$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diti
Business
London, UK
Jul 9, 2013

Not a great place to stay

The room were not that big and the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. There was a price tag on everything including to make of tea in the room. The porters were very rude and did not help with our luggage. We would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
City Girl in Maine
Business
Scarborough, Maine
Aug 5, 2013

Nice place, a little disappointing

The rooftop pool is more adequately described as a rooftop puddle, and the food at the pool deck left something to be desired. The cocktails were good and the room was adequate for the money - the shower was extra fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The rooftop lounge is a hot spot on saturday nights.

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Passing through 10003
Business
NYC
Aug 31, 2013

Great spot

Location and rooms are great. Tries to be a little more upscale than it is (staff attitude, drink prices..) but overall good spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Field
Business
Glastonbury CT
Sep 22, 2013

In the middle of Manhatten

an impossible shower, no hair drier A tiny room - but well organized A very loud central air conditioner A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recital in nyc
Business
Empire hotel
May 25, 2014

graduation

room was stuffy air not working properly waited firever each time for elevators had an interior room andbit was do dark snd dreary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tennis whoe
Business
NC
Sep 19, 2009

us open weekend

Their restaurant is under renovation and NO coffee pot in each room. Starbucks is next door, but it would have been nice to have a small pot to start the day. The Empire has a roof top bar/club and they play music until 2 or so in the am. If you are on one of the top floors--I hope you are a sound sleeper. The Rooms and hotel lobby had great decor and the location is wonderful. Across the street from the Lincoln ctr and just a few blocks away from Central park. Good subway access and great help from staff to hail taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jul 5, 2011

Disappointed

Room was freezing and there was no Control for the AC. Room was very small and we had to wait over 40 minutes for our room to be ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kajrah
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 15, 2010

Location excellent, some inconveniences.

There could not be a better location if you plan to attend any events at Lincoln Center, which I did. You just walk across the street. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated. Now for the bad news: The bathrooms are too small - there is no countertop - no place to put your curling iron, etc. Also, the area for hanging your clothes (can't really call it a closet) is WAY too small. Just three little knobs to put hangers on. For some reason they feel they have to BLAST the music in the lobby/bar area - it sounds like a dance club, and it's not. My group would have stopped for a nightcap before going upstairs, but it was just too loud. No coffee maker in the room, no coffee anywhere. Starbucks is right next door, though. Maybe they made a deal with them to not provide coffee? If you can put up with these inconveniences, it's a nice place to stay, and a decent price for New York. Again, the location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa OK
Mar 17, 2010

Great location.

We stayed at The Empire Hotel because it was suggested by others. It was very close to the Lincoln Center where we went to an opera and the Met Audition Finals. The room was small which we understand is standard in NY for the price we paid. The decor of the hotel was outstanding and the rooms were clean. I did not like NO CLOSET, only 4 hangars, no counter in the bathroom, not enough light in the bathroom or the room and it was hard to see to put on makeup or other things requiring a mirror. The music in lobby was too loud. It was turned down when we mentioned it, but we were told the manager likes it that way. It was too loud to comfortably have a drink in the lounge. I just don't get that. I don't know if I ever will stay in this hotel again. It's too bad because it is so convenient to the the things we like to do in NY. The personnel who handled the doors and called the cabs for us were very, very competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New New Yorker's Dad
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 12, 2009

Good (not great) Hotel

The room was very clean and well appointed, and the bed was super comfortable. There were none of the usual amenities (no coffee or coffee maker, microwave oven, stationery, ironing board or iron or hair dryer). The bathroom was clean and the fixtures were in good shape and contemporary, but was extremely poorly engineered. No bath tub, and the shower stall had no door. Shower water sprayed all over the room and soaked the floor and most of the towels. The sink was square, flat and very shallow. When the sink spigot is turned on, water splashes all over the front of the user. The toilet had to be jiggled after flushing or would run all night. The location was super, across the street from Lincoln center, and the two restaurants attached to the building were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top