$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
267 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shespain
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 21, 2010

5 Star Location, 3 Star Hotel

The room was small but well appointed; however, the room was VERY dingy, dark, and seemed thrown together. The bathroom door jam looked like someone tried to get into it with a crowbar and the wallpaper was peeling near the ceiling in multiple locations. Our duvet cover had a hole in it and my wife kept catching her foot in it...funny after awhile. There was no sheet between the duvet either which was very weird, just a duvet, that's it. As for the location, we were two blocks away from Central Park which makes this hotel worth the booking. If you want the Plaza, then you will not be happy here...it's cheap, better than a hostel, and a perfect location. The staff was good getting us checked in fast, but they did nothing exceptional. I'm not going to rate them high just because they did their job as directed. Rooms again were picked up, but seemed very dirty still, stains on the curtain, etc. Our air conditioner was OLD and EXTREMELY noisy. On top of the noisy A/C, the windows were old so we heard car horns, sirens, and people yelling ALL night and we were on the 5th floor! I can't imagine being at a lower level. Overall, 3 star hotel, 5+ star location, decent nights sleep, cheap for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7-Day subway pass for $27! This will save you hundreds of dollars in cab fare while in NYC. Totally worth the price, and New Yorkers were extremely helpful if ever got mixed up! Don't be afraid to ride the Subway! Google your route before you leave, they will give you the directions via train. Awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliX
Business
Lafayette, CA, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Room too small

The room was far too small. I was almost claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jkrahn
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

marathon weekend

When I arrived at the hotel, a gentleman at the front desk told me I canceled the reservation (not true). After 20 min. another room was given to me. I was told it was an upgrade (they did not mention it was on the smoking floor/smoking room). The hotel was extremely hot-many guests agreed. Could not regulate the cool air. Guests had their windows open. The location was wonderful. Not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
near boston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

family trip

All is good, except beware of the fan noise on the inside rooms. Management was helpful in getting us a street side room, as the fan noise even on the 9th floor was too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donomar
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2012

Weekend in NYC

I was disappointed with what I got considering the price I paid. While not too expensive there are certain things that most places will offer for free that the Empire did not. My main issue was the wifi access. You have to pay extra to be able to access the internet which is one thing that put me off. I had stayed at another hotel just a few weeks before, about the same price offered free wifi and I had come to believe that this was the standard for most hotels. My main issue was that I had to resort to searching on my phone instead of my laptop for nearby places. Another thing that kind of surprised me was the size of the room. There was hardly any space to move around. I guess that one is on me for not knowing my dimensions, but still it was tiny. The bathroom was also very small and the shower was missing half of the sliding door. Above all things that irked me was that they threw out my unopened beers while I was out for the day. Never touch a man's beer without asking. Aside from the small space, comfort level was pretty good. If you are looking for a place to crash this might work for you, just don't try to fit more than two people without one of their suites. They have a bar lounge on the rooftop which is open only to hotel guests and is a nice way to either start or end the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.A.
Business
michigan
Mar 8, 2012

Standard Queen Room designed for one

Beautifully furnished hotel with a quasi-luxurious feel. However, the standard queen room is NOT designed for two people! My daughter & I had to dance around each other. Bathroom was extremely small & came with a pet cockroach. No dresser with drawers. No ice machine; you have to get thru room service. No free wi-fii; cost was high. Staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vegan couple
Business
Maine, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Excellent location for Lincoln Center

We stayed at this hotel years ago, then it closed while being renovated in 2007. Now went back, mainly for its location next door to Lincoln Center. It has nice, clean rooms, although with some things that leave to be desired (sink clogged, dresser drawer opens by itself and doesn't close...). Some of the staff were quite helpful (concierge, security) while others not so (desk person, housekeeping). All in all, we'll go back because of the location and overall comfortable room, but not for any warm and fuzzy feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center (that includes the Metropolitan Opera).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MimiP
Business
New York, NY
Jun 25, 2012

Average

I have a few complaints about my one night stay in this hotel, which makes the hotel more deserving of a downgrade from 4 to 3 stars. We waited about 40 minutes to check in and the line of patrons grew even longer behind us. The staff did not seem concerned about the customers waiting, and some of the front desk staff did not offer to assist with check ins despite the fact that there were no customers requesting any other assistance. Then, after we got to the room, my husband took a shower. The stall immediately filled with water that did not drain out. It was disgusting and would have flooded the bathroom if he'd stayed in for more than 3 minutes. I had to forego taking a shower, but the staff did send an engineer up while we were out and the problem was resolved when we returned in the late evening. I love staying in hotels in general, but I felt that this was an average experience at best, and would only recommend staying here if you get a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PyroDenny
Business
Northern virginia
Jul 9, 2012

Not bad but not great

We had a fairly decent stay at the empire. We only stayed for one day but it took more than 2 hours for our room to be ready. We decided to pass the time at the pool on the roof. It's not so much a pool as it is patio with a kiddy splash area. The pool is maybe 12 feet long 5 feet wide and 6 children complete occupy the space. The view was nice but the small size of the patio and the way they have it arranged you can appreciate it. For what you pay it is not as nice as what you might fight a few blocks further away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The open air night bus from time square doesn't completely fill up as they try to keep schedule. So you get a much more personel tour of the city all lit up and less tourist intervention.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
country art mom
Business
NC
Jul 30, 2012

Interesting experience

Tiny room. Tiny bathroom. If had been a large person, would not have been able to move around either. Overkill to have such a small refrig stocked with the surplus of alcohol. Too high price tray of "amenities" available to purchase. Cigarette butts on window ledge. Next building right up against our window at "V" angle. Difficult to regulate room temperature. Heard elevator sounds during night. Too much lighted electrical equipment in room at night. No coffee in hotel for AM. No shower door to close. Bed comfortable. Called twice to get ice to room needed for sprained ankle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved local breakfast diner and European breakfast locale...both within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top