$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hip dad
Business
chicago, il.
Nov 12, 2010

unbeatable location

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, UK
Nov 4, 2009

Great location and good service

I booked with Orbitz a standard double double but phoned the hotel later to upgrade to a superior room. On the arrival day we were coming late from Washington so I phoned Empire to confirm that we'd get the superior room. Unfortunately when we arrived late at 11 pm they run out of superior rooms that evening even though they confirmed it earlier that day! I complained and my complain was handled very professionally. We got an upgrade to a higher grade room for the whole stay at no additional costs and a complementary breakfast! I would also like to praise Orbitz because of their transparent and fair pricing; they said that all taxes were included and they were, we didn't have to pay anything extra! When I booked with other online travel agents in the past(I WASN'T ALLOWED TO MENTION THEIR NAME)I always ended up paying 20% more when checking out even though they also claimed that taxes were included.... Thanks Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The whole food supermarket in the Times Warner building is a real experience; good for breakfast, lunch or just to get a quick snack or drink....

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 26, 2009

Nice hotel in a great location

I was in town to audition for Who Wants to be a Millionaire. The room was quite small but very functional. Fitness center was small but everything worked, a real unusual thing. Desk clerk gave a good recommendation for a sports bar to watch the games. Breakfast buffet very overpriced for the quality. Coffee was good but the food choices were sparse. Marriott Courtyard has a much better one. I didn't make the show. So it goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center across the street. Don't go on Monday since all of the theaters are closed.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 12, 2011

Good NY hotel

The hotel itself looks great. The room was a bit of a shock when we walked in because its so small but I guess thats New York isn't it? The decor is nice but there's a fine line between being modern and having functionality. The shower has only 1 glass panel to it so although it looks cool you're spraying water out on the floor each time you're using it. There's no ironing board so you have to rely on guest services (+tip) if you need something pressed. There's also no ice machine around so again, you have to rely on guest services (+tip). The rooftop bar is a cool place but the pool is a very small rectangle. Don't get your hopes up about swimming but if you like to look around the city from above and have a few cocktails its great. The location is not bad at all. Central Park is only 2-3 blocks away, you can walk to midtown, and we took a quick cab to lower manhattan which was relatively cheap. There's a subway station 3-4 blocks away near Columbus Circle which can take you anywhere. All in all I would recommend this hotel but would probably try another one the next time I visit to compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride from the Empire to Ground Zero was about $15. Not too bad.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ritin77
Business
NJ
Jun 11, 2014

Great Minus the Broken Elevator

The rooms were small but average for NYC. The AC didnt really keep the room that cool it was hard for it to keep up. The rooftop pool deck was good minus the fact I think non-hotel people were up there and we were lucky to get a chair. The drink service took forever so we just kept walking down to the 10th floor and got over selves drinks. The worst part by far was that not all the elevators were working so my mother and her friend who has hip problems had to walk down and up 10 flights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonder Woman five 0
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 20, 2014

Location, location, location

Fabulous location and clean, nice rooms are slightly counter-balanced by consistent elevator nightmares & lack of clean restroom facilities in the common areas. Would definitely stay here again because the positives outweigh the negatives but was surprised by some glaring problems that did not seem to be a priority for remedying at the price of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a wonderful gem of a restaurant check out indie food and wine tucked away inside the film center at the Lincoln Center. The students at the School of American Ballet have discovered its virtues & shared this tip. Great atmosphere, no wait even on a Friday night, where the wait time at all other locations hovered at an hour & very tasty food.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaurennA
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2014

Good Hotel for the Price

Room was a decent size and clean. Comfy bed and nice shower. The only disappointment was the rooftop pool, which is incredibly tiny. But if the pool isn't the main draw for you, it's a good value and good location. Beautiful views from the rooftop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
112255
Business
Tennessee
Jul 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised.

Have walked past this hotel often on other trips to NYC. I knew that at one time the building housed college students. Things have changed. This "new" Empire Hotel is very nicely redone. Decor is very nice, staff is most helpful. and the roof top pool and lounging area is extra special. Of course, you cannot beat it bring directly across the street from Lincoln Center with subway stops just a block away. I enjoyed the stay very much and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crashdog
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 4, 2014

August 2014

The rooftop bar and pool area turns into a night club in the evening. The pool is tiny and heavily chlorinated but it is something to jump in. You'll want to check with the hotel before booking and ensure the elevators are functioning properly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is next door

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz B Mommy to 1
Business
Nyc, NY
Aug 3, 2014

Staycation

We stayed here with our 7 month old for the weekend while out apt got worked on. It's a nice hotel. Good location for out of towers. Close to Lincoln center, Central Park and museums. They provided a crib with bumpers for our daughter. The walls are thin but nothing horrible. We just had some loud neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Room service is incredibly expensive. Download 'seamless' on your phone and order delivery from many local places and they will deliver to the front desk.

Back to menu Return to top