$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Empire Hotel

4 stars
View map of 44 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
287 reviews
perfect

it was an excelent exprienc i will come back to this hotel See full review

  • arie k.
  • Aug 4, 2015
AMAZING!!! LOVED THIS HOTEL & STAFF

Me and my daughter stayed at The Empire last summer and absolutely LOVED it. I will admit I was... See full review

  • Lgpeace
  • Jul 15, 2015
The rich brown, grey and gold decor accented with animal-print pillows sets a tone of sophistication. Touches such as Frette linens and a cool rooftop bar make this hotel ideal for guests who appreciate luxury without stuffiness. A complimentary fitness center, a salon accessible from the hotel and a seasonal rooftop pool deck are just some of the amenities available to guests.
General
  • Lincoln Center (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Time Warner Center (0.3 mi/ 0.48 km)
Location

The Empire Hotel is right by Lincoln Center and Central Park. It's a short walk to the Time Warner Center, which is home to Per Se, by the celebrated Thomas Keller, and sushi restaurant Masa, by chef Masayoshi Takayama.

Dining

On-site Ed's Chowder House is a sleek setting for seafood dishes such as tuna steak frites, chowders and a raw bar. The pool deck serves a limited menu, and guests also can eat at the Rooftop Bar & Lounge. Room service is available. The Rooftop Bar & Lounge boasts views of Lincoln Center and the skyline under the iconic Empire Hotel sign. The bar has a menu featuring signature cocktails, wines by the glass, bottle service and hearty appetizers.

Rooms

The 420 rooms and suites are sophisticated and chic, with neutral decor and contemporary touches. Beds have Frette linens, and other amenities include 32-inch flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations with speakers and free Wi-Fi.

Property features
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.
Highlights

The Empire Hotel boasts several restaurants and lounges, including The Rooftop, Ed's Chowder House and the Lobby Bar. If you're planning a special event, look no further. The hotel offers unique indoor and outdoor venues for cocktail parties and business meetings. There is also a gym with modern machines and free weights, a luxurious spa center and a pet concierge for cats and dogs. Guests can request in-room childcare, daily housekeeping and babysitting services. Whether you’re traveling alone or with your family, The Empire Hotel offers everything you need to feel at home. 

Nearby attractions

The pool deck is open seasonally May through September. Guests can cool off in the plunge pool, or retreat to a private cabana (fees apply) with flat-screen TV and iPod docking station. The pool deck menu features food and drink items. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's complimentary fitness center.

Business
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Meeting space for up to 250 people
  • Free Wi-Fi
Entertainment
  • Rooftop bar and pool deck
  • Complimentary fitness center
  • A block from Central Park, Lincoln Center
Recreation

Rooftop bar and pool deck a block from Central Park, Lincoln Center

Policies
  •  There is a $12.95 charge per 24-hour period for Wi-Fi.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Empire Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$160
4.3 / 5 207 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.0 / 5 250 reviews
★★★
$164
4.1 / 5 310 reviews
★★★
$188
3.9 / 5 277 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 121 reviews
★★★★★
$495
4.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★★
$695
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★
$103
2.9 / 5 136 reviews
★★
$141
2.9 / 5 174 reviews

The Empire Hotel Rooms

Superior Double
Room with two double beds with down duvets and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Superior King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Deluxe King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Standard Queen
Room with one queen bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, alarm clock radio, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper.
Junior Suite King
Room with one king bed with down duvet and Italian Frette Linens includes Teak floor shower with tropical rain showerhead. Leather furnishings and rich earth -tone dcor, 32-inch flat panel LCD TV with pay movies and premium cable channels, MP3 docking station, complimentary wireless Internet access, minibar, desk, bathrobes and complimentary daily newspaper

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.1 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.1 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Broadway: 0.2 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.2 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.5 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.5 mi
  • Roseland: 0.6 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.6 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.7 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.7 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.7 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.7 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.7 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.7 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.7 mi

