$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 9, 2008

Looking Forward to a Repeat

I was delighted with the Empire Hotel first of all because of the location. The purpose of my trip was to attend the opera at Lincoln Center which is beside the Empire Hotel. There are very nice restaurants very close by and we were within walking distance of the Broadway play we saw. Shopping is also close by. The hotel staff was extremely polite and polished. They were good at making me feel at home away from home. The hotel was quick to please. The complimentary Continental breakfast was a delight! Staff checked the room to make sure everything was as it should be. The decor of the rooms and the lobby is very pleasing--contemporary furnishings and earth tone colors. I recommend the Empire Hotel to anyone who wishes to go to a nice part of the city, be treated as a welcomed guest, and have a comfortable room in which to rest, shower, or watch TV. It was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The theatre district is a few blocks from the hotel as well as the historical Ed Sullivan building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

great location

There is no more convenient place to stay for Lincoln center and Central park than this hotel. Our first room was still occupied when we received our keys but the front desk staff immediately corrected the mistake and the rest of our stay was perfect. very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from central park and across the street from Lincoln Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 25, 2010

Perfect location, great service, too.

The Upper West Side is not as populated with great hotels as other areas of the city and this one stands out! It is located within walking distance of the theatre district, great restaurants and shopping. I hosted a meeting here and housed a number of my attendees at the hotel. It was perfect for all of our needs. Housekeeping on the rooms was great - but a little less than perfect for the parlour meeting room we were using. Excellent bars (roof-top and lobby), hip, but not off-putting. Very friendly staff. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A Little Night Music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, Ma
Nov 30, 2009

Pretty good stay

We had booked 2 rooms and asked for adjacent room for me and my son which they told me that the hotel was book solid and unable to accommodate us. I expected that the Empire Hotel to be traditional old hotel but was pleasantly surprised that it is quite modern. The staff are friendly and the apple was delicious. The room was big enough for my husband and me. The hotel was very closed to Central Park which we took advantage of to walk around. The location is a little far from Radio City Music Hall which is our reason for the trip - to see the Rockettes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
May 25, 2009

Empire Rocks

location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L A
Jul 27, 2011

empire hotel

Very nice hotel. Room small but very nice and clean. Good staff. Be sure to check the accuracy of your reservation not made directly with the hotel. Mistake made but fixed. great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to try the gelato at Grom up the street on Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 20, 2008

Gorgeous

The newly renovated Empire Hotel on 63rd Street was absolutely gorgeous. The location was right in the heart of Manhattan, walking distance to the Lincoln Center, Central Park, and the 59th St subway entrance. The lobby was exquisite and the lounge area was decorated in a very dramatic style. While the room was a little crowded (a double-double, two full sized beds) for 4 women who did lots of shopping, it was extremely clean and well appointed. We were on the 1st floor and our window overlooked Broadway. We opened the window and just enjoyed watching the city. The staff was excellent and took good care of us tourists. There were restaurants, drugstores, fruitstands and anything else you needed within two blocks in every direction. We would stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a Starbucks right next door, a drugstore around the corner, a number of restuarants within walking distance, really. A mall two blocks away and the subway was close. You didn't have to go far to find anything you needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara
Sep 2, 2008

good hotel to stay in New York City

I have nothing to complain about the hotel, except our room was on the small side. However,the hotel's location was great. It was centrally located to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is located in the middle of everything. one block from Central Park, 15 minutes walk from Time Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salina
May 25, 2008

Good mid town location. It's right across fron Linclon Center

Was just renovated in 2007. Rooms are small, but clean and functional. It is well situated for most activities being just off Broadway near Central Park and Columbus Circle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of shops both small as well as main line stores near the Empire Hotel with an indoor shopping center at Columbus Circle within a five to ten minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 26, 2010

Fantastic Hotel on Upper West Side

Rooftop pool area had fantastic views of the city, especially beautiful at night w/ the cool breeze. 15 min walk to Hudson River-great parks along the river. 5min walk to columbus circle & central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top