$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
262 reviews
Perfect location and wonderful place to stay

Lovely entrance lobby lots of comfortable seats for picking up wifi and at night made a comfortable... See full review

  • Fifimagoo
  • Aug 13, 2014
loved it

This boutique hotel is centrally located to so many NYC sites (Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle &... See full review

  • Susanpet
  • Aug 10, 2014
Sophisticated Upper West Side hotel near Central Park, Lincoln Center
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
Highlights
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Recreation

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (35 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2 lines at 66th St - Lincoln Center
Attractions
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7715 -73.9826
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
Kennedy Airport. La Guardia Airport. Newark Airport.
Area description
The Empire Hotel occupies its own private corner nestled between two New York City Legendary landmarks Lincoln Center and Central Park located on West 63rd Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chop
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Jul 3, 2013

Canada Day in the Big Apple

From the great location to the romantic rooftop bar, the Empire Hotel satisfied us in every way. The room was small but hey, that's insignificant because it was only for sleeping anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to walk walk walk all over the place. You'll never get bored. There is a lot to look at in New York. Every place is walking distance if you have the time.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Auspar4
Flower Mound, TX
Jan 25, 2014

Great location, bad experience

Hotel needs a major revamp! Overcharged us on our incidentals and refused to refund until we escalated to the manager. Rooms were poorly cleaned and without hot water most of the time during our short 2 night stay. When we asked when we could get hot water, the just advised when the broiler is fixed. Too many other hotels in NYC, avoid this one if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smith has awesome brunch!

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Providence
New Haven, Connecticut
Feb 18, 2013

1 day NYC getaway

It was our worst hotel experience we've ever had (and we've been to many). First, the toilet sit was full of body hair, which disgust me! Then when I went into the shower, I found out, that the sliding door didn't even exist (it obviously broke and they totally took it down) and I had to take a shower in an open shower stand, which resulted in a major flood in the bathroom. It was horrible, but the best was yet to come - We couldn't sleep the whole entire night, because of the radiator, which was making unbearable cracking sound every 15 minutes! I can't believe they actually let people stay in that room and charge them hundreds of $$$. The next morning when we were asked at the front desk how our stay was, I explained to her everything and all we got in return was: "oh, yes there is one room that needs to be renovated, I'm sorry". I couldn't believe my ears. Since the hotel has a perfect location, we thought we would go back, since the location is perfect, but after our experience - NEVER AGAIN! P.S. Can't believe that ridiculous place is called: "luxurious 4 star hotel", what a joke!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beeburk
michigan
Jun 5, 2013

Not Again

Dark, old, creepy. This hotel is just feels bad. The halls are long, dark and small. The entire feel is like a nightclub. It just had a feel that did not feel fresh and alive. I will not be staying again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend wedding crasher
Boston MA
May 27, 2014

Terrible

Cold shower (hotel boiler was broken). Room smelled like a skunk. Poor lighting. No complimentary food or coffee -- $7.50 for a bottle of water. No view (window looked out onto tiny interior courtyard, consisting of a couple of air conditioners sitting on concrete). Highlight: relatively generous check-out time (noon).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChicagoFlyer
Business
Chicago
Apr 17, 2011

Disappointing for Business Traveler

Faux hipster scene prioritized over customer service and professionalism. Given shoebox sized room - even by NYC standards - that overlooked AC units. At first, staff was not responsive to requests to change, but eventually switched me. Little things like cigarette butts in hallways and no wake up calls added to frustration. On positive side, decent bed and good location. Won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Crescent
Jun 10, 2008

A hotel to avoid

We had major problems with the A/C and the electrical in general. It still supports the needs of a hotels and its patrons from 50 to 60 years ago. The circuit breaker would trip but no one knew about it until we returned to our room with temps in the 80's. This happened both nights of our stay. The maintenance staff was either slow or did not show -- the second time, the staff fixed the A/c by running an extension cord to the regular socket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mjac
Philadelphia, pa
Oct 11, 2010

Disappointed in 4 star hotel

Hotel was very expensive, and a 4 star SO we were expecting the best ammenities. However, our room was very small, our bathroom door didn't close, there was MOLD in the shower, the paint on the ceiling was peeling, our towels had holes in them. Exremely disappointed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisiana
Dec 13, 2009

Beware of this hotel practiices.

Terrible staff service, paid for king size bed had to be fought for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New England tourist
Boston, MA
Dec 6, 2009

A mixed hotel experience.

The room and the bathroom were really small even by New York standards. There were no instructions in the room as to how to use the shower (which was complicated) or the telephone or how to call the front desk. We had an adjoining room and the people next door partied all night and their cigarette smoke came into our room. We had a non-smoking room. The restaurant on the second floor was OK for a snack but the breakfast service was a disaster. We will definitely not stay here again even though it is right across from Lincoln Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was across the intersection from Lincoln Center.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake CIty
May 28, 2011

Horrible

Horrible hotel. There was mold all around the bathroom. The shower did not drain. The sink drain did not work. The mold in the bathroom was really quite a turn off. I will never go there again. Way over priced and under quiality. There were no sheets on the bed. Totally a disgusting experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search