$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
Business
nyc
Sep 23, 2013

average

not worth the price. far below what i expected. not enough attention to my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickfigure
Single
los angeles
Jun 1, 2014

not too great

horrible elevators, kind of skanky looking.... staff/people were great though, but i definitely will not be back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuf
Couples
Maryland
Apr 11, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We have been to this hotel many time and had a great experience.This was the first time that we booked with [...]the room was of greatly inferior quality compare to rooms of the same price booked directly through the hotel. Very dark, very noisy we had to keep the windows open and someone from floors above through a still lighted sigarette that from the open window fell on our carpet during the night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Central Jersey, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Not what was expected?

We got to the hotel to find the room clean, there were numerous things to eat and drink in the room....but then you saw the cost. There were no glasses in the room to have a drink, so we called down for some, but they didn't come within a half hour so we went out to do some sight seeing and get dinner. We got back to the room to find the glasses there and the room made up, we came prepared this time with drinks, but wait no ice. A phone call and a half hour later the ice was brought up to the room. The electric heat was constantly clicking on and off throughout the night in the other room but not working at all in the bedroom, and was enough to wake us up every time it did turn on or do whatever it was doing. Then we went to take a shower in the morning to find that half of the glass shower door was missing. All in all not a good stay... Now the parking, not electing to get valet, the total for parking was [$], for less than 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to times square, very short walk to central park.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy M
Family
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Very Disappointing

We booked the Empire Hotel along with a few other couples based off of one of the other couple's past experience. They felt that the quality of service and facilities have declined and our experience seemed to verify that. Maybe they are relying off something besides service, amenities and value. During our stay, there were times where only one of four elevators were working for an 11 story hotel. The one elevator working had a temporary sign asking for 7 persons or less so most people were stranded until there was a later elevator so the elevator would not get stuck as it was reported to have happened several times to different folks. The bell service was bad and our bags were never taken out of or placed into the cab on arrival or departure and no one ever asked if they could take or remove bags to our room. Half way through our stay, we had our young children meet us in NYC so had requested far in advance that we have adjoining or adjacent rooms and I reminded them when we checked in to plan on that in a few days so we would not have to move again. Of course, this was not planned for and we had to check out at 11 am to check in to another room and floor even though many people were also checking out on that Sunday on our same floor. When we re-checked in at 4 pm, our requested adjoining or adjacent rooms were 10 rooms apart on different wings. This was totally screwed up and we had to split up the parents to stay with the individual children. We went in early August and the rooms never cooled properly on the coldest AC level. The second room we checked into did not have a clock and after a few calls to get one, they said one was not available. One of the couples we went with called four times for a toothbrush, and was finally told on the fourth time after waiting that they didn't have any. Fitness room was very limited with one set of dumbbells. The pool was very small, dirty and cold so we never attempted to get in it. The rooms and bathrooms were small. Maid service was decent and our room was clean. We did get a discount on the portion of the trip made through their hotel site after a group of us complained about having to walk down so many floors which added to value. Unfortunately, we pre-paid on Orbitz for a portion of the trip and they said they could not give discount on that portion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farah Al
Couples
New York
Jun 16, 2014

OKAY

Disappointed by the room size and amenities. Definitely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and the shower door was missing in the bathroom, which I thought was really weird. Would not stay there again. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabrina123
Couples
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 10, 2014

And the nightmare began......

First impression: Adams family meets Lion King decor and cocktail lighting makes it impossible to see anything let alone put on makeup., First room was marginally larger than the bed - no room for 2 people to pass each other without one jumping on the bed. Upgraded to larger room with 2 queens, but same problem in negotiating the room. Only 2 small drawers . No where to hang dresses without them hitting the divider in the closet. Bathroom was a total joke. We were going to a very formal wedding but the boiler broke and we had rusty, dirty cold water to bathe in. No hope of repair before we left. Management tried to help, but they are swimming upstream here.. You had to close the door to use the sink behind it. The toilet leaked onto the floor and flooded the room. No one was sent to fix it until the 3rd call. Hotel is in serious need of re-habbing and bring your own lightbulbs if you want to see your face. mezzanine restroom was awful - no toilet paper or towels anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerMomma
Family
Colorado
Jun 24, 2014

Good location-nothing fancy

Recent 3 night wknd stay at the Empire Hotel was average. We failed to request an interior room so the traffic kept us up at night-windows did not filter anything. Beware: there is a night club upstairs so at closing time- lots of loud people descend the streets below. The pros- room was updated, includes a safe, shower head had great pressure, flat screen tv was nice, comfy beds. The cons: very compact, peeling wallpaper and bathroom door, not much room in bathroom for toiletries, no shower door?, and no complimentary coffee ($3 per Keurig, seriously?) & that darn street noise. We were hardly in the room but expected a cup of coffee and wifi at the very least. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli, Starbucks and coffee cart just around the street, on Broadway south of hotel.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim5251
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Would Not Stay Again

Almost got the feeling that this hotel is getting ready to go out of business. They seemed to not have enough towels for the rooms so sometimes we would get enough towels, sometimes not, I eventually got enough towels a few hours after complaining one day, after that I just gave up. Only two of 4 elevators were working our entire stay, and even the 2 that were working did not work that well, good thing we only had to walk up 5 floors. Really feel for the people that were on the 11th floor. Keys constantly stopped working, I kept having to go down to the front desk to get new keys done, even keys that were not even put near anything stopped working. For the price, this hotel is a MAJOR disappointment. There are much better hotels in New York for what they are charging. I would stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scott m.
Business
boulder
Feb 10, 2015

midweek winter stay

great location, but this hotel is shabby—a sort of 90s Kimpton hotel in design, but way past its expiry date. good value though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top