$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
257 reviews
Reliable with great roof deck

It was really nice to get away for couple of day and stay at empire hotel. Great roof deck. You can... See full review

  • Raffy1117
  • Sep 3, 2014
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 24, 2009

Tiny rooms, Too Expensive

I was shocked to see a 20% service charge for drinks for 4 people. 10-15% is standard. Wine glasses were not changed in the rooms. Had to call several times(we were there 5 days) for new wash clothes and bath mat. Tiny rooms, no storage space, bathroom tiny as well. Much prefered the Chambers Hotel, but this was more convenient to where our son lived. We would not recommend at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

10 Downing in the West End was exceptional! Excellent food, service, and reasonalby priced wine as well as the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Nov 5, 2009

Don't bother

We were there for medical reasons and they first put us in a large room but it was filled with smoke and uninhabitable. We asked to be changed and they gave us a really really small room, the bath was so tiny and for the cost of two nights it was definitely not worth it and we would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Aug 25, 2008

Will never stay here again

One of the worst hotels I have ever had to endure. While the hotel lobby bar is very nice, don't let that fool you! You can come here for a drink, but don't need to stay. The room was smaller than a bread box, even small for a NYC room! Aside from the size, the staff were not well trained: When housekeeping brought 2 foam pillows up she handed me the pillows and then the cases and said Here, you do it!. Housekeeping never took any dirty glasses away, in fact I called room service to pick get them repeatedly. It was colder outside our room (we stayed in NYC in August!)than inside, the air conditioner sure did make a lot of noise but did not work. It was so noisy we actually couldn't hear any street noise and we were on the 2nd floor! The carpet was frayed and dirty. Our Do Not Disturb sign was taken off of our door every morning so that we had the pleasure of housekeeping barging into our room for 3 days from 7am to 9 am every few hours! In the bathroom, when we checked into the room there were hairs (not ours) on the toilet seat, in the shower and in the sink. The reasons we didn't leave are because our friends live around the corner, other friends were waiting for us at the hotel before we even checked in, we had plans early that night, and we didn't have the time to hassle for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LERMMR
Business
Palm Springts
Jul 6, 2014

Big Disappointment

Nice Lobby, Nice room but elevators broken entire trip, thank goodness we were only on the second floor, had to use stairs, and shower did not work, waited 45 minutes and no one came so we just checked out, not a 4 Star hotel, they are just not keeping up with maintenance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith is a nice NY type restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
meral
Business
new york
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent location

This was an excellent location. Very close to Time Square and the metro. Close to 5th - 9th avenue. Most of the staff on the front desk especially the women were great. bell boy Aziz was great. For a room of 3 they need to provide quilts and towels etc. Far too many bits in the room to buy. The reception/lobby area needed to be warmer. It was not very inviting. Also new years eve staff had their own party in the bar area so there were no facilities for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ground zero need to book on line as do you for the satue of liberty

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AloiseM
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Not a good experience

The toilet was clogged. No light on the night table. They lost my pajamas. Very aggravating experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucidlinda
Business
Rome, Italy
Jul 10, 2012

Brief but good

We had only one night at the Empire Hotel but we were pleased with the cleanliness and decor when we walked in after a long journey. The room was small but well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and quiet both of which were exactly what we wanted. Too bad be had to scoot out early as the thought of using the pool was very appealing on that hot July day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lindsay durkin
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible experience

The hotel was over priced and definitely not a 4 star hotel! The shower didn't have a door so water went everywhere. I ran out of water about two minutes into my shower. The room was small even for NYC standards. It was dirty. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom floor. Overall not a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter the Theatre Nomad
Business
Sarasota
Jan 21, 2013

Where's maintenance?

I changed rooms 3 times because there was at least two things broken in each one. In the first there was no place to plug in a computer and the desk lamp didn't work. The second had a broken tv and a missing window shade. And Cable service was down (for which they gave me free breakfast buffet ticket). In the last another lamp was broken and the bathroom sink stopper was broken. The doorman saw I was struggling wind and my bags but did nothing to help. I used to love this hotel, but will no longer stay there or recommend it to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LINCOLN, the new restaurant at Lincoln Center, is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top