Dining

Ed's Chowder House Bar & Restaurant
LINCOLN CENTER HAS A NEW CAUSE FOR APPLAUSE WITH THE ARRIVAL OF CHEF ED BROWN! Expanding his talents south from his restaurant eighty one, Chef Ed Brown is creating a new casual but chic se shack concept. Ed's Chowder House will offer traditional East Coast seafood fare at it's best. Highlights include Tuna Steak Frites, Lobster Rolls, Crab Cakes, signature Chowders from Chowder Bar and a wonderful assortment of Oysters and more from the ultimate Raw Bar. Ed's Chowder House is designed to take guests away from the bustling city streets and make them feel as though they walked in right off the shore!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Empire Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 287
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAVID S.
Couples
N/A
Sep 1, 2015

Great shopping location

Good location, clean room but very small. Bathroom very small. Snacks and drinks in room priced extremely high so use the Pharmacy around corner next door for these items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonathan H.
Couples
Burbank
Aug 2, 2015

Great Location, Glamorous Boutique Hotel Experience

Love the location, several excellent restaurants around the hotel, the bar and lobby area is so comfortable and cool, a block from the subway. Rooftop is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juliette
Couples
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

Nice atmosphere and great location!

I really enjoyed my stay at The Empire Hotel near Columbus Circle in New York. I received a very nice greeting from the bell man and I found everyone friendly and courteous. The bar was quaint and cozy and the bar tender mixed a terrific drink and was personable too! The elevators were a bit slow but not a huge deal. The rooms were small but very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but clean and the shower water ran out due to only a half shower door. That was a nuisance. The food was also good and the rooftop bar was great! The location was terrific and overall we were very pleased. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern traveler
Couples
Beaufort
Jun 12, 2015

Updates needed

While the hotel is in a good location, it needs some renovations. The shower floods the bathroom unless you use the handheld. The heat was almost non existent unless you used a space heater which then caused the power to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SandraLBN
Couples
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

Nice location, iffy otherwise

This place is used to having a captive audience, being the only hotel near Lincoln Center- the location is great. my experience was that I needed to be extremely insistent to get the kind of service I have come to expect in other, supposedly lesser hotels. When I travel, I need certain accommodations for severe dust, perfume, and feather/down allergies. I was assured these would be taken care of before our arrival. Not only was the room not ready when we arrived, but we needed to wait about an hour an a half before I had a total meltdown about being prepared for our evening out (after traveling all day). The kind desk clerk, Julia, finally put us into another room so we could shower and dress for our theatre call time, and promised that the room would be prepared properly after we went out for the evening. It was, and they did a fine job, but I had to have a fit to get it. *Everything* in the room had a fee, including the coffee- I've never been in a hotel that did not provide free coffee in the room, but maybe this is something new (?). You could not hang anything longer than a shirt in the wardrobe, and even shirts dragged on the shelf below. The elevators were incredibly slow and rickety. One was out of service for a day. The shower was weird- it had only a half-wide door that did not close. I'm not a rambunctious bather, but each shower I took required several towels to mop up, even with extreme care. I would probably not choose to stay here again, unless I had no choice. The location is great but is insufficient justification for the lesser quality provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robyn T.
Couples
St Peter
Apr 14, 2015

Nice Stay

The hotel location was great. I had a lovely time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midistouch
Couples
LAKE HIAWATHA
Feb 17, 2015

weekender

Small rooms but great location. Had to wait for the room 30-1hr after checkin time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria V.
Couples
Salisbury
Feb 10, 2015

GReat

Great views and service. The hotel has a phenomenal location with access to many subways in NYC and you can get everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SQ
Couples
Ridgewood
Feb 3, 2015

Night in nyc

Great stay!! Staff was friendly and very helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Empire Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose c.
Couples
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

NYC for Met Opera

Location is great next Met Opera / Lincoln Center. Also Columbus Circle nearby. Staff was some what rude and not very informative. Rooms very small and not so clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top