$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
257 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
no Yotel
Business
nyc
Sep 23, 2013

average

not worth the price. far below what i expected. not enough attention to my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stickfigure
Business
los angeles
Jun 1, 2014

not too great

horrible elevators, kind of skanky looking.... staff/people were great though, but i definitely will not be back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuf
Business
Maryland
Apr 11, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We have been to this hotel many time and had a great experience.This was the first time that we booked with [...]the room was of greatly inferior quality compare to rooms of the same price booked directly through the hotel. Very dark, very noisy we had to keep the windows open and someone from floors above through a still lighted sigarette that from the open window fell on our carpet during the night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Jersey, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Not what was expected?

We got to the hotel to find the room clean, there were numerous things to eat and drink in the room....but then you saw the cost. There were no glasses in the room to have a drink, so we called down for some, but they didn't come within a half hour so we went out to do some sight seeing and get dinner. We got back to the room to find the glasses there and the room made up, we came prepared this time with drinks, but wait no ice. A phone call and a half hour later the ice was brought up to the room. The electric heat was constantly clicking on and off throughout the night in the other room but not working at all in the bedroom, and was enough to wake us up every time it did turn on or do whatever it was doing. Then we went to take a shower in the morning to find that half of the glass shower door was missing. All in all not a good stay... Now the parking, not electing to get valet, the total for parking was [$], for less than 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to times square, very short walk to central park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daddy M
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Very Disappointing

We booked the Empire Hotel along with a few other couples based off of one of the other couple's past experience. They felt that the quality of service and facilities have declined and our experience seemed to verify that. Maybe they are relying off something besides service, amenities and value. During our stay, there were times where only one of four elevators were working for an 11 story hotel. The one elevator working had a temporary sign asking for 7 persons or less so most people were stranded until there was a later elevator so the elevator would not get stuck as it was reported to have happened several times to different folks. The bell service was bad and our bags were never taken out of or placed into the cab on arrival or departure and no one ever asked if they could take or remove bags to our room. Half way through our stay, we had our young children meet us in NYC so had requested far in advance that we have adjoining or adjacent rooms and I reminded them when we checked in to plan on that in a few days so we would not have to move again. Of course, this was not planned for and we had to check out at 11 am to check in to another room and floor even though many people were also checking out on that Sunday on our same floor. When we re-checked in at 4 pm, our requested adjoining or adjacent rooms were 10 rooms apart on different wings. This was totally screwed up and we had to split up the parents to stay with the individual children. We went in early August and the rooms never cooled properly on the coldest AC level. The second room we checked into did not have a clock and after a few calls to get one, they said one was not available. One of the couples we went with called four times for a toothbrush, and was finally told on the fourth time after waiting that they didn't have any. Fitness room was very limited with one set of dumbbells. The pool was very small, dirty and cold so we never attempted to get in it. The rooms and bathrooms were small. Maid service was decent and our room was clean. We did get a discount on the portion of the trip made through their hotel site after a group of us complained about having to walk down so many floors which added to value. Unfortunately, we pre-paid on Orbitz for a portion of the trip and they said they could not give discount on that portion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farah Al
Business
New York
Jun 16, 2014

OKAY

Disappointed by the room size and amenities. Definitely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and the shower door was missing in the bathroom, which I thought was really weird. Would not stay there again. Location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sabrina123
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Jun 10, 2014

And the nightmare began......

First impression: Adams family meets Lion King decor and cocktail lighting makes it impossible to see anything let alone put on makeup., First room was marginally larger than the bed - no room for 2 people to pass each other without one jumping on the bed. Upgraded to larger room with 2 queens, but same problem in negotiating the room. Only 2 small drawers . No where to hang dresses without them hitting the divider in the closet. Bathroom was a total joke. We were going to a very formal wedding but the boiler broke and we had rusty, dirty cold water to bathe in. No hope of repair before we left. Management tried to help, but they are swimming upstream here.. You had to close the door to use the sink behind it. The toilet leaked onto the floor and flooded the room. No one was sent to fix it until the 3rd call. Hotel is in serious need of re-habbing and bring your own lightbulbs if you want to see your face. mezzanine restroom was awful - no toilet paper or towels anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerMomma
Business
Colorado
Jun 24, 2014

Good location-nothing fancy

Recent 3 night wknd stay at the Empire Hotel was average. We failed to request an interior room so the traffic kept us up at night-windows did not filter anything. Beware: there is a night club upstairs so at closing time- lots of loud people descend the streets below. The pros- room was updated, includes a safe, shower head had great pressure, flat screen tv was nice, comfy beds. The cons: very compact, peeling wallpaper and bathroom door, not much room in bathroom for toiletries, no shower door?, and no complimentary coffee ($3 per Keurig, seriously?) & that darn street noise. We were hardly in the room but expected a cup of coffee and wifi at the very least. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli, Starbucks and coffee cart just around the street, on Broadway south of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim5251
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 6, 2014

Would Not Stay Again

Almost got the feeling that this hotel is getting ready to go out of business. They seemed to not have enough towels for the rooms so sometimes we would get enough towels, sometimes not, I eventually got enough towels a few hours after complaining one day, after that I just gave up. Only two of 4 elevators were working our entire stay, and even the 2 that were working did not work that well, good thing we only had to walk up 5 floors. Really feel for the people that were on the 11th floor. Keys constantly stopped working, I kept having to go down to the front desk to get new keys done, even keys that were not even put near anything stopped working. For the price, this hotel is a MAJOR disappointment. There are much better hotels in New York for what they are charging. I would stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adrian from Canada
Business
Montreal
Jan 7, 2014

little rooms

Little rooms, almost no space, the elevators did not work for a day and the emergency stairs broght all the people to the kitchen, where the door was close. Good location and housekeeping service, front door stuff was just ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top