$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 24, 2009

Tiny rooms, Too Expensive

I was shocked to see a 20% service charge for drinks for 4 people. 10-15% is standard. Wine glasses were not changed in the rooms. Had to call several times(we were there 5 days) for new wash clothes and bath mat. Tiny rooms, no storage space, bathroom tiny as well. Much prefered the Chambers Hotel, but this was more convenient to where our son lived. We would not recommend at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

10 Downing in the West End was exceptional! Excellent food, service, and reasonalby priced wine as well as the food.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Nov 5, 2009

Don't bother

We were there for medical reasons and they first put us in a large room but it was filled with smoke and uninhabitable. We asked to be changed and they gave us a really really small room, the bath was so tiny and for the cost of two nights it was definitely not worth it and we would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Aug 25, 2008

Will never stay here again

One of the worst hotels I have ever had to endure. While the hotel lobby bar is very nice, don't let that fool you! You can come here for a drink, but don't need to stay. The room was smaller than a bread box, even small for a NYC room! Aside from the size, the staff were not well trained: When housekeeping brought 2 foam pillows up she handed me the pillows and then the cases and said Here, you do it!. Housekeeping never took any dirty glasses away, in fact I called room service to pick get them repeatedly. It was colder outside our room (we stayed in NYC in August!)than inside, the air conditioner sure did make a lot of noise but did not work. It was so noisy we actually couldn't hear any street noise and we were on the 2nd floor! The carpet was frayed and dirty. Our Do Not Disturb sign was taken off of our door every morning so that we had the pleasure of housekeeping barging into our room for 3 days from 7am to 9 am every few hours! In the bathroom, when we checked into the room there were hairs (not ours) on the toilet seat, in the shower and in the sink. The reasons we didn't leave are because our friends live around the corner, other friends were waiting for us at the hotel before we even checked in, we had plans early that night, and we didn't have the time to hassle for a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadlephia PA
Apr 11, 2010

Irresponsible and Disastrous

The hotel overbooked (they said they had some damage to a floor which caused them to cancel rooms but as we travelled by the hotel, all floors looked booked.) We were informed that a wedding and two conventions had to take priority over our visit and we were unceremoniously relocated to another hotel all the way across town. My parents arrived first and were simply told it was not their problem and that we should contact [...] We needed to be close to Lincoln Center which is the only reason we booked this hotel in the first place. Until we called the hotel to discuss what they could do they were prepared to simply tell my parents to go to another hotel nearly 20 minutes away. The best they did was put us up in a queen room at the Hudson...Smallest room ever. Although the front desk manager was helpful, while we waited for a new hotel room which took nearly 4 hours, many people arrived at the hotel and checked into their room. As they told me, they simply took priority over booking with [...]. I will never recommend, stay or every even suggest any hotel associated with the Empire, the chain[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LERMMR
Business
Palm Springts
Jul 6, 2014

Big Disappointment

Nice Lobby, Nice room but elevators broken entire trip, thank goodness we were only on the second floor, had to use stairs, and shower did not work, waited 45 minutes and no one came so we just checked out, not a 4 Star hotel, they are just not keeping up with maintenance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith is a nice NY type restaurant

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
meral
Business
new york
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent location

This was an excellent location. Very close to Time Square and the metro. Close to 5th - 9th avenue. Most of the staff on the front desk especially the women were great. bell boy Aziz was great. For a room of 3 they need to provide quilts and towels etc. Far too many bits in the room to buy. The reception/lobby area needed to be warmer. It was not very inviting. Also new years eve staff had their own party in the bar area so there were no facilities for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ground zero need to book on line as do you for the satue of liberty

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AloiseM
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Not a good experience

The toilet was clogged. No light on the night table. They lost my pajamas. Very aggravating experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucidlinda
Business
Rome, Italy
Jul 10, 2012

Brief but good

We had only one night at the Empire Hotel but we were pleased with the cleanliness and decor when we walked in after a long journey. The room was small but well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and quiet both of which were exactly what we wanted. Too bad be had to scoot out early as the thought of using the pool was very appealing on that hot July day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lindsay durkin
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible experience

The hotel was over priced and definitely not a 4 star hotel! The shower didn't have a door so water went everywhere. I ran out of water about two minutes into my shower. The room was small even for NYC standards. It was dirty. There were hairs on the floor in the bathroom floor. Overall not a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter the Theatre Nomad
Business
Sarasota
Jan 21, 2013

Where's maintenance?

I changed rooms 3 times because there was at least two things broken in each one. In the first there was no place to plug in a computer and the desk lamp didn't work. The second had a broken tv and a missing window shade. And Cable service was down (for which they gave me free breakfast buffet ticket). In the last another lamp was broken and the bathroom sink stopper was broken. The doorman saw I was struggling wind and my bags but did nothing to help. I used to love this hotel, but will no longer stay there or recommend it to my friends and business associates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LINCOLN, the new restaurant at Lincoln Center, is wonderful!

Back to menu Return to top