$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
209 reviews
Good hotel ear central park and everything

good room, nice room city view, nice lobby and public zones. See full review

  • New York fan2
  • Apr 1, 2014
NYC recital

Great Recital at Lincoln center do location was key See full review

  • Recital in nyc
  • Mar 29, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
mopho
Business
Quincy, IL, USA
Jan 18, 2012

business

I stayed one day, did not use the amenities really except a good (and costly) room service meal. I was in a ?superior? room (an upgrade) and I found it comfortable and quite large (by NY standards). Not blown away by the hotel but comfortable enough that I would return. Very close to major subways & amenities which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

multiple starbucks attached to and adjacent to the hotel if you don't feel like paying for the internet.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Southern Accent
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Mar 26, 2011

Great location for Lincoln Center

We picked this hotel for its proximity to the metropolitan opera at Lincoln Center. We could walk over and back which eliminated trying to find a taxi late at night. The room was a bit small but the staff was very attentive and helpful. We enjoyed the coffee house on the corner and the two restaurants next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Bk Gyrl
New York, New York
Jan 21, 2014

Spur of the Moment Romantic Getaway

The decor in the lobby is very relaxing...However, the decor in the room was a whole other story...It did not really make sense to me...I also had an issue with the shower stall not having a door and only a half glass partition...The floor was always getting wet...Housekeeping took a long time to get upstairs to us with simple things and there was NO ice machine in the hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money on breakfast and go to Starbucks or Duane Reade around the corner. Duane Reade is open 24hrs!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
awan
louisville , ky
Aug 12, 2010

very nice location

it was my first time stay in this motel but i did like it, because it was very nice area specially close to central park, Lincoln center, and food was very delicious any restaurant you go there only thing was missing in this motel was kitchen if they even had microwave or would make perfect place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the View was beautiful

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
FL
Mar 25, 2011

No exta Cot

We traveled on a package which included flights and hotel stay. Our group was 5 women and were assured that we would have two rooms with 2 large double beds per room and a cot for the fifth person. There was no cot, no possiblilty of securing a cot, as there was no space in the room for a cot even they been an option. The Empire staff made it clear that it does not provide cots. We were traveling to NYC to attend the opening of the opera at Lincoln Center. Location was perfect for that event. Hotel is a perfect location for Lincoln Center and within walking distance wonderful restaurants. Room was very hot an seemed impossible to cool down. Staff was lovely, but [...]needs to be aware that they should not tell clients that accommocations could be made for a third or fifth person. No cots, no couches, nothing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jan 5, 2010

weekend in NYC

Needed to change rooms due to very noisy HVAC system outside our window after one night. Variable delivery of towels and toiletries. Bell staff and doormen very friendly and competent. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was overpriced $15 cold buffet 23 hot buffet. The David Rubinstein Atrium of Lincoln Center next door served great oatmeal for $3.95.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 6, 2011

A fabulous location

We were in NY to see four operas for the weekend. We had our daughter come to the hotel with her husband and two small children--a newborn and a 3 year old. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful, pleasant,and kind, especially with my daughter's family. The location of the hotel is great. There are restaurants across the street, a drugstore nearby, and many shops at Columbus Circle--just 3 blocks away. A couple of times, we bought food at the Whole Foods store at the Columbus Circle Mall. The hotel location is so close to the subway, too, so you can be anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes--Times Square, Macy's, Penn Station, museums, etc. You are also very close to Central Park--just a few blocks away. My husband loved getting up and going jogging in the mornings. Of course we loved the location because it was so close to Lincoln Center--across the street. The rooms and linens were great except for the shower. The last morning we stayed there, the water was luke warm, and the shower head is unusual--we kept spraying our towels and the bathroom floor until we figured out how to adjust it. Overall, this is a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Center is across the street. It doesn't get any better than that!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
College broke Mom
Boston, MA
Jun 18, 2013

A quick overnight in New York

We wanted an inexpensive hotel near our daughter on the Upper West Side. We liked the idea of the rooftop patio & pool. The hotel was hopping when we arrived at 6 pm but our room was pleasantly quiet. The pool was smaller than it looked in the picture (as in postage stamp), but this is New York. It was a warm summer evening and we enjoyed drinks on the rooftop.. I had one of their special cocktails with gin, lime, cucumber and mint that was fabulous and refreshing. A relaxed breeze kept us comfortable. The room was also quite small, but since we were only there for one night we could manage. On our last trip we stayed in a 5 star hotel where they upgraded our room to a suite. We were there for six days then and we needed the space. Other than the spacial dimensions, we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff was friendly, gracious, and top-notch in every way. We feel this was a great value and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Atlanta resident
Atlanta, Georgia
Mar 31, 2010

Great location!

Great location right near Lincoln Center and close to Columbus circle and the Time Warner Center. The staff was very nice and everyone had a smile on their face. They were eager to help and most accomodating. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms reflect this. They were very attractive but small. We enjoyed our stay - we were on the 10th floor and must say it was very quiet and we were not bothered by sounds of the NY traffic. We would definitely stay at the Empire Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Attony
Halwey, PA
Jun 24, 2013

Location & value, plus sundeck/pool in Summer.

We had a very nice stay at the Empire Hotel on a Saturday night (6/22/13). It was a busy place but our room was quiet & quite comfortable. It was clean, but there was an odor of tobacco smoke when we first entered, even though it was a non-smoking room as ordered. The sundeck on the roof was great and the pool, although small was quite refreshing after my jog in central Park which is only 2 blocks away. Perfect location for Park and for Lincoln Center which is right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sapphire Indian Restaurant is just down Broadway about two blocks. Very good Indian food, a little pricey but the decor, service and great food make it worth it.

Back to menu Return to top