights. Many times there were issues with the elevators. Sometimes only one or two out of four were working, which is quite noticeable with such a busy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Room 101
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Dec 21, 2009

Rm 101 Shower - No Hot Water or Pressure

Room was SMALL but clean, heat difficult to work. Bed was comfortable, but shower had no pressure or hot water. That wasn't pleasant. Toothpaste taken at airport, charged $17 at hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shespain
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 21, 2010

5 Star Location, 3 Star Hotel

The room was small but well appointed; however, the room was VERY dingy, dark, and seemed thrown together. The bathroom door jam looked like someone tried to get into it with a crowbar and the wallpaper was peeling near the ceiling in multiple locations. Our duvet cover had a hole in it and my wife kept catching her foot in it...funny after awhile. There was no sheet between the duvet either which was very weird, just a duvet, that's it. As for the location, we were two blocks away from Central Park which makes this hotel worth the booking. If you want the Plaza, then you will not be happy here...it's cheap, better than a hostel, and a perfect location. The staff was good getting us checked in fast, but they did nothing exceptional. I'm not going to rate them high just because they did their job as directed. Rooms again were picked up, but seemed very dirty still, stains on the curtain, etc. Our air conditioner was OLD and EXTREMELY noisy. On top of the noisy A/C, the windows were old so we heard car horns, sirens, and people yelling ALL night and we were on the 5th floor! I can't imagine being at a lower level. Overall, 3 star hotel, 5+ star location, decent nights sleep, cheap for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7-Day subway pass for $27! This will save you hundreds of dollars in cab fare while in NYC. Totally worth the price, and New Yorkers were extremely helpful if ever got mixed up! Don't be afraid to ride the Subway! Google your route before you leave, they will give you the directions via train. Awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliX
Business
Lafayette, CA, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Room too small

The room was far too small. I was almost claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jkrahn
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

marathon weekend

When I arrived at the hotel, a gentleman at the front desk told me I canceled the reservation (not true). After 20 min. another room was given to me. I was told it was an upgrade (they did not mention it was on the smoking floor/smoking room). The hotel was extremely hot-many guests agreed. Could not regulate the cool air. Guests had their windows open. The location was wonderful. Not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
near boston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

family trip

All is good, except beware of the fan noise on the inside rooms. Management was helpful in getting us a street side room, as the fan noise even on the 9th floor was too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donomar
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2012

Weekend in NYC

I was disappointed with what I got considering the price I paid. While not too expensive there are certain things that most places will offer for free that the Empire did not. My main issue was the wifi access. You have to pay extra to be able to access the internet which is one thing that put me off. I had stayed at another hotel just a few weeks before, about the same price offered free wifi and I had come to believe that this was the standard for most hotels. My main issue was that I had to resort to searching on my phone instead of my laptop for nearby places. Another thing that kind of surprised me was the size of the room. There was hardly any space to move around. I guess that one is on me for not knowing my dimensions, but still it was tiny. The bathroom was also very small and the shower was missing half of the sliding door. Above all things that irked me was that they threw out my unopened beers while I was out for the day. Never touch a man's beer without asking. Aside from the small space, comfort level was pretty good. If you are looking for a place to crash this might work for you, just don't try to fit more than two people without one of their suites. They have a bar lounge on the rooftop which is open only to hotel guests and is a nice way to either start or end the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top